Restocking!

10 08 2009

Hey girls! I’ve had yet another really good day. I saw the bf (only for a bit though!😦 ), went grocery shopping, had an awesome workout, ate delicious food, and tanned while getting some more summer reading finished! Sadly, the visit with the boyfriend was only for ~10 minutes. He’s been in a lot of pain today and couldn’t even make it to church. So a quick visit/pick-me-up was in order. I brought him vanilla concrete with peanut butter fudge from an ice cream place. (Just to add, that I had a few bites because it was getting melty and it was either that, or get ice cream all over my J-Crew shorts. Uh-uh, not gonna happen! LOL, delicious😀 )

Let’s get started, shall we?

Breakfast this morning was a yummy bowl of Cranberry TOTAL cereal, topped with a peach and skim milk. Delightful! 100_6215Lunch was a new combo for me! Laughing cow+green apple on a whole grain wrap. I was a bit un-sure at first, but this ended up being delicious! If you haven’t already, try this combo! 100_6220Served with pretzels with the remaining LC.  100_6222

100_6224To note—that brown mark is from the panini press! Haha! 100_6225   

After lunch, I layed out in the sun while reading 25 pages (so for around 45-50 minutes?) It felt wonderful and then I went for a dip in the pool. Wow, this is the life🙂

Grocery shopping was next to do! I think I’ve changed my mind—Harris Teeter is my favorite over-all grocery store, but Kroger has the best selection of natural/organic/etc things in my opinion. (It also has some of the best prices! Like 3.50 for PB Puffins) But if given the opportunity, I’d choose H.T.🙂

Here’s our haul:

  • braeburn apples
  • sweet aazz apples
  • a BUNCH (like 16!) of bananas
  • peaches
  • cherries
  • grapes
  • avocados
  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • tomatoes
  • Strawberry Fields Kashi Cereal
  • 2 kinds of Trail Mix (Berry Blend (?), and Breakfast Blend)
  • Maranatha AB (which I got for 1.99 bc of coupon+on sale at store)
  • Skippy PB
  • Stevia (excited to use this!)
  • Odwalla Bar
  • Blueberry Z-bar
  • 3 Chobanis (including the peach!!!)
  • 5 stonyfield yogurts (for 2.50!!!)

That, clearly, is not all we got! We saved around 70 dollars (through coupons and store savings), which is beyond awesome!

I got some pics! 100_6227 100_6228 100_6229 100_6230

100_6232Big container of stonyfield! YAY!

100_6233

100_6236

100_6237

100_6238

100_6239Here we have my drawer in our pantry! You can see it’s quite stocked ;) 

100_6240

Not long after putting away groceries, my dad and I were off to the gym! I did a sweat, hill-y 45 minutes on the elliptical (including 5 min. cool down) followed by foam roller and some yoga poses/stretching. Man, do I love yoga! I think, as K said on my last post, I feel like a HEAB-er!🙂 Which is not a bad thing at alllll!

The teacher whom I love will no longer be teaching the Sunday class, so…I’m thinking of starting to go to the 5:00 pilates class at my gym. It looks like a great, low-key class and I know how much GC loves her pilates😉 Any thoughts??

My pre-workout snack was a tasty apple! But my post-workout snack was the star of the show. I had my blueberry Chobs topped with fresh blueberries and a blueberry graham z-bar! OH MY WORD SO GOOD! 100_6242

100_6244

100_6245  100_6247 100_6248 Now THAT’S a post workout snack!!

Dinner was equally delicious! I hadn’t had my oatmeal fix so that’s what I had😉 Oats made with almond milk and banana, topped with breakfast blend trail mix and peanut butter! Mmm…100_6249

100_6250  100_6251 100_6253 100_6254 Tonight’s snacks have included grapes, a string cheese, and some veggie chips with hummus.

I’m feeling wonderful. My body is happy, my belly is happy, I’m just all around happy!

The super-awesome JB tagged me with this award! honest_award Thank you SO much girl!!

“This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant. This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who oftentimes put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul."

Aww❤

I really don’t think I could choose certain bloggers for this award! I think that pretty much all of you write from your heart. So, if you haven’t gotten this award yet, consider yourself tagged. Seriously, tag yourself!!

10 things about me? Hmm…I’m gonna copy Shelby and give one each post! I don’t even think I can come up with 10 at once, haha.

