A Thought-Provoking Question

4 08 2009

Hey girls! Hope everyone’s had a good Monday. I figured out today that I start school two weeks from Wednesday. Now is that scary or what?!

Here’s where the title comes in…

After finishing a delicious, protein-filled snack, my mother asked me a question. “Do you ever eat anything that’s just not good for you? I still worry about you.”

My first response was, of course, yes. I got mad, and honestly as I write this I am still a little irked. So, as I always do when something’s not right, I went outside and shot around. As I thought about it, you know, I really do. The thing is, she’s just never there to see it! No seriously, whenever I jump out of my normal eats it’s usually with friends, at a sleepover, or at a party. All of which she’s not there. At home I eat what I would consider very healthily. What kind of got on my nerves is that she said this after having been at camp and eaten mac and cheese, grilled cheese on white bread, pb and j’s on white bread, crappy pizza, skittles, and a slushy. But in all honesty, she didn’t know that I ate all that stuff. It’s not like I announce everything I eat and go over my meals for that day! I’m not gonna lie, I didn’t enjoy many of those foods, but I did enjoy the mac and cheese and skittles 😀 I think these two weeks have really thrown me out of a loop. I was THROWN out of my comfort zone, which in retrospect was possibly a good thing. I look back upon the couple weeks before camp and realized I hadn’t been eating practically anything out of my norm. Was I being restrictive?? NO. While in school and hanging out with friends, having parties, going out to sleepovers, I definitely ate more things like that. Not a lot by any means, but the occasional oreo-bon-bon (OMG SO GOOD!) while watching a sleepover type things. I think I’ve possibly starting thinking too much. Here are some realizations and thoughts I have come to:

Life is short, have the occasional piece of pie and enjoy it. Savor it.

Challenge yourself this week to say YES when that cookie is offered to you.

The top-most section of the food pyramid is there for a reason. It doesn’t say NEVER, nor does it say ALWAYS, it says occasionally.

You should never feel guilty or shameful over what you eat. Don’t let food rule your life. Food is necessary to live. Food is a part of life, but living life and having fun is more important.

When did this world decide that when you eat a dessert you are being “bad?” That’s truly ridiculous. Have your cake and EAT IT TOO!

There are no “good” or “bad” foods. Some foods may have more nutritional value than others, but they all offer something. (found this here after searching healthy eating quotes)

"Be not anxious for what you shall eat,or what you shall drink… or what you shall wear… Isn’t life more than food?… and the body more than clothing?" Luke 12:22;29 (found this here after searching healthy eating quotes)

"Man does not live by bread alone…" Matthew 4:4

(Man also needs his peanut butter on that bread, can I get an amen? 😀 )

Question of the Day: What’s your take on all this? Do you ever worry about being “too healthy?” Do you ever let yourself have and enjoy treats?

I strongly believe in the 90/10 principle. I exercise and eat healthily about 90% of the time. The other 10%? That’s for my grandma’s deeelicious apple pie. 😀

Oh and mom if you’re reading this, I love you! And I’m glad to have a mom who cares. My mom is amazing ❤

Okay, let’s get on with the eats! YUM!

Breakfast was a reunion of a fabulous breakfast. Stove-Top Oatmeal. Ooolala! Here’s what went into this bowl of yum:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 banana
  • lots of cinnamon
  • almond butter
  • peanut butter

I did something I typically do not do. I stirred together this whole bowl. Usually I eat around the nut butter for the maximum enjoyment at the end, but I decided to switch it up. I mixed it and with every bite there was that A/B butter flava. MMM! 100_6089

100_6090 100_6092 100_6093

100_6094  After breakfast, it was grocery shopping time with grandma (which made it extra special!) Here’s the interesting items we got:

  • 4 containers of blueberries (4/$5!!!)
  • 4 containers of strawberries (4/$%!!!)
  • organic Fuji Apples
  • sweet jazz apples
  • plums
  • organic spinach
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 avocado
  • 3 containers Oikos Greek Yogurt
  • Dried Prunes
  • Special Dark Cocoa (yesss!)
  • Skippy Natural Peanut Butter
  • Ben and Jerry’s Ice cream/ FROYO
  • Some sort of bread from the bakery (like flax and bran—it’s incredible!)

