Live For Today

14 07 2009

As a freshman in high-school, I often struggle with living for today. “Things will be all better when I can drive. All I have to do is get through four years, then it’s smooth sailing.” I also struggle with jealousy. I get jealous of the girl who just  got her license, the college graduate who got into a great college, etc etc.” I could go on and on. That’s one of my goals for myself. I need to live for today. I will never get to relive these years of my life. And I certainly don’t want to look back and think I could have enjoyed it more. I’m just going to take each day as it is.

I’ve heard numerous times that high school flies by, and I want to love each day. I’m the type of person who is VERY future focused. I’m always worried/thinking about the future. While this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it can be a curse.

WOW, too many deep thoughts for a Monday 😉

Basic Message: Life’s too short—Live for Today!!

Enough chit chat, let’s talk giveaways!

An Apple A Day is having another amazing giveaway. Check it out here

Angela is hosting an amazing grass giveaway! Check it out here

The eats today were OH SO YUMMY.

Basketball went wonderfully today, and pre-workout snack was almonds and a glass of milk. Post workout was where the real magic happened. I had a huge MIX IT UP BOWL. These seem to be going through the blog world like crazy. And they should be! Here’s what went into my bowl:

  • 1 container of Chobani Blueberry Greek Yogurt 
  • Blueberry Pomegranate Total Cereal
  • Warm Cinnamon Kashi Cereal
  • Blueberries
  • 1/2 a Banana
  • Cinnamon  

Beautiful AND Delicious. Yum! Got the protein I needed to refuel as well. 100_5577 100_5582

100_5584

100_5588

The time between breakfast and lunch was spent cleaning, doing C&K’s 10 minute strength training, and tending to my guinea pig.

As I was playing with her today, feeding her apples and sugar snap peas (sadly, she wasn’t a huge fan) I noticed how little she’s getting. But upon thought, SHE’S not getting smaller, she’s loosing her hair! Other than that she’s perfectly fine. I am one worried mama! I did some web searches and found that it could be do just to the fact that’s she’s getting older. It said it’s a common sign of growing old age. Even if that’s the case, I’m giving her some special TLC to make sure she’s as healthy as possible. We went to the store and I got her some healthy produce: an oranges (vitamin C), KALE, and a carrot. I also fed them some cherries, which they LOVED. They aren’t loving the oranges but I’m sure they’ll grow accustomed to them. They adored the cherries and pretty much all the kale was gone! Yay healthy guineas 🙂

Lunch was delicious as well! I had a sweet potato with cinnamon, garlic powder, and seasoning salt. Topped with almond butter (duuhhh)! On the side I had brown rice leftover from a Pei Wei dinner the night before and added some broccoli and avocado (SO GOOD!) My lunch “dessert” was some dark chocolate! 100_5595

100_5597

100_5599

100_5601

100_5602

Here are some snacks that I’ve been enjoying! Yum! 100_5607

100_5608

100_5609

100_5611

100_5612

Oh yes, that is FROYOOOO!

Verse of the Day: Probers 3: 5-6

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Very fitting!

Have a glorious night everyone!

And don’t forget to keep Heather in your prayers! She has foot surgery in two days 🙂

❤ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

17 responses

14 07 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Thank you SO much for that beautiful shout-out Jess! You have no idea how much it means to me to have such wonderful friends like you in my life. I couldn’t be doing this without you! 🙂

OMG, I HAVE to make a comment on that bowl. It is so darn adorable. I would seriously be obsessed with that thing if I had it! 😉

Hope everything goes well with your guinea pig. Being the proud mommy of a bunny myself, I know how much those cuties mean to us. I know Luna (my bunny) sheds a LOT when it gets hot out. You might want to consider that as well. Make sure she’s staying hydrated and being kept cool. I actually have to put a frozen bottle of water in Luna’s cage during the hottest days in the summer so she has something cool to rest against. Good luck!

xxoo
Heather

14 07 2009
Maria

Ah, yes that verse is sooo true for me too. I am such a future gal myself and do not live for today. I think way too far ahead!

You are so wise for your age, Jess. When I was in high school, all I wanted to do was get out. So I did. By junior year I was only taking one class and in senior year I didn’t even go on campus except to graduate (was taking college courses off campus). I have to say that I’m sad that I missed out on the high school experience and I lost touch with many of my friends. But at least I know now that I should value each and everyday. I know this, but it’s often hard to live like this! Thanks for the reminder dear 🙂

By the way, I’ve been dying to try those mix it up bowls too. Mmm yours looks particularly delish!

