Mid-Week Update!

26 08 2009

Hey girls! Hope everyone’s week is going well. I just wanted to pop in, say hi, and share some yummy foods!

My week has gone well! I’m happy it’s Wednesday tomorrow. Because then it’s Thursday, then…FRIDAY.😀

School is going well as well. I proudly got a 100 on a pop-quiz in biology. So glad I reviewed my notes the night before! I’m working so hard, I hope I manage to get all A’s. But you know what, I’ve realized that grades aren’t everything. Yes, they are important, but they do not define us. I think I struggle with that for sure!

I have a question for you wonderful ladies… “Have you ever lost a friend that you had been close with?” I am not going into details (I try and go by: don’t write it online if you wouldn’t write it on the front page of a newspaper), but an issue has arouse with a friend that I was formally pretty close with. It’s not important what happened, but I’ve apologized about a billion times and said it will never happen again. I know I shouldn’t feel bad, but I still do. What I’ve come to is that I think I still have that pang in my stomach because I’m afraid I’ve lost a friend…

I’ll stop the depression here🙂

I’ve found a workout schedule that works for me and my life! Here it is…of course, it’s not always going to play out like this, but I really like it!

Sunday: Cardio/Yoga

Monday: Strength

Tuesday: Yoga

Wednesday: Cardio/Yoga

Thursday: Strength

Friday: OFF

Saturday: Strength+Cardio

Basically, it’s pure cardio 1 day a week, cardio+strength 1 day a week, strength 2 days a week, and yoga 2 times a week. Loving this schedule and has lots of variety😀

For morning breakfasts, I’ve been sticking my delicious Greek yogurt mess’. Yum-yum! I’ll recap the past two days, Monday and Tuesday.

Monday’s Greek Yogurt Mess: 1 Oikos Blueberry Greek Yogurt, Bear Naked Granola (<3!), Total Blueberry Pomegranate Cereal, raspberries, blueberries, 1/2 a banana 100_6591

100_6594

100_6596 

Lunch: Peanut butter sandwich, soy crisps, applesauce 100_6598

Snack: An Apple and Honey Graham Z-bar

(Z-bar was hiding in lunchbox🙂 )

The rest of the day went un-photographed…

Tuesday’s Greek Yogurt Mess: 1 Oikos vanilla Greek Yogurt, 1 Fiberone Muffin, Bear Naked Granola, Raspberries, Blueberries, 1/2 banana 100_6600

100_6602

100_6605

Lunch: Leftover Chicken+White Bean Soup, Kashi Honey Sesame Crackers, an apple 100_6607

Snacks: Peanut butter Lara-bar (swoon!) and an apple 100_6608

Dinner and the rest were not photographed as well…Sorry about that!

Verse of the Day: (Got this verse from Polly’s awesome blog!!) Jeremiah 1:5

Before I shaped you in the womb, I knew all about you. Before you saw the light of day, I had plans for you.

LOVE THAT!!!

Gotta go ladies, off to look over history+biology (lovin’ bio!!) notes!!

Thanks for reading! In commenting related topics…I am sorry if I haven’t commented on your blog in a few posts! If that’s so, just let me know. I’m struggling to keep up! Hehe…

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

19 responses

26 08 2009
Maria

I’m sorry to hear about the friend problem! By reading your blog, I can see that you are a genuine, sweet girl. If you apologized to your friend and did all you could to win her back, then there is TRULY no need to feel bad! I don’t know all the details, but it sounds to me that she may not “deserve you”–although I don’t want to be quick to judge!

I can relate to that pang in the stomach when you lose a friend, but try not to focus on it too much. It hurts and you feel like something is wrong with you, but that’s not always the case (and I’m sure that’s not in your case!). Pray, spend time with other friends and family, and time will heal (in my experience)! Best of luck🙂

26 08 2009
Julia

Don’t you worry about commenting, silly, we all know you care even if you don’t comment! But I do love your comments : )

I’m sorry about your friend troubles…there are definitely people I’ve grown apart from especially in the past 4 or 5 years. I’ve alse been happy to be able to rekindle friendships with people that I hadn’t spoken to in years but now had common ground with.
I actually had a foot-in-my-mouth moment today where I said something I realized was just not okay for the situation. I emailed the person and apologized. Long story short, they didn’t even notice the comment I had made, accepted my apology, and said this, which I think is extremely true: “We all say things that we regret. The measure of a person is his or her willingness to apologize.”

I think it says a lot that you were willing to apologize – it takes strength and confidence to admit when you are wrong. I hope that this person can look past what happened and forgive you, because holding onto hurts and grudges is unproductive for everyone involved. No matter what this person does I’m sure that with some prayer and talking with other friends and family that you come to a better understanding of the situation and find peace with yourself.

Have a great Wednesday…half way through the week!

26 08 2009
Madison

I think you are very smart to say that grades are not the only thing that matters. I feel we are alike in that we work very hard and set our expectations of ourselves SO high–we are perfectionists! Live your life to the best of your ability and that will truly be success. : )

26 08 2009
Emily

Sorry about losing your close friend! I can only imagine how that must feel….

