Get Ready!

3 07 2009

Heyyyy! It’s me! Hope y’all remember me. I’ve only been gone for two days though!

Get ready for a super long post! Woo woo!

Basketball Camp was LOTS of fun! Learned a good amount and made some new friends. I also got a couple awesome new shirts and basketball shorts. Can never have enough workout clothes 😉 I love what they say as well. If anyone is wondering, I went to UNC basketball camp 🙂 (Duhhh ❤ ) It was so cool to play in the Smith Center. Just knowing who has played on that court hundreds of times is incredible. I could have rolled and ran all over it. Bahaha, but I kept my cool 😉 100_5182

100_5223

100_5224

100_5226

WINNERS TRAIN. LOSERS COMPLAIN. 100_5181

Their cafeteria was awesome as well! It had a fabulous salad bar and ice cream machine. I don’t remember exactly what I ate there, but I wasn’t focusing on it too much. I ate intuitively and had lots of salad 🙂 But, of course, an ice cream cone was enjoyed as well. Oh how I love summer! My only food complaint would that there was no oatmeal. Hehe 😉

After my mom and brothers picked me up (gotta love those I missed you, I love you hugs!) we hit up Greek Fiesta. This girl was starving! I hadn’t eaten since around 8:20 (?) A.M and it was almost 1! I ordered the Mediterranean Platter, which has: “Fresh Greek Salad, Hummus, Stuffed Grape Leaves, Tangy Cucumber Sauce, topped with marinated chicken, steak, or lamb (I chose the chicken) and grilled pita. I ate everything except part of a grape leaf and some of the hummus/cucumber sauce. This lunch was fantastic!!

When I arrived home I found TWO packages! 100_5195The first was a package from POM Wonderful. Thanks so much Molly! I was so excited to try it! What a fabulous package! 100_5196

100_5197  The second package was from Erica over at I Run Because I Can. This package was awesome as well. Can it get any better?? Thanks so much Erica!100_5199

100_5200

100_5201

100_5202

100_5204

100_5205

Yesss! I’ve always wanted to try Probars and the Amazing Grass bar=super excited. I can’t wait to try them all!

I snacked on a bag of the Peeled Snacks (the banana). The second I opened the bag the banana flavor hit me—I thought it smelled like banana bread! Mmm… I loved these! Very chewy and flavorful! 100_5212

100_5213

100_5214

After doing some more catching up on my Google Reader, I decided on the Peanut Butter Pretzel Mojo Bar. I was a bit skeptical because the last mojo bar I tried I wasn’t too much of a fan of. But this one? Delicious! And it kept me super full and content for a LONG time. Bananas+this bar=happy, fueled me!100_5217

100_5218

100_5219

After eating this, I continued playing catch up with my G.R. and relaxing with my brothers. After taking a lovely shower I made a small dent in my summer reading. I need to catch up on the reading I didn’t do yesterday. Summer reading, oh joy! 100_5118

100_5119

100_5120  After I finished reading I proceeded to sleep for 2 hours! Oh my goodness this felt wonderful. I didn’t get to bed until past twelve last night and woke up around eight. 7+ hours of basketball and about the same amount of sleep=Tired Jess!

Upon waking I cleaned the kitchen, talked with my fam, etc, etc. Eventually, my tummy began rumbling. Sweet potato to the rescue! I had one sweet potato, one half topped with cinnamon, brown sugar, and salt. The other half topped with almond butter. WOW-what a delicious combo. I’ll so be eating this again, and again, and again 😀 On the side I had some leftover chicken, which was dark meat. I do not like dark meat, so I didn’t/couldn’t bring myself to eat it all. Yuck… What about you? Are you a dark meat/white meat eater if you eat chicken?? 100_5227 100_5229 100_5234 I just HAD to try some POM wonderful. Oh me oh my! Yum, yum, yum! I really enjoyed reading all the nutritional finds/facts about this juice. So healthy for you! I drank the first couple sips out of the adorable bottles and then poured it into a glass with ice. One of my brothers even loves it! I let him have a bottle. Now if that isn’t love, then I don’t know what is 😀

100_5235

100_5237

100_5240

This delicious bowl was consumed not too long ago as well! 100_5243 Here are some of my eats from the day(s) before I left. 100_5141

100_5143

100_5146

100_5147

100_5148

100_5149

100_5153

100_5156

What is that you ask? Well, my friends, this is a chicken burger! Instead of ground beef you use ground chicken/turkey. The burger was leftover from dinner the previous night. My mom got the recipe out of a magazine. You serve the burgers with fresh mozzarella on top, with focccia (yeah I know that’s not how you spell it. spellcheck isn’t helping me though!), with arugula, pesto, and tomato. We had ours with cucumber on the side as well. Seriously, one of the best dinners I’ve ever had. SERIOUSLY. The leftovers were just as good 😀

100_5170

100_5175 

Who gets a mani-pedi before going to basketball camp? ME! I love getting pedicures and manicures. It’s a rarity but I SO ENJOY it when I go. Thanks Grandma!! I swear, I have the two best grandmas in the world 🙂 100_5161 I was gonna post a picture of my feet, but I decided not to. As some people just don’t like feet and it’s kinda weird to post a pic of my feet. lol.

