Not Feeling So Hot

19 07 2009

Hey ladies! Hope everyone has had a wonderful weekend!

If any of y’all were wondering where I went yesterday, I went to a camp that I’m working at this summer for two weeks. Day Camp though, and it’s 8-5 for me. I get to work with little kids. 6 years old I think and I’m very excited. I know I’m going to love it! As I said I’m volunteering one week and working the other ($$$). I’ll get over 40 hours of volunteer service I think. Yesss!

I’m not feeling so hot, as my title says. I’m not sick. I just kinda feel like… crap! We’re running SUPER low on foods so I’m sure that has something to do with it. It’s amazing how healthy foods make you feel so good! I haven’t been eating “badly” (hate using food labels) just not my normal fare. I miss it! I will be eating only one meal at camp and will bring my own snacks. 10 meals total will not kill me and what they serve isn’t horrible! Like for instance yesterday I had a hot dog with ketchup (of course) with some baked beans, watermelon, and carrots. With water to drink. I mean that’s not bad as camp fare goes! We’ve been eating out a lot more than usual which I guess is fun every once in a while, but for me, I miss my sweet potatoes 😯 Hahaha…

Oh well, I’ll get through it! I still plan on going to the gym this week and want to do some cardio, yoga, and strength. Sounds great to me! Sadly, no basketball practice this week because of the camp.

*I am not saying indulging or getting something out of the ordinary is bad at all. I love me some good ice cream every once in a while, trust me 😀 I am not changing anything just getting back to my roots. More water, fruits and veggies, etc etc! Mostly more balance 🙂 *

I went to yoga today and it was fantastic, as always. I did some elliptical before which I haven’t done in a while. I don’t usually do that anymore but I just needed to sweat. 15 minutes did the trick! Yoga incorporated lots of cat and cows, camel, and warrior series. I am definitely feeling this class right now! Woo! Twas wonderful!

*I can’t believe I’m gonna say this: but I’m ready for school to start. I miss my healthy routine! And I can’t wait to wear all the clothes I got either 😉 *

Here are some eats from the last day or so. 100_5727

100_5728

100_5729

100_5730

100_5731

Today’s breakfast was Kashi Warm Cinnamon with skim milk and strawberries. And I of course had some peanut butter as well (un-pictured, sorry!) 100_5734

100_5735  Lunch was also yummy! I made myself a delicious crack wrap with tomato. On the side I had a few pretzels and cherries. Loveee cherries! I’m going to try cherry oat bran sometime soon… 100_5737

100_5738

100_5739

100_5740

100_5741

100_5742 Post-Workout Yoga Snack was the remainder of my peanut butter jar. Only had like a tablespoon. I also threw a few dark chocolate chips in there. Water accompanied it of course 🙂 100_5744

100_5745

100_5748

Verse of the Day: Colossians 2:6-7

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

In giveaway news…

In celebration of 1 year of blogging, Say What You Need to Say is having a great giveaway with all sorts of goodies! Check it out here

Well, I’ve gotta run. Dinner at the g-parents house today. We all know, if you’ve been reading for a while, that dinner at their house is always fun. My grandma always makes me something that I love. After eating we’re going to see the land my parents are interested in. Exciting!

Happy Sunday all!

❤ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

23 responses

19 07 2009
insideiamdancing

I think everyone has periods when their regular schedule of eating/exercise gets a little thrown- life gets in the way sometimes and although it can feel not-so-great, it’s not the end of the world. It’s awesome that you are looking forward to getting back to your normal routine 🙂

I haven’t had cherries this year yet- I wanted to get some but they were SO expensive! (Like $12 a bag!)

have fun with your grandparents 🙂

19 07 2009
JB

oh my god those oats look delicious. and i hope you stop feeling like crap soon! i’m ready for school to start too. 🙂

-JB
http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

19 07 2009
Jenny

aw I’m so sorry your not feeling 100% girlie. I definitely understand being slightly stressed when situations arise and we can’t eat according to our own healthy food — but i think dealing these circumstances is a part of LIFE and i’m really proud of you for learning to adapt! you’ll be back on your regular schedule in no time — but for now, enjoy what the camp has to offer.. i love me some baked beans :)!

love ya girl! xo
Jenny

19 07 2009
Meg

Hey Jess! Hope you feel better soon 🙂 I know what you mean about “bad” (or so called bad) food, it’s just a lot more comforting knowing you’re nourishing your body, you know? But hey, sometimes things come up and we can’t always have the healthiest meals, but you took it like a champ. Hell yeah! But I know you can’t wait to bake up some sweet p fries 😉 girl I’m totally with ya on that.

