A Surprise Party!!

11 01 2010

I hadn’t mentioned this before, but Saturday night was my Grandma’s 70th Surprise Birthday Party! She had NO idea. Her kids were all here, along with ~35 of her friends. She was crying practically the WHOLE night and it was absolutely beautiful. I had a lot of fun mingling and eating. It was nice just to enjoy my evening with my immediate family and my uncles and grandparents. I LOVE my grandma…SO MUCH!!!!

I took lots of photos including photos of MYSELF pre-party. Aren’t y’all lucky! 😀 I have never really done this before!

100_9372Saturday night’s Outfit: Black dress with black leggings and my chestnut UGGS.100_9373

100_9379  100_9462

100_9398A little dancer pose anyone? Haha, it’s very hard with a camera!   100_9388 Accessories are MUST! 100_9400 100_9380My favorite photo:

100_9387

Would you like to see some photos of food and such at the party? I am breaking out of my shell and am not afraid to take photos in front of people as much anymore 🙂 (The party was catered, by the way)100_9404 100_9407 Almond cake with almond frosting=absolutely incredible. 100_9409

100_9410

100_9412   100_9419

100_9422  100_9425

100_9432  100_9434

100_9436  100_9474 100_9475 100_9476 My plates:

Fruit plate—times about 5 at LEAST!

100_9459 Dinner: Salad with blue cheese, Italian marinated chicken, green beans, and a little dollop of mashed potatoes (I don’t love mashed potatoes—I like sweet potatoes!) 100_9477 100_9478 100_9479I went back for more fruit+salad ❤ 100_9481My piece of cake: The cake was VERY rich! So I ate about half, but it was AMAZING!!   100_9492

I spent a lot of the time by the warm fire :)  100_9505A good time was had by all!

I am SO happy because I am feeling pretty much ALL better! I still have a little cough, but not much.

I’ve been really productive this weekend! I am all caught up on my make-up work, which is a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I only have a paper due this week and some note cards to do, but when those are due is pretty flexible for me. I type up my notes in literature, and my notes on the Iliad have reached the 34 page mark!! I am DONE with that book. And couldn’t be more excited 😀

I have been enjoying some AMAZING food, guys!

Banana with Dark Chocolate Dreams. Yeah, it was pretty much heaven on earth! 100_9345

100_9348

100_9350 Salad from Moe’s Southwest grill. It was REALLY good! 100_9352 100_9354

100_9355  100_9358 100_9364 Blueberry Oikos with blueberries, dark chocolate chips, and dark chocolate pomegranate “candies.” 100_9364 100_9370

100_9518

100_9519

100_9520Hmm…what’s inside? Nothing other OATMEAL!

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup water and milk
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla (new addition—LOVED it)
  • brown sugar

100_9524     100_9526

100_9527

100_9529Leftovers made into a delicious salad! On top of a bed of lettuce there is hard boiled egg, cucumber, chicken, hummus, a few strips of cheese (provolone, I think), tabbouleh, and a little bit of blue cheese…on the side was a piece of legit pita bread, not from the store, from a real Greek place. MMM! This lunch hit the spot. And as if that wasn’t enough fiber, I also had a green apple 🙂

And last but CERTAINLY not least—Tonight’s dinner—Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Pancakes. Oh boy, it was delicious. I had 4 pancakes (actually five, but one was un-pictured 😀 ) and topped them with banana, Agave, some real maple syrup, chocolate chips, and also had some raspberry jam. 100_9543

100_9544  100_9545 100_9547 100_9548

100_9553

I had been jealous of Katie’s and Heather’s pancakes for a while and decided it was time for me to take matters into my own hands 🙂

I started Driver’s Ed yesterday and it went GREAT! I loved it. Weird, I know? But I loved the instructor and I made some new friends and had a blast! I also got a 96 on the test 😉 Pretty excited! Not excited about having to be there at 8, but you get it 😉

I have been getting my yoga on lately! It’s probably the best way for me to continue healing. I have also been doing ab work. It feels SO good to be able to exercise again. I cannot even describe it!

Verse of the Day: Psalm 37:4

Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

What’s going on in the blog world?

Heather just started phase one of her journey to become a certified yoga instructor!

Meghann, Caitlin, Megan, Ashley, Kelly (Meghann’s sister), Sammi and Monica completed the Disney Marathon!! Congrats!! (Let me know if I’m leaving anyone out!)

Have a wonderful week everyone!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

28 responses

11 01 2010
Mari

OMG I love that you took a picture of yourself in dancer pose and it is not blurry! Awesome ha

you look great chickie

11 01 2010
Gelareh @ Orange Truffle

OMG that is a beautiful cake.. Happy Birthday to your Grandma

11 01 2010
sophia

You look SO adorable and pretty!

Happy birthday to your Grandma…how sweet and beautiful that she started crying!

