New Favorite Grocery Store and It’s ABoUt Time

26 07 2009

Happy Saturday girlies! Hope everyone’s had a fabulous day. Mine has been wonderful for sure! Without further to do, let’s get started!

Today started out glorious-ly. After a walk with the dog, I made this delicious bowl of happiness. Gotta love that AB and PB together-ness.

100_5857

100_5860

100_5861

I also had a small golden delicious apple. Twas delicious for sure!

After breakfast digested and all, it was gym time! Here’s my workout:

  • 15 minutes of stationary biking
  • Leg Work:
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 8 (30 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 8 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Hip Abduction: 8 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Calves: 3 sets of 15 (95 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 3 sets of 10 (75 pounds)
  • Arm Work:
    • Row: 3 sets of 8 (50 pounds)
    • Seated Row: 3 sets of 8 (40 pounds)
    • Assisted Pull-down (?): 3 sets of 8 (55 pounds)
    • Bicep Curl: 3 set of 8 (25 pounds)
    • Tricep Extension: 3 sets of 8 (30 pounds) 
  • Ab Work:
    • 2 sets of 10- side plank “dips”
    • 100 crunches
    • Torso Rotation: 3 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
  • More Strength
    • Did the leg parts of the C&K Strength Training (knee strengthening moves+wall squats)
  • Stretching and Foam Roller

After working out, I hit up the grocery store next to the gym (different shopping center, right next door) for a few necessary items. Kroger is officially my new favorite grocery store EVER. For both the food and the prices! Like everything is lower priced than it is at Lowes/ Harris Teeter. They have an “all natural/organic” section that is seriously a bloggers paradise. It was hard to not spend all day in it. But I found a few new things. (THEY HAD NEWMAN’S OWN PRODUCTS TOO!) But sadly I didn’t get any. Next time 😀 100_5863

100_5864 100_5866 FINALLY I FOUND IT. Almond milk. Yesss! Hello ABU/PBU! (Do you get the title?)

100_5868

100_5869

100_5867

That’s not all that was bought. I also got some peaches, organic granny smiths, sweet potatoes, and bananas.

Lunch featured a new wrap combo! Here’s what went inside: sweet potato (cinnamon and garlic powder for seasoning), mashed avocado, and hummus. Oh my word! SO GOOD. I saw something like this on Emily’s blog and was so glad I tried it!

I also had a plain oikos with trail mix and some random nuts. In all honesty, I could not handle the tangy-ness of this. I much prefer the flavored ones! I couldn’t even finish the yogurt. I had an organic apple with all natural and organic peanut butter as well. 100_5871

100_5874

100_5873

100_5876

100_5881

100_5883

Snack today was going to be some PBU. But I realized the kind of peanut butter I used it super, super creamy and running. So I’m guessing that’s why my PBU turned into a watery mess. Any tips for me? I have plenty of almond butter I can use.

Snacks ended up being pretzels with hummus and salsa. Along with 1/2 a banana filled with organic peanut butter.

In giveaway news,

The Happy Runner is having a great MojoMix giveaway! Check it out here

Mom on the Run is giving away some Zevia! Check it out here

Verse of the Day (according to this website) Matthew 16:23

Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

23 responses

26 07 2009
ohsoravenous

Yummy finds! I love almond milk 🙂

26 07 2009
April (Foods of April)

Great finds! Love all that peanut butter.. and sweet potatoes!

http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

26 07 2009
peanutbutterandjenny

you are so clever with that title girl 😉 oh a new PB.. i’ve never hard of that brand before! let me know how you like it :)!

26 07 2009
Em

Ah! Kroger is my place! I am even friends with the little produce boy now, and sometimes I see him out on the weekends! haha.

Hope your weekend was fabulous girl! Love ya <333

26 07 2009
Madison

Kroger? That is so cool–I remember when I was younger, my family used to always shop at Kroger. There is not one near me now though–but I do have an Earthfare (which is further than Harris Teeter but so worth it). I love going to grocery stores! So much fun when you are hungry too because you get excited over the smallest things. haha 😉

26 07 2009
Lexi

Great eats! I love Kroger too…

26 07 2009
Kailey

love all of that nut buttery goodness you’ve got going on!
Im so happy to see another blog reader picking up the key lime larabar flavor!

26 07 2009
insideiamdancing

YAY! Cool finds! 😀

I have to admit.. I find all the unflavoured Greek yogurts too tangy. I don’t mention it on my blog but I add a lot of sweetener *shhh* 😉

26 07 2009
Jessica

I love Kroger 🙂 I haven’t checked for Oikos there, but I really should. It’s like $2.50 a pop at the other grocery store I go to! As for the plain ones, I usually load them up with 1tsp cinnamon and several cracks of black pepper. I love em like that 🙂

Your sweet potato wrap sounds delish! 🙂

27 07 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Sounds like you found heaven in a grocery store! 😉 What a great load! And totally loving your apple with peanut butter. YUM!

xxoo
Heather

27 07 2009
burpexcuzme

Kroger! That’s the grocery store around Blacksburg, Virginia!

27 07 2009
Maria

Awesome finds! Oh my goodness, that wrap combo does sound amazing! I mean sweet potato, avocado, AND hummus??? Pretty colors too 😀

27 07 2009
lora

all i have to say is that bowl is friggin cute and that AB/PB on top is spectacular!

xoxo
lo

27 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

Hi lovie! Glad youre back in business! 🙂 OMG Ive never even heard of Kroger but it sounds simply amazing! I’m definitely jealous! Oh and almond milk is delicious! I just had it for the first time and really love the smoothness of it!

27 07 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

hey girl!! aww i love grocery shoppin too hehe 🙂 sorry about the oikos– i always add truvia to my greek yogurt and i love it!

LOVE almond milk! YUMMY! 🙂 xoxox

27 07 2009
Julia

I’ve never been to a Kroger but have heard such good things about them, sadly there aren’t any near me in Cali…darn!
That wrap looked delicious!

27 07 2009
Christina

I love almond breeze – It’s all my family buys! And I don’t remember if I told you this already, but I love your oatmeal bowl!

28 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

great finds!
all of the eats look delicious 🙂 now im craving a good old granny smith apple!
enjoy the rest of your weekend girlie,
xxxx

28 07 2009
Lisa

I’m back! 🙂 With a new blog post if you want to check it out.

Your eats look great! I love mixing (at least) 2 kinds of nut butters! 🙂

The wrap sounds amazing! And I love your daily verse.

And P.S. about your previous blog post–that camp seems so cool! I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

28 07 2009
Nell

Wow, I’m really shocked that Kroger is your new favorite store! Where I am, Kroger has less of a selection than my go-to store (H.E.B., only in TX I think but huge here) and there are prices are WICKED expensive. I’m talking $7 for a box of Puffins. All the bars are more money. All the frozen meals are jacked up in price. So I only go there if I really need something because it’s a couple minutes away, as opposed to 10-15 minutes for HEB .

28 07 2009
Meredith

Cute bowl! I drink almond breeze also 🙂

29 07 2009
Emily

Kroger does have some great food finds..their homemade “in-store” tortillas are pretty much crack and they have lots of markdown prepared produce. However, (at least around here) they have the most expensive organic/health food stuff! H.E.B. is my favorite! Oh and Almond Breeze rockkkks!

1 08 2009
Michal Mymo

Woah it looks like you totally scored at the store! I love that bowl by the way it is the cutest 🙂

Leave a Reply