Naturally, we had to use the bread in today’s lunch. I have to take the credit because I came up with the idea of what to do with it. We topped each slice with hummus, tomato, and provolone/pepperjack (for my mom) cheese. Put it under the broiler for a minute or two and VOILA! Yummy! Had it with a sliced plum and some PB+Prunes. Twas delicious! 100_6097 100_6098 100_6099 100_6100 100_6109 My mom came home from Wal-Mart (I think it was Wal-Mart…) with an awesome new find! Look look look! 100_6101

100_6102

100_6103

100_6104

Isn’t that awesome?? It has a place for your lettuce, toppings, and condiments! Perfect! The perfect lunch to bring to school!

After getting some summer reading done, I was off to the gym. Here was my workout:

  • 10 minutes Biking
  • Leg Work:
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (50 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 3 sets of 10 (110 pounds)
    • Forget the Name (you lie down on your stomach, and bring your feet near your butt: 3 sets of 10 (40 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 8 sets of 12 (130/135 pounds)
    • Hip Abduction: 8 sets of 12 (130/135 pounds)
    • Calve: 3 sets of 15 (115 pounds)
    • Knee Strengthening Moves+Wall Squats from C&K Routine
  • Ab Work:
    • 100 crunches on super small workout ball (makes it lots more challenging—love it!!)
    • Side to Side motion with feet up in air and exercise ball (6 lbs.) 3 sets of 25,20, and 15
    • Plank with medicine ball (1 minute)
  • 10 minutes Elliptical
  • Foam Roller and Stretching

Was a wonderful workout! I miss doing arm work so badly though! Can’t wait until my wrist has 100% healed! Speaking of my wrist, thank you for all the sweet comments regarding it. 🙂 It’s feeling LOTS BETTER. So I’m most likely going to keep resting it. I am thinking I just sprained it.

Post Workout Snack was Vanilla Oikos with strawberries and blueberries. Yum! I also had an un-pictured sweet jazz apple! A good amount of protein, but like no fat/carbs!100_6111

100_6114

100_6115

I think some of you misunderstood what I meant by this no-sugar week. I’m not literally having no sugar, I’m just making an extra effort to eat healthier. Madison mentioned that for everyone it means something different. For me, it means eating a little bit cleaner and staying away from crack err…i mean frozen yogurt, sticking to fruits and veggies, etc. You get it 😉

Verse of the Day: Matthew 11:28

"Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

I don’t know about you, but that verse is so comforting to me!

Well ladies, I’ve got some more reading to do. But I’ll do that later 🙂

Hope everyone has a wonderful Tuesday!

❤ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

26 responses

4 08 2009
Lexi

This post was really meaningful to me. Because I have a hard time eating “fun foods” and your words really helped me and made me realize that it is OK to eat them. Thank you so much for the motivation and inspiration. You are a gem.

4 08 2009
Yasmin

Thanks for the wonderful quotes!

4 08 2009
jenngirl

Great post and thought-provoking question!! For me, eating foods that are less than “good” nutritionally speaking is still a big hurdle I’m working on. I do enjoy a bite of this and a bite of that occasionally, but I cannot say that I enjoy an entire cookie or piece of cake when offered, and I know this is wrong. I completely agree with you, life is TOO short to not enjoy ALL types of food, especially the tasty ones! Thanks for this reminder 🙂

Love the oatmeal mix-up, and that salad container is totally awesome! And that verse truly is so comforting.

4 08 2009
Jessica

I love your quotes throughout this post, and especially the verse at the end 🙂

And I also eat around the peanut butter and then swirl it into what it’s on top of at the end for maximum flavor hahaha, it’s the best way to eat it 😀

I completely hear you about being able to eat “junk” foods. I have a very, very hard time with this and have to consciously remind myself that its an occasional treat, and a good thing. Transitioning to a higher-raw diet will make it even harder, but enjoyment and treats are a part of life! They are that extra sparkle on top of the cake 🙂

Oh are you going to bring that stayfit salad container to school for lunches? It looks awesome!

4 08 2009
Christina

I definitely wouldn’t be able to keep up with my healthy eating if I didn’t allow myself to indulge once in a while. Everything in moderation is the way to go!

