Happy

16 07 2009

I couldn’t think of anything else to name this post. Haha! I’m just really happy! It’s been a really good day and I’m overflowing with positivity.😀 Life is GOOD!

Woke up and had a few almonds with an apple—was running late. Whoopsie! Basketball was wonderful. It wasn’t a very strenuous practice, we just learned a lot and worked at a slower pace. If that makes sense😛

Got home, took dog for a walk, and immediately set to work on breakfast. I’ve been trying to eat as soon as possible after a workout, and this breakfast did not disappoint in my expectations. This mix it up bowl had the following:

  • 1 container of Strawberry Chobani
  • Kashi Warm Cinnamon Cereal
  • A handful or so of Organic Honey Toasted Oats
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 4 strawberries, sliced
  • Blueberries

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. 100_5655

100_5656

100_5657 100_5658 100_5661 

Lunch was super yummy as well! My mom, grandma, and I got lunch from a little cafe. (I’d tell you where, but it would totally give away where I live) I ordered grilled salmon on top of a salad with pear, blue cheese, walnuts, and figs. With a raspberry vinaigrette. Mmm! 100_5662 100_5663  After relaxing, I was itching to do some strength training! I went to the gym and did just that. Had one of the best workouts I’ve had in a while. I LOVE strength training. I’ve greatly improved my strength as well (for example, on assisted pull-downs (?) I’ve gone from 40 pounds to 55!) Here’s my workout if I can remember everything!

  • 6 minutes of biking to warm up
  • Leg Work:
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 8 (30 pounds)
    • Hip Adductor: 12 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Hip Abduction: 12 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Calves: 3 sets of 15 (95 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 3 sets of 10 (70 pounds)
  • Arm Work
    • Row: 3 sets of 8 (50 pounds)
    • Seated Row: 3 sets of 8 (40 pounds)
    • Chest Press: 3 sets of 10 (30 pounds)
    • Lateral Raise: 3 sets of 8 (15 pounds)
    • Assisted Pull-down (?): 3 sets of 8 (55 pounds)
    • Bicep Curl: 3 set of 8 (25 pounds)
    • Tricep Extension: 3 sets of 8 (25 pounds) 
  • Ab Work:
    • Torso Rotation: 5 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
    • Another “machine” that I don’t know the name of!
  • C&K Strength Training Routine
  • Stretching and Foam Rolling

I came home and refueled with a glass of milk for protein, some cherries, and the perfect mango! 100_5664

100_5666

 

100_5667  100_5669

Dinner was equally delicious. I took a sweet potato, topped it with my typical seasonings. One half was almond butter (MMM) and the other was hummus. Oh so delicious! I also had some POM WONDERFUL and dark chocolate. 100_5670

100_5671

100_5672

100_5676 With a pink straw!🙂 100_5677

100_5678

I’ve gotta go girls! But first…

Verse of the Day: I think I’ve done this one before, and if so, it’s so great I’ll do it again😀 Philippians 4:13

I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Also, wish Heather luck! She has surgery tomorrow (Thursday)! Make sure to keep her in your thoughts and prayers!

She’s also having an awesome giveaway! Check it out here

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

19 responses

16 07 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

I’m amazed at all these delicious eats Jess. Seriously, everything looks so good! Loving that mixture, and that salmon sounds great. Definitely some good protein there!

Thanks so much for the shout outs. You know how much I appreciate it!🙂

xxoo
Heather

16 07 2009
Maria

I love your optimism, Jess!! Always so cheerful and happy. Love those smileys that you have😀

You do have some fantastic eats there yogurt mess, figs & salmon together?!, and a sweet potato! Yummy! Hummus on one side and AB on the other is brilliant. I never had hummus + sweet potato before. Sounds like a delish combo!

Hope you enjoy your evening!!

16 07 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

amazing eats! so glad you had a good day and are in great spirits🙂 everything really looks super yummy– especially the fruit🙂 !!

xoxox j

16 07 2009
burpexcuzme

Oh I’m so happy to read your post! You’re such a positive bubble of happiness today! YAY!

16 07 2009
JB

mmmm, LOVE mangoes and cherries. i just had some super wonderful organic cherries in my oatmeal this morning! they’re so beautiful right now. and your yam looks DIVINE, of course. goodnight!

-JB
http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

16 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

awww sweets! I am SO happy to hear that you have been having such a happy-filled day! those are the best and they are for people like YOU!

OMG all of the eats look so nomlicious, esp that breakfast bowl! Mmm! Oh and Im so happy you had fun with the grams and mommy!🙂

xoxo

16 07 2009
insideiamdancing

LOVE the verse today!😀 So fitting…

Glad you had such a great day- loving your food today…,greek yogurt, cherries, hummus, sweet potatos, almond butter. Good call!

16 07 2009
Madison

You are my sunshiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine! Thank you for your positivity and beautiful zeal for God–it is contagious, darling!

: )

16 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi hun,
i LOVE your happiness and positivity🙂 reading that post made me smile!!
all of the eats look delicious! especially breakfast! cereal and yogurt messes are the best!
have a great night,
xxxx

16 07 2009
Christina

Great eats today. I LOVE almond butter on sweet potatoes. It just goes so good together!

16 07 2009
Katrina (gluten free gidget)

I just bought some sweet potatoes! I’ve been having a serious craving for one stuffed with roasted veggies.

16 07 2009
april

Great workout! I wish my gym had a torso rotation machine…

16 07 2009
ksgoodeats

I’m glad you had such a great day! Those are always nice😉

Raspberry vinaigrettes are the best! I need to get over the humidity and just cook up some cheetahs – I’ve been separated from my love for too long!

16 07 2009
Kailey

sweet potato and peanut butter!!! YUMMMM

16 07 2009
Julia

That salad looks fabulous! I love finding local restaurants with delish salads and sandwiches! I’m glad you’re happy!

16 07 2009
Jenny

“life is good” AMEN GIRL!! glad to hear you’re feeling so great.. your happiness is contagious :)!

17 07 2009
sarahdbelle

I’m so glad that you had a great day! Hope you have an even better Friday!
Sarah

17 07 2009
Kiki

Glad you’re having such a happy day :]

Love the eats! The chobani-Kashi combo looks divine. As does that sweet potato, mmm. Happy Friday, much love!

17 07 2009
Emily

Wow! I love all of those eats! Esp. the warm cinn. oat H2H!😀 Oh and your cafe lunch looks divine!

Leave a Reply

