Miniature Yogurt Mess’s are FUN!

19 10 2009

Hello all! I’ve missed you guys! I have been doing the same old, same old…

  • studying
  • babysitting
  • Library run where I ended up getting 9 books for my year-long research paper
  • boyfriend visits
  • gym
  • and some relaxation, but sadly not nearly enough

I haven’t been able to really relax yet! I still have two days, but considering that I have ~60 more note cards to do, that isn’t looking like a realistic possibility. I also have a latin test to study for, and Iliad reading due. I have not had ONE weekend that I have just been able to seriously relax. And this one won’t be any different—my choir is going to a festival and that takes up ALL of my Saturday and Sunday. We’re not going to talk about that 😉 But hopefully the weekend after this upcoming one, aka Halloween, will be a good, relaxing one! It better be.

AHHH I NEED TO RELAX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, I feel better now. 🙂

Food

I just ate this as a snack, and it was fabulous! It was a mini greek yogurt mess:

  • 1 container lemon stonyfield organic yogurt (10 for $5!!!)
  • Bear Naked FIT Granola
  • Raisins
  • Small bit of Bee’s Knees

100_7783

100_7787

100_7785

100_7788

I’ve seriously been loving these two jars lately… 100_7770 Here’s my breakfast I had this morning—2 slices of Ezekiel 4:9 bread, each topped with peanut butter. On the side was some grapes and a scrambled egg. Very balanced 🙂

  • Protein? Check.
  • Carbs? Check.
  • Fat? Check.

100_7771

100_7772

100_7774

100_7775

Another yummy meal… 🙂 100_7755

100_7756

100_7758

100_7760 100_7763 Probably my favorite Larabar? (Cherry Pie!)

100_7769

Pre-workout snack! 100_7753

100_7754

Fitness

I had yet another great workout today! I just loooveee exercising! It makes me feel fantastic!

  • Stationary bike as warm up, per usual
  • Leg Work:
    • Hip Abduction: 8 sets of 10 (150 pounds)
    • Leg Curl: 3 sets of 10 (50 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 8 sets of 10 (150 pounds)
    • Calves: 3 sets of 12 (175 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 3 sets of 10 (130 pounds)
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (70 pounds)
    • Wall squat held for 100 seconds
    • Knee Strengthening Exercises
    • Exercise Ball-Wall Squats (love these!)
  • Ab Work:
    • 1 minute of Russian Twists with medicine ball (with legs up in air)
      • Repeat
    • 30 second side plank on each side
      • Repeat
    • 50 straight crunches on exercise ball
  • 20 minutes of biking (over 6 miles)
  • Foam Roller and Stretching

Verse of the Day (found here): Proverbs 31:30

Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.

Have a great night everyone! Don’t expect a post tomorrow—expect lots of commenting 🙂

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

18 responses

19 10 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Oh sweetie, I definitely know the overwhelmed feeling. But it’s just so important to stay balanced… try to plan out the next week or so to fit in everything you need to do, but also schedule in “blank” time where you can simply do whatever you want. Whether it’s yoga, going for a walk, reading a magazine, or catching up on your favorite TV show, simply RELAX! It’s so important to stay mentally sane in the crazy world known as school. 🙂

xxoo
Heather

19 10 2009
Neela Marijana

okay, first things first! RELAX babe! a calm and focsed mind is so mimportant when it comes done to producing good work. give yourself a break when you need to. find little things that help you relax during the day. hope you feel a bit better soon.
i am loving that breakfast, those two nut butters look so good. if only i could have them here 😦
take care love
xoxo

19 10 2009
julia

Those mini messes are great! I make them too:)

And all your oher eats look delicious, mmm…

xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

19 10 2009
VeggieGirl

Breathe, my friend – remember that God is there to help xo

19 10 2009
april

I definitely know how your feeling! I haven’t been able to relax in a while..ugh!

Just take it one day at a time.. and continue to eat all that delicious food! 😀

19 10 2009
Michelle

Hang in their girlie! I know what you mean!

19 10 2009
Jenna

is that peanut butter on your sweet potato?!
jenna

19 10 2009
jenngirl

I’m right there with ya on being overwhelmed, we just gotta remind ourselves to breathe, focus, and everything will work itself out!!

So much nut butter-lovin’ in the post, yay! 🙂

19 10 2009
Maria

10 for $5 is an awesome deal on organic yogurt! And you used it wisely 😉

Balanced meals tend to make me the most energetic, so good job!

I hope you relax soon, hon!

19 10 2009
Holly

i still need to try peanut butter + sweet potato!

hang in there dear and take some time for yourself!

19 10 2009
Taylor

Love the sweet potato

19 10 2009
Niamh

I hope you find the chance to relax soon.
Thanks for the comment x

19 10 2009
Jenny

girlfriend you are in dire need of a mental health day to just veg ut and do NOTHING!!! hopefully soon enough!

love to you miss Jess! xo

20 10 2009
Christina

Mmm I love pb & co. I’m jealous, I’ve been too cheap to restock lately 😦 I think I might have to give in soon!

As usual, your yogurt mess sounds and looks amazing!

20 10 2009
Devan G Newman

awesome workout 🙂

and your eats look fantastic!
Bees Knees is amazing

20 10 2009
katie

Jess thanks for the comment and advice! I will check that generator site out!

20 10 2009
Laura

This is possibly the greatest food post I’ve read in a long time.
I love nut butters…but have YET to try them in yogurt. Am I missing out?!

20 10 2009
burpexcuzme

Oh, Jess, I know what you mean exactly…That overwhelming stress! Ah! The worst feeling ever!
But the best way is to just try not to freak out, and try to actualy ENJOY what you’re doing…find ways to make it fun for you, and you’ll find your work becoming more effective and productive!

Leave a Reply

