Melts like no other!

26 06 2009

 

100_4993

My new peanut butter– Maranatha Peanut Butter – is soooo melty! It’s now one of my favorite peanut butters! TRY IT! 🙂

I put some on top of my oatmeal this morning and within SECONDS it was everywhere. But hey, I ain’t complaining 😉 100_4988

100_4986

The brown sugar went everywhere! I don’t even put that much in the bowl. A little goes a long way! 100_4987

After blogging for a while, I was exhausted from my early mornings and wasn’t feeling so hot. (really bad sore throat+during summer=major bummer) So, I decided to take advantage of the great-ness of summer and take a nap! I slept for a solid, glorious, two hours. Woke up quite hungry and in need of a nutritious, very yummy lunch! I accomplished that goal. I had a deliciousss sweet potato (in fry form, of course) which I did for two minutes less on each interval (usually do 10 min, flip, another 10 min, I did 8 min, flip, then another 8 min) and they were perfect. I love them slightly “floppy” not too crunchy. If that makes sense 😉 Alongside I had the remaining bit of our chicken-pasta salad (whole wheat tortellini, chicken, diced tomatoes, and fresh basil) and a honey oikos with strawberries. Oh, and some ketchup and BBQ (figured out that combo today=DELISH!). YUMMM! 100_4994

100_4995

100_4996

100_4998

100_4999

100_5001And a big and tasty apple!    100_5004

About an hour and a half before dinner, I knew I needed something to hold me over. Green Monster to the rescue! Mine contained: 4 strawberries, 1/2 a banana, splash of both milk and water, flax, applesauce, and a good handful of spinach. Mmm! I also had 1/2 a sandwich thin topped with some peanut butter and mashed banana (shout out to Jenny!!) 100_5005

100_5010

100_5006

100_5013

Dinner tonight was a favorite in our household! We call it Nibbles Night 🙂 Here’s tonight’s spread: 100_5018100_5019What you see here: Fresh Mozzarella, Harris Teeter Hummus, Whole Grain Toasted Wheat Thins, strawberries, watermelon, salami, honey ham, and provolone.

What you don’t see: Sliced tomatoes!

My plate had some tomato and mozzarella with s&p, few slices of ham, slice of provolone, a serving or so of wheat thins, hummus, strawberries, and lots of pieces of summery watermelon. I was reading an article today (don’t exactly know where…?) that while watermelon is 92% water, it’s still has nutrients, like Lycopene!

I really need to start on my summer reading for school. I have absolutely zero motivation to! Uuuggghh!

If you haven’t already, go over to Jenny’s blog and read her post Food Should Taste Good. It’s amazing and made me think. I’ve been craving some ice cream but was wanting to wait until I got some all natural/organic ice cream. There’s some Moose Tracks in my freezer that certainly isn’t no StoneyField, but hey, it’s SO yummy. So, I had a bowl and thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it’s really important for us to realize that eating healthy is GREAT, but there’s nothing wrong with having something not all natural/organic/etc once in a while. It’s the variety in our life that makes us healthy. As I said yesterday…

EVERYTHING IN MODERATION! 😀100_5020

100_5022

100_5024

Followed by a super juicy peach! Balance is key.

Verse of the Day: Proverbs 12:1

Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but he who hates correction is stupid.

Definitely to the point. Love it!

Tomorrow’s Plan: I got nothing! Trip to the gym for some cardio most likely…

Happy (almost) Friday my lovely bloggers!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

18 responses

26 06 2009
Emily

Ohh! I’ll join you for nibbles night next time! 😀
Oh and have you tried MaraNatha Almond Butter?! DELISH! A Favorite!
And Everything in Moderation is RIGHT! MMM!

26 06 2009
jaime

hey jess!!!

LOVE maranatha PB! its sooo good 🙂 i like to add salt to it though because i put salt on everything (awful.. right?!) haha.

oo delish! i LOVE moose tracks ice cream! YUMMY!!!!

XOXOXO J

26 06 2009
AnAppleADay

Girl, I love your posts!
Yes “everything in moderation” is what HEALTHY is.
There shouldn’t be labels as “bad” and “good” in food.
Healthy is being able to not ALWAYS judge food by its content but by its TASTE. Our bodies, tastebuds deserve better 🙂

Thank you!