Great quotes too, I especially like the second one 🙂

4 08 2009
ohsoravenous

Sounds like you’ve found the perfect balance hun – proud of you! ❤

4 08 2009
kristi (sweet cheeks)

That is a very good question…I understand where you were coming from, too. Nobody ever SEES me eat the bad stuff, haha!

I have seen that salad thing before and wanted to get it!! I talked myself out of it though!

4 08 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

love this post! you are so right girl! we have to trust our bodies that when we take care of ourselves most of the time– everything evens out 🙂 thats what life is all about!! and i love the quotes!!

your ‘sammies’ look sooo yummy as well 🙂 xoxooxx

4 08 2009
JB

i never mix my nut butters into my oats because i’m afraid that i’ll lose the flavor! i love eating little globs. but maybe one day i should try mixing! and i agree with what you said about treats. life is too short to be a complete stickler. who wants to be 100 years old one day and look back saying “i wish i cut myself a little more slack back in the day, and enjoyed a cookie here and there.” live should be LIVED and ENOJYED! 🙂

http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

4 08 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi hun
i can totally relate to how you felt when your mum made that comment..whenever my dads not around it seems to be the time i step outside my normal eating habits and yet he never witnesses it. the point is you know that you do step outside your safety zone with food and thats what matters! youve come along way sweetie, and im so proud of you!
the eats look delish 🙂
xxxx

4 08 2009
Madison

Heyyyyhey!
You are doing so well on no-sweets week! I am glad you mentioned it means something different to everyone–I mean there is sugar in a lot of things and there is no way possible we can not have anyyyy sugar for a week–think of all the natural, yet healthy sugar in fruit?!? Fruit is gooood!
I feel your frustrations with the whole–“do you always eat just healthy food?” My parents were kind of on my case for a while–but then they had a right to be because that was at a point when I was very unhealthy. After time, and now that I am healthy, they have backed off and do not ask me about it anymore. I do eat “unhealthy” all the time–that is why I am trying to eat “extra healthy” this week. Your 90/10 rule is very smart and I completely agree with you! So, I say to you–keep it up because you are awesome and rocccck my world. 😉

4 08 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

I’m totally with you on that question… I believe that we should never restrict ourselves and should always eat what our body is telling us. It’s important to fuel our bodies with the healthiest possible foods, but that doesn’t mean a few treats now and then will do us any harm! Perfect explanation with the “90/10” rule! 🙂

I love your clever way to use that bread! YUM!

xxoo
Heather

4 08 2009
april

Great question! My parents used to bug me about stuff like that but now I just kinda ignore those comments.

That peanut butter oatmeal looks amazing!!

4 08 2009
Michelle

GREAT post Jess! I think you are quite the insightful lady, and your outlook on food seems very on target and a great, healthy approach! Good for you!

And it’s great that you have such a good relationship with your Mom and Grandma; I’m close with mine too! 🙂

4 08 2009
Maria

I totally agree with you, Jess! I eat healthy whenever I can—at home, packed lunches at school, when I go out to eat, etc. Because it makes me feel good and I enjoy it. However, if I cannot make a healthy choice, I just go for whatever is there and try not to fret over it. Another time I don’t go for a healthy choice is when there’s something I really want to eat like a small slice of birthday cake, or a homemade cookie. Life IS way too short to worry about these things! AWESOME post, girlie!!

The sammies with hummus, tomato, and cheese is just calling my name 🙂

4 08 2009
Michelle

Hey girl, I just saw your comment on my blog about the Vitas….they are tasty, but honestly..I probably won’t buy them again. At least not the muffin variety! I preferred the tasty Blue-Bran VitaTOPS…I highly recommend those! 🙂

4 08 2009
luckytastebuds

Hey hun,

Yeahh I know what you mean by feeling irked about the comment. I’ve gotten the comment before from my mom, and honestly it doesn’t make me half as mad as when a friend/stranger says it because you know they only mean the best for you. Don’t feel the need to justify that you’re “normal” (whatever that means) and that you do eat ‘unhealthy’ foods too! You know your body AND your taste buds the best! The definition of a “bad” food is changing EVERY single day, so I totally agree with what you say, eat what you think tastes good, and eat what’s good for you! Or…at least what you THINK is good for you. 😉 hehehe

Most of all, don’t let yourself get upset over a comment! It’s simply something probably without too much thought that was said. It’s just an observation, not necessarily accurate! So don’t harm your body and get worked up by it girlie!!! 🙂 Like you said, life is too short!!! Have a fabulous day!!