I havent had time to comment much lately either! But Im still reading!😀

26 08 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

I’m so glad school seems to be going well for you so far. You definitely have a lot going for you, and I know you’ll stay on top! You are totally right that grades will never define you… there are always those teachers that just don’t teach a subject well, and that can reflect in grades, or maybe a class is just really difficult. What’s important is that you gave it your all and are proud of how hard you worked and what you’ve learned from the class.

Trust me, you are going to have a lot more of these friend issues in high school. High school is just filled with fights, break-ups, cliques, etc., and it’s impossible to avoid them. As long as you’ve apologized and truly mean it, I’m sure your friend will come around. And if she doesn’t, maybe she isn’t the kind of friend you want in your life. Good luck sweetie!

What yummy meals and snacks! Definitely some great packed lunches!

xxoo
Heather

26 08 2009
ksgoodeats

I’ve had to cut friends out of my life. They were too negative and, looking back on it, they weren’t good friends. A good friend will always be there for you and always have your back. If someone isn’t treating you right, you need to cut your ties. It’s hard but in my experience, it’s worth it in the end. You’ve got to look out for yourself. However!! If it’s something petty and this is a friend you’ve had a good history with, try to work it out. High school is filled with stupid drama! Good luck with Bio, I’m sure you’ll ace it!!

26 08 2009
insideiamdancing

Losing friends is never easy, whatever the circumstances are😦 I guess you need to find a way to be at peace with letting go, especially if it’s outwith your control, you know? Sounds like you’ve done all that *you* can.

Yay Bare Naked granola! What are the fiber 1 muffins like?

29 08 2009
psychoj1

The fiberone muffins are very good! In all honesty though, I didn’t love them in the mix with the granola and yogurt. But with the yogurt alone I’m sure they would have been wonderful!!

26 08 2009
Christina

So happy you’re enjoying school! I lost a few friends over the years. It’s bound to happen sometimes. If it was because of a fight, I find that after a while it usually gets forgotten or seems less important. Give it some time!

26 08 2009
Jenny

congrats on rockin’ that bio quiz girl! I am AWFUL with science so major kudos to you!!

I’m so sorry to hear about your friend — i experienced similar things in high school but have learned that sometimes people just grow apart. It really helps to put in to perspective who you’re TRUE lifelong friends are.. and in the end, those are the only ones that really matter right?

keep smiling, Jess🙂

26 08 2009
Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian)

mmmm yogurt messes – love those! good work on the pop quiz!

i am sorry to hear about your friend – one of my best friend’s brother died two years ago, and that was awful. however, somehow, all of our friends came together and really got through it because we had one another. lean on those you love – they will help you through🙂

27 08 2009
burpexcuzme

Oh Jess, so sorry abt your relationship issues with your friend…but remember that friends do come and go, and even though it seems broken right now, God can heal that anytime. Right now, just dwell in the perfection and love in Him instead, and He will comfort you and bless you. After all, nobody loves you more than Him, as that verse implies!

Hope the rest of the week goes by smoothly and peacefully with lots more 100s in the futre!😀

27 08 2009
Meg

So sorry about your friend, but do remember that God has His reasoning for everything, and everyone he touches your life with🙂 whether it be negative or positive, something is learned or gained from it all. Things will work out according to His plan, and life will move on as it’s planned for ya🙂

I LOVE your workout schedule – very motivation & inspiring, I know I should do the same when school starts for me next week. Thanks for the idea😉

Love the eats ahhh that yog mess looks freakin’ awesome😛

Love ya!!
Meg

28 08 2009
April (Foods of April)

I love how you pack your lunches! I always packed mine as well.. they are much healthier that way! Plus you don’t have to wait in long lines. And that lunchbox is so cute! what brand is it?

28 08 2009
Lisa

I’m back to the blogging world!

Congrats on your 100%–that’s awesome!

I’m sorry about your friend situation. I wouldn’t worry too much, because you’re super sweet and I’m sure you’ve done your part to make things right. At this point, you’ve done everything in your control and it’s not fair to yourself to feel guilty.

29 08 2009
psychoj1

I’m so glad you’re back!!🙂 I have been reading your blog, but for some reason my computer (or is it blogger?) won’t let me comment. Word verification issue! REALLY annoying!

28 08 2009
littlemissminny

You know, I had my fair share of so called friends. I was really close to my friends, I was always there for her, trying to help, being honest, I always put her/him first. And I always ended up being “dumped” for no apparent reason. Without any explanation. So, I stopped a little for a while. I have my boyfriend who means the world to me, and if any new friends come along, I hope they will be there for me as I was for my former best friends.

29 08 2009
psychoj1

Thank you so much for the comment🙂 Do you have a blog, I’d love to check it out!!

29 08 2009
Chocolate-Covered Katie

Yeah, I’ve lost close friends. We just grow apart, and it’s sad. But it leaves room for other friends to come into your life🙂

Leave a Reply

