My Apologies+Less fruit, more veggies!

15 11 2009

Hey ladies! I am so so so SORRY for going a-wall for a few days. I don’t think I mentioned it, but I was in a play for choir for my school this week. And on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday I was gone all day long. School then play practice. So needless to say, blogging wasn’t an option😉

Life is going great!! I am just brimming with happiness! I feel like I am really coming into myself, if that makes sense. I feel like myself, who I want to be, and I am feeling super confident. I am discovering Jess, and it feels super great!

As many of you know, I LOVE my fruits and veggies, especially my fruits. During the worst times of my ED, I would have up to 8 apples a day. Obviously, that took a toll on my digestive system. I eat lots of fiber, and copious amounts of fruit definitely makes me feel, well, not so good.😉 So my challenge for this week is to eat more veggies, and not to rely so heavily on hard on the system apples and bananas. I definitely eat a good amount of veggies now, but I can definitely go out of my way more often to.🙂 I wonder how much better I will feel! I won’t be giving up my apples and bananas, but maybe sticking to one or two a day is a good idea!!

I’ve been loving the eats lately. I have had to be very flexible with the play practices: lots of granola bars and dried fruit. Very portable😉 So I am looking forward to getting back into my routine. Today was great!

Lately I have been eating…

Amazing combos like pumpkin butter+peanut butter. So good!! Especially on top of Ezekiel 4:9 cinnamon raisin bread! 100_8285 100_8288 100_8289 100_8291 Trader Joe’s Greek Yogurt: Blueberry Flavor

This yogurt is cheaper than your Chobs/Fage/Oikos, and tastes AMAZING! I give it 10/10. So good! Very good consistency! Loveeed it🙂

100_8293 100_8294 100_8296 100_8301

100_8305 Oats in a jar100_8309 100_8310 100_8315 I have been loving pomegranate arils lately! I especially think they are fantastic in yogurt messes! 100_8217 100_8218 100_8222 100_8224 Grocery shopping fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am very excited about this week’s purchases🙂 100_8317 100_8321 100_8322 100_8323 100_8324 100_8325 100_8326 100_8327

100_8328

100_8330 Post-workout snack/half of my lunch was an Odwalla bar (love this flavor!) and an organic apple. To drink I had a Vitamin Water 10, essential flavor! Very good as well! 100_8331 100_8332

100_8333

100_8334 Today’s workout was AMAZING:

  • 3 minute stationary bike warm up
  • Strength Training: Legs
    • Hip Abduction: 4 sets of 8, 4 sets of 10 (155 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 4 sets of 8, 4 sets of 10 (155 pounds)
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (80 pounds)
    • Leg Curl: 3 sets of 10 (55 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 4 sets of 10 (130 pounds)
    • Calve: 3 sets of 15-ish (180 pounds)
    • Wall Squat held for 100 seconds
    • Wall Squats with exercise ball: 3 sets of 15
  • Ab Work
    • 30 second high plank, 30 second side plank on each side
      • REPEAT, then end with another 30 second full plank (done all in a row)
    • Russian twist with legs up in air and a 5-6 (?) pound medicine ball
      • one minute
    • reverse crunches: 2 sets of 15
    • low plank twist (you’re in plank position, then you drop your right hip down, not all the way to the floor, then repeat on the left side)
      • set of 10
    • side plank dips
      • set of 10 on each side
    • more plank work
  • 20 minutes stationary bike
  • nice old stretch and foam roller🙂

Twas incredible😀

Verse of the Day (found here): Romans 14:4

Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a fabulous night everyone! Enjoy your Sundays!!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

18 responses

15 11 2009
VeggieGirl

Great grocery goodies!

Good luck with the busyness!

15 11 2009
crazylittlethingneela

aww i feel you on the bowels and veggies. i too am limiting all my raw veggies to help my bowels a bit. but thank god for bananas, pumpkin and sweet potatoes to fuel me through the day and still give me some vitamins😉
have a good sunday

15 11 2009
julia

Loving all those eats, but I’m loving something else even more…and that’s your positive energy behind these words! I’m happy that things are going well:)

xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

15 11 2009
Taylor

It’s great to hear how you’re enjoying your life and finding yourself. Very positive words.
I keep trying to get the right balance of fruit n veggies. I think I’m doing better now and have discovered a few new veggies while on my meat free week.

15 11 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

I’m SO happy for you Jess! High school is a time to discover your passions and where you truly belong in the world. You have so much going for you, and I’m just so glad you are making the most of that!🙂

LOVE Pomegranate!!!😀

xxoo
Heather

15 11 2009
kbwood

girl- i love your blog and the way you let your faith shine through it! keep it up!!

those goodies look amazing..and thats my fav flava of vitamen water!

15 11 2009
Maria

Yaaaay! I’m so glad to hear that you are super happy and that you are finding yourself. High school can be tough for most people, and it’s absolutely great that you are loving life and enjoying it!

Yeah, maybe eating those less fibrous apples might help the tummy a little bit. Hope it all works out!

Love your yogurt bowls and oats, per usual😀

15 11 2009
Jenny

you are such a well-rounded girl.. basketball, choir, studious – your parents must be so proud🙂 plus your an amazingly talented foodie, of course😉

15 11 2009
Sweet Cheeks

WOW, this post is filled with super yummy goodies!! Enjoy them girlie! wanna invite me over?😉

have a GREAT day!

15 11 2009
Jenna

i love all of your eats as usual!
i am so happy you are finding the real JESS, that is so great🙂
jenna

16 11 2009
Emily

ARNIE! Love him!😉

I need to try that granola! Let me know how it is!

I’ve never had pumpkin butter….should probably jump on that! haha

16 11 2009
april

I think I’m the oppostite.. I eat way too much veggies and not enough fruit!

16 11 2009
burpexcuzme

Basketball, choir, school, blog…how do you do it? You super lady, you!

Haha, thank god you came to your senses…you really can’t take in that much fruits and veggies!😉

16 11 2009
shell625

i’m glad you are feeling so positive🙂 your foods look deliciousss & i just bought a pomegranate and can’t wait ot try itt

xoxo
shelley
http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

16 11 2009
Devan Geselle Newman

Great Workout🙂

I always go through Fruit phases.. then veggie phases..like a week of straight apples and watermelon
then a week of cauliflower and carrots! haha

16 11 2009
katie

Your eats always look yummy too!! Let me know how the pomegran plus is from natures path, it looks so good, I never tried it yet!! Have a great day!!! xoxoxo

16 11 2009
Christina

I’m the opposite. I get tons of veggies but def have to work on getting more fruit!

17 11 2009
The Long Last Week Before… « Have Faith

[…] ziti made with whole grain/wheat (don’t exactly remember which!) pasta! How am I doing on my “less fruits, more veggies?” Well, pretty good actually. Yesterday I rocked it! For breakfast I made myself an omelet with […]

Leave a Reply