Okay, well I know I was gonna do the q&a tagged thingy, but this post is plenty long! Sorry: blogger fail!

Verse of the Day: (Found on http://www.verse-a-day.com/home/index.php because I’m too tired to think. Sorry!)

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

— 1 John 3:18

What a beautiful verse!

Oh and thanks for all the laughing cow suggestions! I actually had tried it before, it’s just been a good while since I needed some ideas to get me started. Thanks again!

Congrats if you got through all that! 🙂

I’m so happy to be back. Love y’all!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

12 responses

3 07 2009
burpexcuzme

Love you, Jess! Miss ya!
And what great packages…TWO in one day? how blessed you are!

3 07 2009
Emily

WHAT fantabulous packages! Mix a splash of POM into a glass of Sparkling water….POM Spritzer! 😀

I am a HUGE fan of MOJO bars! Try the trail mix one!!

3 07 2009
ohsoravenous

Glad to hear you had a fun time darling! ❤

3 07 2009
JB

i’m glad you enjoyed basketball camp so much! and i’m extremely jealous of how yummy your sweet potato looks. i undercooked one today…not good. 😦
i only ate half of it, and hardly even enjoyed it! i should definitely redeem myself and honor the sweet potato by making another one with almond butter and cinnamon on top! sounds sooooo good.

-JB
http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

3 07 2009
fearlessfabulousfulloflife

hey girl!
so glad you had fun at bball camp!! and what fabulous packages! i LOVE clif mojo bars 🙂

LOVE sweet taters– and i’m def a white meat chicken eater 🙂

xoxox j

3 07 2009
insideiamdancing

glad you had so much fun! LOVE the packages- the PB pretzel MOJO is one of my favourite bars- took me a while to try it because I thought it would be gross, but it’s fab. I definitely like white meat better than dark!

3 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

hi sweetheart,

im so glad you had such a great time 🙂 and they had an ice cream machine???ohmygosh! so cool!

all of the eats look delish! and yay for packages! you got hooked up for sure 🙂

have a nice night hun, i hope you get some much needed rest!
xxxxx

3 07 2009
fruitsveggieslife

Wow – two great packages, basketball camp, and some great eats. What a wonderful two days. 🙂

Love you girl!

3 07 2009
Maria

Haha, very cute workout gear—it would have been so cool though to roll around the court ;). Looove greek food! All that stuff sounds so, soooo good. Hmmm I usually prefer white meat, especially if it’s moist, but the occasional dark meat is good if the white meat is too dry (which happens often).

Love the oatmeal in the smiley cup :). LOL I posted a picture of my feet when I got a pedi…hehe I was wondering whether or not to, but I thought why not? I’m already weird.

That is definitely an amazing verse. Thanks for sharing it with us, Jess! Hope you have a great holiday weekend 😀

3 07 2009
ksgoodeats

Greek fiesta?! YUM! I love that mojo bar – it’s probably my favorite out of the line. What color nails did you pick? They look like mine (cajun shrimp 🙂 )! Love the bright color!

3 07 2009
Jenny

sounds like you had an awesome time at camp.. love all the new gear and the awesome packages 🙂 lucky, lucky you! xo

3 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

OMG you were not kidding when you said long! haha Just playing, I loved this post!
First of all, heck yes for new bball shorts and t’s…best part about camps! And omg so cool that you met all those new people and learned new skills…you always come away from basketball camps with so much more in my opinion! Oh and Im glad they had a good cafeteria and that you were able to eat untuitively! 😉

Secondly, yayyy for packages! The Pom Wonderful must have been simply wonderful to receive haha! 😉 And the second package with then nut butters, dried fruits, and bars..oh man! Probars are amazing and I have definitely taken advantage of their delicious taste, incredible health stats, and easy way to get calories in. I would highly recommend eating one before a bball practice.

Last but not least, those chicken burgers sound absolutely incredible! The pesto, the mozarella, the chicken, the everything! And yes, I am def a white mean kind of girl…dark meat just doesn’t do it for me.

p.s. thank you so much for your comments on my last post. I would love to share our stories, so please shoot an email over my way so we can talk!

Leave a Reply