4 08 2009
Learning To Relove

love, i dont even know where to begin with this post! I just loved every last minute of it. I think its so great that you have come to such an important realization that its all about balance and trusting your body. I also think that the list of realizations you have come to are AMAZING and so true. There are no such things as “bad” and “good.” They only exist if we deem them that way, ya know?! I just think its great to be able to enjoy in the things you life while also knowing that eating healthy is just a part of who you are and brings a smile to your face. You have an awesome attitude about it all and are certainly living your life in a great way!

Uuu I LOVE LOVE LOVE peanut butter and prunes! Best combo ever

5 08 2009
brandi

mine is probably more like 80/20 in regards to food and i’m always still working on the working out. I love being active, but I try not to get obsessive about it or let myself feel bad for missing something because I’ve been in that crazy obsessive state before.

I like healthy foods, and I like knowing what I’m eating, but I will not turn down something deliciously chocolatey, a good cup of coffee, or my mom’s fudge pie or chicken casserole 🙂

5 08 2009
Kailey

I am the same way – I eat the crappy foods with friends/at parties because I don’t want it just lying around the house all day for me to eat everyday, you know? Enjoy it once in a while type thing.

great quotes & fabulous oats!

5 08 2009
sarahdbelle

I definitely try to eat healthy most of the time, but I also try to have a little fun on the weekends. I’ll eat a slice of pizza or maybe some frozen yogurt. But coincidentally, I always feel much better when I eat the good stuff rather than crappy foods- not just mentally, but physically as well. As we hear time and again, it really is all about moderation.
Sarah

5 08 2009
burpexcuzme

Jess…can we meet up? I could talk on and on about this topic, it is one thing that really nags at me the most, esp since I’ve been that path before and now I see a lot of people going down the same “eat healthy” obsession.

But first of all, let me commend you for going with the flow even when out of your comfort zone! That is the first evidence that you have recovered. And sorry your mom didn’t get to see it…URGH I know what you mean because sometimes my parents will say the same thing, like “Why are you always eating the same stuff” when they never even saw what I ate when they’re not around. So I totally understand your frustration.

And I also think that everyone SHOULD eat healthy…obviously. It’s good for you! But it should NOT be an obsession. Food is nourishment AND enjoyment, and not a control or bondage. Bringing your own food to parties? Packing your own stuff on a trip? that is just…so binding and oppressive. So yes, I do believe PART of healthy eating IS eating something that may not be “healthy” for you once in a while.

6 08 2009
Chocolate-Covered Katie

Life is short. Eat dessert first 😉

6 08 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

Hey girl, glad that you’re still indulging in the good stuff when you can!!! It’s important to feel good about what we eat, but as always….we deserve some treats every now and then! Whether it be some chocolate every day or a slice of cake every week or so!! People drink, laugh, eat and enjoy themselves…and many are balancing their lives just fine!! It’s just up to us, to figure out OUR balance.

Just let your mom know that you do give into the treats, just not always at home! She’s just worried, but I know that you’re doing great!

6 08 2009
Tasty Health Food

This is a great post that I can really relate too. My mom pretty much asked me the same thing this morning, and I told her I honestly like eating healthy food. It’s a part of who I am, and my taste buds actually crave the good stuff! I would much sooner choose an apple over a slice of apple pie by choice, all nutritional info aside. So, yeah, maybe I’m weird like that. 😀

6 08 2009
Nell

My mom sometimes does the same thing to me. But I’ve explained that eating more cleanly has made me lose my taste for a lot of junk foods. They just don’t sound appealing to me. Enriched flour and artificial sweeteners taste bland and icky most of the time. I definitely still do splurge on the things I really love every once in a while. Like frozen custard and ice cream – still love them, but I don’t settle, I wait for the good quality stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