Enjoy your evening! Love the peanut butter madness, and that Kashi cereal sounds amazing (as ANY Kashi cereal :P) It’s brand new right?! Gotta find it 😉

Love ya!
Meg

19 07 2009
Maria

I know what you mean by you missing your healthy routine! Sometimes I get thrown off of mine too, i.e. when I travel. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does I get a bit anxious. I’m going to a retreat this weekend too, which means pretty unpredictable food. I’m hoping I will suck it up though >.< and be strong like you 🙂

Sounds like you will have lots of fun tonight 😀

20 07 2009
Emily

You just made me remember how much I LOVE Kashi’s New Cinnamon H2H and they better have it in stock when I go grocery shopping tomorrow! haha And I agree about healthy foods making you feel better! I don’t feel so hot at the moment either! Too much birthday fun?! lol But that just means that I need to make tomorrow’s grocery trip count! 😉

Look at all of that lucious PB! MMMMM!

20 07 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

hi love!!

hope you are feelin better n back to yo’ fabulous self soon! foods definitely have an effect on my ‘mood’ and ‘feelings’ as well! the camp sounds great– that is so awesome you are doing volunteer work!! you are amazing!
oxoxox

20 07 2009
Natalia

hey i’m sorry you’re not having too great of a weekend but i’m sure you’ll find yourself better soonxx i know exactly what you mean about wanting to get back to school in a healthy routine but i guess i’m just looking at all my ‘crap’ days as challenges and preparations for the weekends and unplanned days to come. hope dinner was fun girlie and have fun tomorrow!

20 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

hi lovie! I’m so sorry you arent feeling 100%…that’s just not fun. I know what ya mean when you get out of your usual routine and things just start to affect you a little differently. I mean by no means is what you had “bad” in anyway but it’s just not something you eat on a regular basis so it’s normal for those things to happen. But you’ve been dealing with it wonderfully plus you have the fun of camp to take away from it! Have fun with the grandparents tonight! 🙂 I’m sure din din will be delicious!

20 07 2009
burpexcuzme

Oh poor Jess! I hope you feel much better soon! And yeah, I know what you mean about eating healthy makes you feel good inside out! And lol, I can’t wait for school to start!

20 07 2009
Tina

Your oats look so great!!

20 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

hi hun,

aw im sorry your not feeling the best 😦 i hope you perk back up soon 🙂

That oatmeal looks so yummy! making me crave some oats haha 🙂

have a nice night girlie,
xxxx

20 07 2009
Michal Mymo

Your eats are all looking really yummy, i myself have been riding the oatmeal train the past couple weeks haha! I love the verse that you posted today aswell, it is very true at the moment in my life. I hope you feel better soon 🙂

Michal

20 07 2009
Nell

I love how flexible you are with your food and that you acknowledge it’s okay to go with the flow and eat a little differently sometimes. Definitely inspiration!

Loveee that bowl oats with the huge globs of PB 🙂

The camp sounds reallyyyy fun – I love volunteering to do camps with the kiddies.

Hope you feel better! We all have those days.

20 07 2009
april

Your oats always make me so hungry!!

20 07 2009
Christina

I totally understand how you kind of wanna go back to school. I love having a set schedule too, it’s so much easier to eat healthier that way! Camp sounds fun though, enjoy it!

20 07 2009
Kailey

holy moly that bowl of oats looks so delicious and creamy!!
I miss my school schedule too :\ I have way too much free time right now and it sucks!

21 07 2009
Jessica

Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling the best.
Cereal with peanut butter is my new fav! I love it haha.

And I must have missed something, but what on earth is a crack wrap? I’m sure it’s called that because it’s delicious but that doesn’t enlighten me on whats in it lol.

Hope you feel better soon 🙂

22 07 2009
burpexcuzme

Hey girlie, just checking up on you…hope you’re feeling better! *HUG*

22 07 2009
justine

What do you usually like to order when you are out to eat? Dang girl!! I am loving those globs of pb on those oats!! Cherry oats are yummy. You are killing me with those cc and pb. That is fo sho my weakness. I could sit around all day eating organic cc and pb. mmmmmmmm……….

~Justine

P.S. Hope you get to feeling better and back on track soon 🙂

22 07 2009
Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian)

i used to work at a day camp too, and it is NOT easy with all that cookout food around, seriously! i think somehow i managed to gain weight working with kids, walking around and playing games all day. just make sure to bring lots of snackies from home – that’s what i eventually did 🙂

happy humpday and feel better!

22 07 2009
jenngirl

Glad you had a pretty good weekend! Whenever I don’t eat my usual plethora of fruits, veggies, and whole grains, I tend to feel really “blah” too…it’s nice to have a tummy full of healthy foods!

Genius way to finish off that PB jar 😉

22 07 2009
sarahdbelle

Hope you start to feel better soon! I always miss my healthy routine if things get thrown off, too.
Take care!
Sarah

Leave a Reply

