Adventures in Baking Part 2 and Exciting News!

11 07 2009

Happy Saturday loves! Hope everyone’s weekend is going splendidly.

SCARY: There was a HUGE boom outside a few minutes ago. SO WEIRD?! Power didn’t go off though so yayy!

This morning I decided to flex my weak baking muscles! I made Triple Chocolate Cookies from Ellie’ Krieger’s The Food You Crave (HIGHLY suggested btw). Please excuse the odd two pictures where my camera decided to leave the upper left corner white and blurry. 100_5539

100_5540

100_5517

100_5518

Yum yum! So easy to make and they turned out divine. For my chocoalte I used mostly dark, but also some milk, butterscotch, and white chocolate/milk chocolate swirled chips. Umm, hello, yum?! I chose almonds for healthy fat as well! u100_5520 You spin my… No, ladies, we’re not going there.🙂 100_5525

100_5526

100_5529

100_5530

100_5531

100_5533

100_5537

100_5538

100_5542

100_5544

Trust me, they are delicious!

Breakfast this morning was a classic-blogger-favorite. Oats in a jar😀 100_5512

100_5514

100_5515

100_5516

Lunch was some leftover gazpacho topped with avocado slices, and some sweet potato casserole topped with all natural almond butter. I know y’all are probably getting tired of seeing it. Guess you’re just gonna have to deal! Hehe!100_5545 100_5547

100_5548

100_5550

After lunch I was off to the gym. While there I biked over 14 miles!😀 13.25 in 41 minutes to be exact. Not too shabby! Felt incredible. Afterwards I did the usual stretching and foam-a-rolling.

I just finished an apple and some dried pineapple. I’m going to go get a glass of milk in a short bit for some protein! 100_5551

100_5552

100_5553  Please excuse the cut on my lower leg in this next photo.😳

100_5554

100_5555

Now for the exciting news: My parents are HIGHLY considering moving out to “the country.” Okay, so it’s totally not the country. It’s like 15 minutes away from where we live right now and we’d probably purchase like 5 acres I think.  (They want ten, haha $$$) They want to custom build a house and have vegetable/fruit gardens, chicken (for our own eggs), and a “greener lifestyle.” (i.e. solar panels) I think I would really like this! My only concern is the gym. Hopefully I will be working there by then (want to work in there childcare area) so I won’t have to pay for services I don’t think. My dad said we’ll make our own gym in our house with a tredmill, elliptical, bike, and a bowflex type machines. I just want hardwoods so I can do yoga and pilates🙂 Either way, I’ll be happy. I would make my gym look so cool lol. Anyways… just letting y’all know what’s going on lately in my home. I hope this plan does follow through. If not, I love where we live now though so… Who knows🙂 (And just to let you know, we wouldn’t move until next summer at the earliest…)

In giveaway news,

Whits Getting Fit is having a great giveaway! Check it out here

Fearless, Fabulous, Full of Life is as well. It’s a housewarming one since she switched to wordpress. Woohoo! Check it out here

The Healthy Everythingtarian is having a great Banana Nut Cheerios giveaway. Check it out here

An Apple a Day has yet another wonderful giveaway going on. Check it out here  

NOT ONLY does she have that one going on, she also has two more. Check them out here, and here

Verse of the Day: Colossians 3:17

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I’ve gotta run! Bye girlies!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

17 responses

11 07 2009
Michelle

That sounds like an awesome house!! I hope that whatever is supposed to happen, happens! It seems you have a positive outlook either way Jess! Have a fantastic weekend!🙂

11 07 2009
Kailey

i just love that you eat your breakfast out of the pb jar🙂

11 07 2009
Maria

Sounds so exciting, Jess!!! Haha, i would absolutely love to have my own treadmill and elliptical…all i got is hardwood floors for yoga😀

Ooooh those cookies sound so yummy! I’ve been meaning to try out Ellie’s recipes–love her!

Nope, I still love seeing your delicious sweet potatoes. And gazpacho with sliced avocados? Mmmm

Happy Saturday!!!!

11 07 2009
Christina

Still not tired of the sweet potato casserole. It looks better and better every time!

12 07 2009
JB

ditto to what christina said! (i swear i was going to say that before i saw that she already did!) it really does look better each time! and the cookies sound amazing. nice job!

-JB
http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

12 07 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Those cookies look delicious! And totally love the added almonds… YUM!

I don’t think I could ever get sick of the sweet potato – nut butter combo!😉

WOW, that’s so exciting about the possible move! I’ve lived in the country/woods my entire life. We have 70 acres of woods around our house, and trust, me it is nice! Especially now that I can drive into town myself. That would be so much fun to help design your own gym. Good luck!

xxoo
Heather

12 07 2009
april

Love all the peanut buttery goodness!!

Please post the sp casserole!! I’m dying over here! lol

That is so cool about the country! We have a bowflex in my house but I don’t use it as much as I should for some weird reason!

12 07 2009
Danica

YUM to those cookies! How do you like Ellie’s cookbook? I’ve picked it up and set it down so many times.

12 07 2009
insideiamdancing

I second the request for the sweet potato casserolle recipe! The cookies look delish🙂

So exciting about the move!

12 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

omggggg babe I am SO excited for you! That could be so fun and don’t even worry about the gym, you’ll have acres and acres to roam around and run on!🙂

And look at you, such a domestic! Guess being mom for the week really got you into the swing of things hehe

Oh and per usual everything looks delic!

love yaaaa

12 07 2009
Madison

I am so excited you might be moving to “the country!” We lived on about 6 acres for 10 years of my life and it was so much fun. Having a yard is awesome!

Those cookies look divine! You are such a good baker, doll.🙂

12 07 2009
Jenny

The house sounds wonderful!!! I do hope you get it if its meant to be!!😀

Those cookies look and sound amazing!

Have a blessed Sunday❤

12 07 2009
Nell

Girl, I swear you must have a billion almost empty PB jars lying around cause I feel like you’re always having yummeh looking oats in a jar!! Those cookie pictures are *droolworthy* by the way.

So exciting about moving!! I would just LOVE if my parents moved out to the country. I’ve always wanted to live on a farm where I could have horses, grox veggies, have fruit trees, etc. But at the same time, being near the city is just SO convenient.

12 07 2009
Julia

That new house sounds really amazing! I can’t wait until the day when I am able to custom build my own home…there are just so many exciting things to do, especially now with all the green things you can do like solar energy, and recycled products and such! I hope it all works out for you!
Those cookies look really good! I may have to pick up that book!

12 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi girlie,

those cookies looks great🙂 yum!

wow, the move sounds like itwould be awesome! id love to have such a big space and my own veggie patch..think of all the carrots you could grow haha….

have a great weekend sweetheart,
xxxx

12 07 2009
kristi (sweet cheeks)

I love that your parents want to live a greener life! That is so great!!

P.S. I am drooling over those cookies!

Hope you are having a great Sunday girlie!

12 07 2009
peanutbutterandjenny

you are an talented little baker, girl! I LOVE ellie krieger!

that is such exciting news! woo woo.. I’ve actually never moved in my life — but i’ve always wanted to.. I supose I’ll live vicariously through you :)! the new house sounds amazing! and your own gym?! AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