26 06 2009
ohsoravenous

Balance DEFINITELY is key! I agree! Everything moderation – I live by it!

That ice cream looks so good anyway! I’m sure you enjoyed it and it hit the spot!

Nibbles Night! How adorable!! Aw!

26 06 2009
Jenny

jessica this post made me SOOOOO SOSOSO HAPPY! ah – i am so proud of you! I can’t tell you how much this post meant to me. you really have given me the inspiration and incentive to go out and treat myself to some good ol’ fashion ICE CREAM! too bad we don’t have any 😦 I may have to go to the grocery store asap and buy some 🙂

thank you for always making my smile, angel!
lots of love,
Jenny

26 06 2009
jenngirl

Maranatha nut butters ROCK! You should also try the Almond Butter if you haven’t, it’s divine!

I really like that Proverbs verse. So true 🙂

26 06 2009
insideiamdancing

everything in moderation indeed- life’s too short to deprive ourselves all of the time!

I LOVE peanut butter that melts everywhere (well, when it is contained in a bowl 😛 )

happy Friday- hope you have a fun weekend planned!

26 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

first of all, way to just ENJOY that bowl! Your tastebuds wanted it and you listened! Way to go my little lovebug!

Secondly, I am dying from that melty pb action! Mmmm

So happy you got such a nice nap in…I love good naps! Sometimes we just really need them!

Last but not least, I love “Nibbles Night”! I always love little plates of things like that…so simple but so delicious!

26 06 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

Ahh, the moosetracks ice cream looks amazing Jess!!! And i’m totally with you (and Jenny!), sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in eating only the “best” foods, but we gotta live….and if our diet is TOO clean, then we aren’t giving our bodies everything they WANT! Ya know what I mean?!

And Yes!!!!! That maranthana peanut butter is the exact brand I use (and crunchy), it’s sooo melty and addicting and divine! 🙂

26 06 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi hun

whenever i see that bowl you use for breakfast, it totally makes me smile 🙂 its so cute!! and speaking of breakfast, that looks delicous!

im glad you enjoyed a nice nap..sometimes theyre all you need to feel better 🙂

I love that dinner…nibbles night is a cute idea 🙂

Have a nice night hun
xxxx

26 06 2009
Kailey

when i saw the pb I got a huge smile on my face. Maranatha is the best pb. hands down. Skippy just does not comapre 🙂

26 06 2009
Madison

Two hour nap!?!? Work it, girl! I can never nap for longer than an hour. I wish I had your talent!

AND that PB looks so melty and good.

26 06 2009
april

I love your oatmeal bowl it’s precious!

26 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Sorry you weren’t feeling too well! I know how much I HATE sore throats, especially in the summer. Hope you feel better soon!

Loving the spread for dinner! I just love getting a little of everything in one meal. Satsifies all the major cravings! 😉

And good job on the ice cream ordeal… I totally agree that moderation is key! If you’re truly craving it, nothing else is going to honestly satisfy that hunger. So go for it… just don’t have it at every meal! 😉

xxoo
Heather

26 06 2009
charlene

I have to try that PB. Have you ever had Peanut Butter and Co Pb??? It is delicious to, I like White Chocolate Wonderful (its not indulgent, just sounds like it ha!)

The green bowl is adorable lol!

-Char

26 06 2009
ksgoodeats

Nibbles night looks like my kind of dinner! I love little tasting plates like that!! Your oats look tempting but it’s way to hot here for them!

26 06 2009
Maria

Love the cute bowl! Definitely oatmeal worthy ;). I love BBQ sauce with kabocha squash, so I’m sure it’s just as good on sweet potato (although plain ketchup is fabulous as well).

Nibbles Night sounds delicious and similar to italian antipasti dishes mmmm. I totally agree that having a little bit of something not healthy is fine, and great for the mind/spirit :D. Yes, without discipline/correction, there is no improvement! Hope you have a fabulous day, Jess!

26 06 2009
Kiki

Oooh girl, have you tried crazy richard’s PB? It melts like crazy too!

Haha I adore the idea of nibbles night! Watermelon is my favorite summer fruit. Great job with the ice cream! You deserve to eat anything you’re craving! Happy Friday, love!

Leave a Reply

