Oh Dear John!

8 03 2010

Hello All😀 Long time no speak, imagine that, I have missed y’all dearly. A couple friends spent the weekend at my house and we had SUCH a blast. Gotta love a best friend!

It was a really tough week emotionally for me. Two families at my school lost a parent (one mother, one father) and a former student (whose mom still works at our school) went into liver failure and needed an emergency liver transplant. I am ecstatic to say that she received a liver and it was a perfect match! She is doing wonderful. She’s a really close friend, and I could not be more happy! Praise Jesus🙂

I wasn’t able to snap lots of pictures! But I was able to snap a few. Including tonight’s grocery store trip where I scored BIG TIME!

100_0525

100_0527

100_0532  100_0534 Grocery store LOOT! Well, we paid for it😉

  • Apples
  • Bananas
  • Blueberries
  • yogurt: both Greek and regular
  • string cheese
  • deli meat
  • cheese
  • bars (z-bars!!)
  • peanut butter
  • craisins
  • instant oatmeal (HAD to get it—hazelnut? Talk about delish.)
  • Cereal
  • bread
  • vitamin water
  • ben and jerry’s frozen yog/ice cream

100_0556

100_0558  100_0559 100_0560 100_0562 100_0564

100_0565  100_0566Review of Carmel Oikos

Really liked it! But it was not as good as the other Oikos flavors. I probably wouldn’t buy this often, partially due to the small size and costly price! 

  • Pros: Really tasty, not overtly carmel-y and has a very nice creaminess, and obviously, really good for you!
  • Cons: Small portions and $4.50 for four! (and they only come in packs of four!)

I had a fabulous workout today!

  • Warm up on exercise bike
  • Leg Work:
    • Hamstring: 4 sets of 10 (75 pounds), 1 set of 10 (80 pounds)
    • Leg Abduction: 4 sets of 10 (150 pounds), 4 sets of 8/10 (155 pounds)
    • Leg Adduction: 8 sets of 10 (155 pounds)
    • Leg Curl: 1 set of 10 (55 pounds), 2 sets of 10 (60 pounds)
    • Calves: 4 sets of 10 (175 pounds)
    • Leg Press: (one leg at a time) 3 sets of 10 (50 pounds)
    • Wall Squat held for 100 seconds
    • Wall Squats with exercise ball: 3 sets of 15
  • Ab Work:
    • 30 second plank, 30 second side plank each side
      • X2 end with another 30 second plank
    • Russian Twists ( is this the correct name?) 6 lb. medicine ball: 1 minute (leg up in air)
    • 1 minute plank on bosu ball
    • 2 sets of 10 low-planks—merging forward, then back=1
    • 20 side plank dips each side
    • 10 leg drops
      • X2
    • 10 Pilates scissors
      • X2
    • 30 bicycles
      • X2
    • 15 reverse crunches
      • X2
    • 1 minute side plank: each side
    • Captain’s Chair: 5 sets of 10
    • Torso Rotation: 1 set of 15, 1 set of 10 (15 pounds)
  • Foam Roller+Stretching!!

Was a great workout indeed!

Verse of the Day: Psalm 27:3,5,13-14
Though an army may encamp against me, My heart shall not fear; Though war may rise against me,In this I will be confident. For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; In the secret place of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me high upon a rock. I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait on the LORD; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the LORD!

It’s a long verse, but a GREAT one!

Birthday Countdown: 19 days🙂

Have a terrific night everyone! I’ll catch on my google reader tomorrow night🙂

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

18 responses

8 03 2010
Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

OMG so glad your friend will be ok, that is majorly scary!

8 03 2010
Jenna

What great goods!!

8 03 2010
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Wow, that’s a lot to deal with in one week. Glad to hear that everything worked out with the friend though. Keep up that strong attitude sweetie!

xxoo
Heather

8 03 2010
ellie

That sounds like a really intense week😦 I’m sorry for your friend’s losses. That is great news about the liver transplant going so well though!

Hazelnut oatmeal?!!!!!!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAH I want!

8 03 2010
Christina

Yay for your friend getting what she needed. I hope she’s doing well!!

8 03 2010
sophia

Missed ya too, Jess.
Ah! Praise the Lord! I’m so glad the liver transplant went well…but my heart goes out to the friend who lost a parent…:-(

9 03 2010
Mari

I am so sorry to hear that you had such a rough week …your friends are in my prayers and I am glad to hear that your other friend got a liver transplant…

I hope this week is kinder to you

9 03 2010
maggie

Such a awesome workout. I’m going to have to write this ab workout down for sure. Love your blog!!

Maggie

9 03 2010
julia

Great goodies! So glad to hear your friend will be better…

x Julia (Taste of Living)

9 03 2010
nattietan

I’m so glad to know your friend managed to get a liver! I guess such things serve to remind me why we need to treasure life and health. Our bodies are more fragile than we realise but at the same time, our spirits can be indomitable!

Nat
xoxo

9 03 2010
Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food)

Glad your friend is doing well!

Didn’t know there was caramel Oikos! Cool!

9 03 2010
glidingcalm

whoa whoa whoa! Yoplait makes Greek yog?! I must find!!!

So glad the liver transplant was a perfect match! What wonderful news.

I am glad to hear you had a good weeekend with good friends too.

happy Tuesday, Jess!

9 03 2010
katie

Your birthday is in 18 days now!!! My sons is on the 22nd!!! He will be 10!!!

Loving the grocery loot!!! Those clif z bars are my sons fave flavor!! I love the blueberry flavor!!!!

What a great workout you had too!!!

So nice to have a great weekend with friends! Glad you did love!!!

9 03 2010
Shannon (The Daily Balance)

what a week! so glad to hear your friend is OK

loooove the caramel oikos! have you seen/tried the chocolate?

9 03 2010
kbwood

oh gah! YES praise Jesus for that! that is crazy!!!
LOVE your loot! let me know how that latte oatmeal is!
AHH LOVE CARAMEL OIKOS🙂

10 03 2010
Sarah

Sounds like quite the rough few days! My thoughts are with your friends. Take care dear!

11 03 2010
Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

thx for the review and the bars look great!

11 03 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

i am so sorry to hear about the loss of parents and about your friends liver problem- that is so sad. stay strong❤ and great grocery buys!

xoxo
shelley

http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

