I made it!

18 01 2010

Hello All! I made it through my crazy Friday! One semester down, one to go! Then I’m a sophomore. 😀

By the way, thanks for congratulating me on making homecoming court! And for anyone who doesn’t know what that is…During the homecoming game (where all the school comes together and goes to a sporting event—our school does a basketball game) there is a short lapse in time where representatives from each class are “showcased” and walk out in front of everyone. But the senior class has three couples—and the student body picks the Homecoming King and Queen. WOW—that was an awful description! Sorry!

I had Drivers Ed again on Saturday. Only three more days to go! I am quite enjoying it. I am so ready to get my permit in 2 months. Behind the wheel in 2 months…WOOHOO!

It was my first time back to the gym today—for a yoga class! The class was beyond PACKED! It was so full that there wasn’t enough props. I’m glad I got there early! The gym was also bustling. It was also being re-arranged. Talk about hectic!

But more about the yoga class…it was amazing. The focus was opening through the torso. Lots of opening through the oblique’s and side-bends. I loved it! The perfect combination of strength+stretch.

Today’s main focus school-wise was note cards. I have 80 due Tuesday, and I got around 40 done. I have 40 to do tomorrow, then I have to work on my outline. Not too much work, which I am very excited about. I have basketball practice tomorrow as well…and I do not want to go. AT ALL. I just want to go to the gym. I’m kind of ready for basketball to be over. I just don’t love it anymore! I hate the suicides. I want to strength train and go deeper into my yoga practice. But I only have three more weeks, then soccer season (which ALL my friends play, and it will be a lot of fun) and then I have my summer to do all I want to do 🙂

I have a lot of pictures to share! So here goes…

100_9557

100_9558 100_9560 Raspberry yogurt with raisins… 100_9563

100_9569  100_9576 Whole wheat pasta, a tomato, and steamed broccoli. Plus salt and pepper! 100_9580 100_9581

100_9592  100_9594 100_9596

100_9599  100_9601 100_9604 Lemon Larabar—my favorite!! 100_9609 100_9611 100_9618 100_9620 100_9622 100_9628 100_9631

100_9638

100_9639   100_9642 100_9643 100_9650 100_9652Post-yoga snack  100_9655

100_9657  100_9659

100_9660

100_9663

100_9665

100_9667Snack Plate!! 

100_9669

100_9670

100_9671

100_9672

100_9673I have decided I am going to make an attempt to up my protein. I workout 6 days a week, and I need to make sure I am eating enough of it! I LOVE April’s blog, and that girl is the protein Queen. I want to try and eat as clean as possible (in moderation, of course!) because it makes my body feel best. I already eat great, but I love trying new foods and new ways of eating!

I decided to count up how many grams of protein I had today—just for fun! I’ll be paying more attention but I doubt I’ll meticulously count. That could easily become obsessive! Anyways…

Today I made more of an effort to include more protein…

Breakfast: 19 grams of protein

Lunch: 15 grams of protein

Snack: 34 grams of protein

Dinner: 25 grams of protein

Snack: 11 grams of protein

Approximate Grand Total (for now—still kinda hungry!) : 104

Not bad!

Giveaways…

Oikos Giveaway HERE!

Chobani Giveaway HERE!

Chocolate Giveaway HERE!

I have a lot of commenting to catch up on! I’ll probably do a little more tonight and then do the rest tomorrow!

Anyone watch 24???! I’ve been watching the season premiere and WOW. It’s SO good!!

❤ jess

xoxo

P.S Who’s excited about being able to sleep in tomorrow? OIAJ get readyyyy!


Actions

Information

24 responses

18 01 2010
april

Hey girl! I just sent you an email about protein 🙂

I think your doing a great job at fueling yourself but like you said it’s way too easy to get caught up in all the counting! Right now I’m just counting to make sure I’m eating enough calories in general..but I plan on giving up the counting once my body figures out that it wants more food! haha

18 01 2010
crazylittlethingneela

jess!! i missed you!
i am so jealous you’re done soon! i still have about 4 semesters to go 😉
glad to hear yoga class was well, i love the combination of strength and stretch when it comes to yoga!
have a wonderful day
xoxo

18 01 2010
Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

i’m lovin all the pics of your eats, and how they kind of read like a flip book if you scroll down 🙂

enjoy your OIAJ manana!

18 01 2010
Lisa

I agree that I feel better on better foods and enough protein. I think your eats look phenomenal! 🙂

I’ve never tried the lemon Larabar, but I can’t wait to buy them, especially if it’s your favorite.

