Lots to say!

26 11 2009

Hey all! Sorry for not posting last night—spending time with my grandparents, who had just gotten in, was mandatory and most important 🙂

Let’s number these random thoughts like the LOVELY Ms. GC!

1) I know I say this a lot, but it’s true: I am SO happy! I could not be enjoying my thanksgiving break more! I’m surrounded by food, fun, and family that I love. What could be better??

2) I have made the decision to start upping my strength workouts. I do strength training around 3 times a week, specifically leg strength, my favorite! I need to keep my legs strong for basketball and LIFE. I plan on going to the gym tomorrow morning to do some leg strength training that will include squats, leg machines, lunges, etc. I think in working out and LIFE in general, variety is key. Our muscles will get used to something if we don’t change it up ever!! I love strength training because I don’t necessarily need a gym to do it! Although I love the gym’s free weight machines 😉

3) With the increase of activity lately, I think I need to up the energy intake. No, I DO NOT want to/ DO NOT count calories. But, like April recently did, I think I should make a more conscious effort to listen to my body even more than usual. I am pretty good with intuitive eating, and I eat very, very healthily. My metabolism lately is ROARING and I am always hungry. I never want to ignore those hunger cries, even if I’ve eaten lunch forty five minutes ago! I have come to terms that I need more than the average person, and that is perfectly acceptable 🙂

4) I am currently watching the Biggest Loser! I really have grown to love the show. Do I agree with everything they stand for? No. I don’t think it’s healthy to workout for 3+ hours a day…BUT the success stories are innumerable! This really shows my passion for health and fitness and how I really want to make it my living when I grow up. I just want to help people be the best they can be, the healthiest they can be, but most importantly, the HAPPIEST they can be.

5) I’m VERY excited for Thanksgiving! I am SO glad I can actually enjoy the food this year. Two years ago, when I was at my worst, I remember eating practically NOTHINGGG and not enjoying is at ALLL! That’s no way to spend thanksgiving, right? Now, I don’t think it’s right to stuff yourself to the point of sickness, but eating more than normal and having a good time, that sounds about right! It’s ONE day out of the year. Like Jenny said in one of her latest posts, ONE day is not going to undo your year. It’s OK to have that second plate. It’s OK to have your PIE and EAT it too! Enjoy the food, give thanks, and have fun!!

6) I am SO excited about CHRISTMAS! I got a LOT of my Christmas shopping done today—at great prices! I am almost done shopping for the boyfriend and completely finished with my cousins. I just have my mom, dad, and brothers. And I know what I’m getting all of them! 🙂

Wow, that’s a LOT of paragraphs. Major props if you got through it! 🙂

Let’s get onto the FOOD. This is a health/FOOD blog, right?!

Post shopping a Gingerbread Latte was definitely in order! 100_8607 100_8609 100_8615

I recently made some Annie’s shells!! I also put some broc in there for my veggies, ya know 😉 100_8560 100_8567 More Greek/Reg. yogurt messes…100_8408 100_8412 100_8421 100_8426 100_8432 100_8450 100_8456 100_8467 100_8476 100_8469 100_8471 A yummy breakfast with a sandwich thin, egg, provolone, banana, and Bee’s Knees! 100_8533

100_8536

100_8538 With milk…100_8540 Sweet potato fries with ketchup and almond buttahhh!

100_8525  100_8526 More random eats…100_8590 100_8587 100_8599 100_8603 100_8605

100_8461The above yogurt is FABULOUS! SO, SO, SO good! GREAT in a yogurt messss! 100_8606

All natural ice cream with Bee’s Knees! 100_8569

That’s enough for now, I think 😉

Verse of the Day: Psalm 100 (I know I did this like three days ago, but it’s SO good!)

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

HappyThanksgiving (source)

happy-thanksgiving (source)

❤ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

10 responses

26 11 2009
kbwood

girl i just had a gingerbread latte too! first time- loved it!!

i loved all your numbered things.. LOVE number 1 .. very important 🙂

26 11 2009
julia

Lovely eats! And girl, you shouldn’t be hungry! When hungry? Eat! And fuel your body that way:) I’m glad you realised that too…

Have a great Thanksgiving!

xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

26 11 2009
Taylor

I’m glad you’re enjoying your holiday.
There’s an older series of The Biggest Loser USA on TV here and I have to say I don’t agree with what they’re doing. I don’t think it’s right to try lose the amount of weight they need to in a short period of time. I mean how many times has someone collapsed or had heart problems, I think it gives out the wrong message and if it wasn’t a TV programme their methods to lose weight would be different.
Anyway that’s my 2 cents worth.

26 11 2009
VeggieGirl

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!! 🙂

26 11 2009
april

Happy thanksgiving!! I think it is so important to fuel our bodies right.. especially since we’re so young! Eat up girl! 😀

26 11 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Sounds like you have everything under control sweetheart! Just keep listening to your body and let it be your guide! 🙂

That Stonyfield yogurt does sound SO good!!! Happy Thanksgiving Jess, and love you too. 🙂

xxoo
Heather

26 11 2009
Jenna

have a great turkey day!
all of your eats look great. i really wanna try annie’s shells with broccoli now!
jenna

26 11 2009
jaime

aww loved your random list of things 🙂

i think its great that you want to do more strength training- i used to do it 5 days a week but now its more like 2-3– so hard with my work schedule!!

i once read that 1lb of muscle burns MUCH more calories at rest than 1 lb of fat– the more weight training we do– the more fuel we need 🙂

have a beautiful thanksgiving xxoxo

26 11 2009
Maria

It’s great that you are listening to your body! I definitely think it’s important to fuel strength sessions. The body gets quite fatigued after lifting weights, and it’s hard to build muscles without the calories!

Mmm, I need to get my first cup of gingerbread latte this season. Sounds delish!

Happy Thanksgiving, Jess!!!

27 11 2009
simplysavlysav

Happy Thanksgiving!!
It seems like your in a very good place in your life right now, keep listening to your body!! I hope you enjoyed every moment of time with your family!! STARBUCKS!! YUMM I will be trying the gingerbread latte ASAP! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