11 01 2010
Jenna

Party looks great!
Banana with dark choc pb looks yummy as well as all you other eats as alwaysssss!!
Jenna

11 01 2010
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Happy Birthday to your Grandma!!! And you are just GORGEOUS sweetie! You definitely have some fabulous style there… seriously, I LOVE those earrings!

Thanks for the shout out Jess! I’m just SO excited to be sharing my journey with you. 🙂

xxoo
Heather

11 01 2010
Lisa

You are so beautiful! Seriously, your cute factor is off the charts! 🙂 And I love your earrings!

Congrats on starting Driver’s Ed! I remember how excited I was to learn to drive! Rocking grade, too!

11 01 2010
Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

happy bday to your gma!! you are so pretty girl, and stylish too! yum pancakes for dinner was always my fave growing up, time to reinstate those nights!

11 01 2010
crazylittlethingneela

jess you are beaaaautiful! gosh!
oh i totally feel you on the potato thing. for christmas my mum made roasted potates and i was so excited about them byt when i tried them i was like ‘huh??? we’re is the kick to them?’ i too prefer my sweet potatoes 😉
xoxo

11 01 2010
julia

Pumpkin pancakes…wow!

You look great in that outfit, glad you enjoyed the party…and your granny too:)

xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

11 01 2010
Lexi

LOVE that you guys had a surprise party for your grandma!! I love my gma 🙂 🙂 The spread of food looks amazing! So do your OIAJ!!! I am almost done with my WCW and can’t wait to experience OIAJ for the first time!!!!

Have a great week
-Lexi

11 01 2010
Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food)

Cute outfit! Sounds like a fun party! Happy Birthday to your Grandma!

That cake is so pretty! And I love the fruit platter!

Have a great day!

11 01 2010
Christina

That cake looks so delicious. And I love the pics of you – your outfit is so cute!

11 01 2010
Jenny

oh my gosh – I finally get to see your sweet face! honey you are just so stunning 🙂 and mad props whipping out that dancer’s pose while taking a picture …that takes skill!

11 01 2010
Ada

I love your outfit, you look so cute! All the eats look amazing, happy birthday to your Grandma!

11 01 2010
Sabrina

It’s great to be 70 and yet still have so many friends! Happy birthday to your granny! Sweet potatoes rock my socks off. Sorry potatoes, but they’re just so bland in comparison. Breakfast/dessert for dinner = yumyuymyum 😀

12 01 2010
april

Oh girl I have been dying to see what you look like!! You are just as adorable as I thought!!

12 01 2010
nattietan

Lovely pictures and Happy Birthday to your grandma! She must have been incredibly happy having the whole family round to celebrate! You look and are beautiful girlie!!

xx

12 01 2010
katie

yay for pics!!! u are rocking those Uggs out girl!! U know I love Uggs!!!!!! Wow your grams cake looked delish and so pretty!!! I need to get me some dark choco dreams pb!!!!! yum!!! I have mighty maple and tried cinnamon raisin swirl before too!!

12 01 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

you are too cuteee girl!!! gorgeous 🙂 & your eats look amazing..what a fun little get together 🙂

xoxo
shelley
http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

12 01 2010
sarahdbelle

SO much delicious food in one place. That cake is so pretty, too.
And LOVE the pics of you.
Sarah

http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

13 01 2010
Casey

What a great post–appreciate the daily Bible verse!! Have a fabulous night 🙂

13 01 2010
kbwood

GREAT EATS GIRL!!
i LOVE your outfit and your hot curly hair!! ow owww!!
what a fun fam dinna!

14 01 2010
eatmovelove

Oh my God – tooooo much to comment on !! But happy Birthday G-Ma!! Lovin’ those eats girl 🙂 And your so cute!!

14 01 2010
Yum Yucky

hehe! that ice skater pose is the best! and I love those earrings! happy birthday to grandma!

14 01 2010
Karina Pinzon

Someone is looking FOXY!
I love that you guys threw a surprise party for your g-ma. I love my grandma so much as well, she practically raised me! Family is so important and I am so happy you all had a wonderful time.

I LOVE your eats. Those pancakes look so fluffy and nice, I haven’t made pancakes in a long time….

have a lovely Thursday!

14 01 2010
katie

Hey!!! We are only going to have one pug now, two was going to be way too much to handle!!! I am so thankful we decided that, puppies are ALOT of work!! I feel like I have a newborn baby! lol!! worth every minute though!!! xoxo

20 01 2010
Tara

Hey girl!! Aww what a great memory for your grandma to have!! And you looked absolutely adorable!! I loved the chestnut uggs with the black soo cute!! and I have earrings just like the ones you wore only mine are more oval!! All your eats look goo-ood! haha and YAY for being able to eat, yoga and extra protein!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

10 02 2010
Sammi

Ahh! I don’t know how I threw everyone off but I didn’t run in the marathon! lol. I just went and watched it 🙂 Not like I’m really going to complain about people thinking I’m that hardcore! lol.
All those Peanut Butter & co. jars on your blog are making me want to go downstairs and raid my cinnamon and raisin one!

Leave a Reply