18 01 2010
melonshot.

so great that you are listening to your body, and upping your protien!
All of your eats look so delish!
whats on your snack plate?

Glad you enjoyed yoga 🙂

I have yet to try the lemon lara.. it looks AWESOME though.. so does the apple. I am digging the cashew cookie.. 🙂

18 01 2010
Lexi

Glad you enjoyed the yoga class! I absolutely love yoga. And I love those kashi rolls! They are SOO good. Congrats on almost being a sophomore!

18 01 2010
julia

Lovely eats! And you’re right: don’t obsess about things like protein:)

xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

18 01 2010
Yum Yucky

I see tortellini! It’s been so very long since I embraced some with my Food Trap.

18 01 2010
Sabrina

I love tortellini! I love how you bite into each pasta and your teeth would sink into a pillow of goodness. I wanted to sign up for a yoga class the other day but it was full! It seems everyone’s jumping onto the yoga bandwagon.

104g? That’s alot! I read somewhere that the RDA for protein is 0.8g/kg to 1.2-1.8 g/kg for those who exercise regularly. Then again, I don’t really bother about counting my protein intake so I wouldn’t know how much protein I’m consuming.

18 01 2010
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Congrats on making it through the first semester!!! I still have ONE more week to go – which is filled with finals – but we’ll both make it through. 🙂

Those sweet potato fries looks AMAZING! Love ’em!

xxoo
Heather

18 01 2010
jenngirl

I think monitoring protein grams rather than calories is a smarter way to keep track for a while…you’re totally right, don’t want it to become an obsession!

Also, that’s really great that you are realizing how much more you love yoga practice than b-ball. It’s a big part of growing up and learning about ourselves when we have the confidence to CHOOSE activities that make us happiest 🙂

18 01 2010
Gelareh @ Orange Truffle

Tons of good eats here! I am trying my very first Larabar today 🙂

18 01 2010
Jenna

Love protein!

18 01 2010
Jenny

ah I keep forgetting how young you are – I can’t believe you’re only a freshman! you are wise beyond your years my love – though I’m sure you hear that a lot 🙂

18 01 2010
oatsandchocolate

hey! congrats on court! your eats look so great yummm 🙂 loving that snack plate- it has like the most amazing foods on it. and ahhhh tortellini my mom always used to make that when i was little! and lemon laras are my favorite too- so good. yoga is so fun- i love how good it makes me feel and i also love how fun & relaxing it is- im so happy you liked it 🙂 have an amazing monday night xoxo soph

18 01 2010
Mari

Welcome back chiquita! All your eats look so good, esp that bowl of pasta with broccoli

18 01 2010
Christina

I really want to get into yoga, especially when hearing people get so excited about it!

Basketball and soccer? You’re one athletic girl!

18 01 2010
Sweet Cheeks

Good job on sticking it out for the rest of the season…summer isn’t that far away….woohoo!!

YES I adored sleeping in this morning! It is going to be a killer to get up early tomorrow. :/ But you gotta do what you gotta do, right?

Lovin’ all the eats as usual! 😀

19 01 2010
Ada

Congrats on being a second semester freshman:) Your snackie plates look fab, by the way.

20 01 2010
Tara

Congrats on making homecoming court!!! And almost done with drivers ED what a great feeling!! I remember my last day I had done the all day for I think it was 6 days over xmas break one year. I really love that you are enjoying drivers ed!!
Your eats as usuall look excellent
hmm sorry about basketball, i always felt that way about sports I just forced myself to play when I would much rather be left to my own devices, but soccer sounds like it will be a blast with all of your friends!!! I played for 6 years..not any more though.
your almost done with the semester good luck girl!!! ❤

20 01 2010
sophia

Ack, I’m still astounded at how young you are! And yet so mature!

What happens if the homecoming King is NOT your date?

22 01 2010
katie

Snack plates rock and your looks delish!!!!!!

Ahhhhhh so many yummy thngs u have been eating, Clif Z bars are the best, i love the blueberry flavor!!!

April is the Protein Queen, she rocks!!!

Good for you adding more protein, just do whatever makes you feel best!!!

Love ya!!! yeah for OIAJ!!!!! xoxoxo

22 01 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

im glad you liked your yoga calss 🙂 your ets always look so delicious!! i love your pictures 🙂 yay for protein!

xoxo
shelley
http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

22 01 2010
Jasmine @ Eat Move Write

That’s a lot of protein. Isn’t t great to finish up a semester? I know how you feel, although I’m about to start one. 😦

Leave a Reply