14 07 2009
Lauryn

SO many delicious eats, first of all! love that sweet potato concoction you got going on!

i know that living in the moment is SO hard, and i think im just finally starting to learn how — and im 22! good for you for recognizing the importance of it now, and trying your best to consciously choose to do so — you’ll get it, i have no doubt!

hope you have a lovely night jess! xoxo

14 07 2009
Christina

Omg, I love that mix it up bowl – It is too cute!!!

14 07 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

LOVE the whole ‘live for today’ concept– so powerful!

GREAT eats– sooo yummy looking!

hope everything works out with your guniea pig! they are soo cute! im sure he will be fine!

i think its really great you have such a good ‘relationship’ with your faith– love reading your little excerpts at the bottom!

have a great day xoxo

14 07 2009
insideiamdancing

I have that verse above my bed!

LOVE what you said about living for today…so true. Comparing ourselves to others or losing ourselves in what we want rather than embracing what we HAVE just brings us down.

I am so in love with yogurt messes right now. So many possibilities and variations 😀

Have a great Tuesday!

14 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

I’m SO proud of you for just remembering that today is for living it! Sometimes we take the days for granted and forget that if we dont really soak those 24 hours up that it will be lost in the past forever. If we just stop to enjoy today and what is has to offer US and no one else, I think we can find such great contentment.

Oh hey for a yogurt mess…im a little into them right now if you hadn’t been able to tell!

Oh and I really hope your little guy is okay! He’s prematurely balding but I have faith he’ll be oaky 😉

14 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi hun,

i LOVE what you wrote at the start of the post ! i really agree with you about it all…i too need to live in the now and not waste my days wishing/worrying/thinking about the future! We need to embrace the present and enjoy the now 🙂

the eats look delicious! especially the fro-yo 🙂

have a nice night girlie
xxxx

14 07 2009
Madison

That sweet potato looks so good. I usually just put cinnamon and sugar with Smart Balance butter on mine…but I like the looks of the almond butter that you top yours with! YUM!

Now I want sweet potato casserole…with marshmallows. haha

Great verse of the day! He makes our paths straights–YES MAAM. Sometimes we might think they are crooked, but it is His plan for us and He is sovereign over all.

14 07 2009
april

That bowl is too cute!! Where did you get it?

You are so insightful for only being a freshman! I just graduated and let me tell you it is true that highschool flies by.. I’m kind of scared for college actually!

Delicious eats as usual 🙂

14 07 2009
emilydh211

I think that what you said about living for today is so true. I can def. relate to your feelings that you talked about such as “after I get through this I’m good” type thing. But it is sooo important to just live for today and enjoy every moment of it. Times goes by too fast to dream about tomorrow!

Glad your guineas are getting healthy again. Keep up the TLC momma!

14 07 2009
justine

Honey, you are seriously such a smart girl. I wish my head would have been screwed on like yours when I was that age. I never thought about my future!!How awful does that sound?? haha But its so true. Be thankful that you have your head on straight and enjoy your life as it is now!!! Everything else will fall into place 🙂

~Justine

14 07 2009
Nell

I struggle with living for today as well. I’m very concerned with “time.” I put that in quotes because I feel like time is this ominous, overbearing presence. There are so many things I choose not to do because I don’t feel like I’ll have “time” for them. For so long, I’ve felt like a slave to the hands on the clock. But I’m getting over it now, and life is so much better. If I wanna do a 30 minute run now, then I’ll do it! I won’t worry about how long it’ll take to shower and if it’ll throw off my eating schedule. But yeah, living for the present is def the way to go.

As far as jealousy goes, I’ve spent so long trying to meet the incredibly high standards I’ve set for myself that I haven’t stopped much to compare myself to others. This can be good and bad, I guess. I’m hoping I can get rid of the self criticism without replacing it with jealousy of others. Definitely possible with prayer and faith 🙂

14 07 2009
peanutbutterandjenny

i couldn’t have said it better myself! all throughout high school i constantly said “i can’t wait to be on my own and go to college” .. well, here i am — a college student.. and all i can think is . “i wish i were still in high school!” cherish this special time in your life, Jess! you will never get it back!!

lots of love to you, precious!

14 07 2009
sarahdbelle

Sorry to hear about your guinea pigs! Hopefully some extra vitamins will help ; )
I totally agree with you about living for today. It’s so important to do the things you love, every, single day. And to realize how awesome your life is.
Take care!

14 07 2009
ksgoodeats

I hope your fur babies are a-okay!! I’d freak out if I was in your situation, I’m a horrible worry-wort 😉

Your lunch looks delicious! I really need to try Pei Wei one of these days!

15 07 2009
Julia

I’m a big planner…like planning for 10 years down the road. So living in the moment is very difficult for me as well! I wish I could have enjoyed high school, try your best!
That sweet potato looks delish!

Leave a Reply