1. I have a reverent-fear for the monkey bars. I got a concussion when I was in 5th grade while trying to jump like four bars (yeah, I’m a smarty-pants!). Luckily I’m much taller now so I wouldn’t have to worry about falling far😉

Verse of the Day: Deuteronomy 6:16 (according to/found here)

You shall not put the LORD your God to the test.

Well, girlies. I’ve gotta run and get stuff laid out for basketball tomorrow. Haven’t been in three weeks due to my wrist and camp counselor stuff. Hmm, should be interesting. Please wish me luck. It’s not like I haven’t picked up a basketball in that long, but still! My wrist still isn’t 100% as well…

To come in future post: Car Talk+High School Talk.

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

16 responses

10 08 2009
SHE-FIT

Cranberry TOTAL cereal? That sounds great. I have not seen these before. I am going to have to go try them. I am a huge fan of any and all cereal.

10 08 2009
burpexcuzme

GOOD LUCK! Don’t worry abt it…I’ll bet you’ve got b-ball in your BONES, so it’ll just come naturally!
And poor Kroger…rejected once more!

10 08 2009
ohsoravenous

I totally had oats for dinner tonight too =)

10 08 2009
Maria

Awesome goods you picked up at the store!

I honestly didn’t like pilates, especially after doing yoga for so long! I just much prefer yoga’s concentration on the entire body, rather than just the abs. I had to check it out though because of GC. But you should still try it, since everyone’s preferences are different🙂

I love having oats for dinner, and the trail mix addition sounds great!

10 08 2009
Tasty Health Food

Whoa, that is one amazing grocery haul! All the greek yogurt, it’s like heaven! And seventy dollars of savings? That’s sooo good. Now you’ve got me wanting oats for dinner though… And I already had dinner.😀

10 08 2009
Madison

AWESOME grocery store findings!!!! I need to take you to the store with me so I can save lots of moola too.🙂

Good luck at basketball today–I know you will do fabulously. Cannot wait to hear about car talk and high school talk.

10 08 2009
Christina

haha omg I have the same fear of the monkey bars due to trying to jump off when I was little and breaking my elbow. I tried them again a few years later when I was in like 3rd grade and almost broke my back. I consider them off limits to this day (although yeah, we probably wouldn’t fall too far nowadays)!

10 08 2009
ksgoodeats

What a great grocery haul! The Greek/z-bar combo is what initially got me to eat Greek yogurt🙂 It’s really good with strawberry chobs and chocolate z-bar too!

Have fun today!!

10 08 2009
Megan

i’m so jealous of your grocery trip!! i can’t wait to get back to school so i can buy my own groceries and cook for myself🙂 your eats by the way.. look amazing!! my favorite way to use a z-bar… crumbled on top of oats!! delishhhh

10 08 2009
april

That trail mix looks awesome in your oatmeal! mmm!

And that panini looks so good too! Paninis make everything taste better😀

10 08 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Aww, sorry to hear about the bf being in a lot of pain. Just try to be there for him like I know you are and keep spoiling him for a few more weeks.🙂

AWESOME shopping load sweetie! Wow, everything looks amazing!!! All those yogurts sound fabulous… you totally have the same tastes as me.

xxoo
Heather

10 08 2009
Michelle

Oatmeal for dinner is THE best comfort food! I love doing that at least once a week😉
Who says dinner can’t be breakfast!?

GOOD LUCK at your basketball practice…I hope your wrist is feeling good for it!

10 08 2009
Kailey

wow that is one AMAZING grocery store load. Of course I love that you bought peanut butter. I have never tried skippy natural though – will have to get a jar when I am low🙂
love the stoneyfield farm people choice yogurt!!

10 08 2009
justine

Man, where have I been? Totally dint know you had a hurt wrist! I hope it is feeling better. I am sure you are key on your b-ball team!! Lovely groceries. All your food looks great as well. I love the apple and cheese combo. I would always eat sliced green apples with sliced cheese when I was a kid (memories). Lovin that dinner as well. Hope you had a great Monday🙂

~Justine

10 08 2009
JB

70 dollars in savings?! that’s crazy! and good luck at basketball tomorrow! hopefully your wrist is up for it! i’m sure you’ll probably be fine.🙂

-JB
http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

11 08 2009
Lexi

Great haul! The blueberry post workout snack looks incredible. Hope you enjoyed! Love always,
Lex

Leave a Reply

