My Adventures in Baking and Grocery Shopping

25 06 2009

 Adventures in Baking!

100_4960

This is Bob’s Red Mill’s recipe for Gooey Fudge Cake. Now does that sounds good or what? I wanted to make my brother a “Welcome Home” cake and this certainly did the job! You pour hot water and sprinkle cocoa powder with brown sugar on top which forms a thick chocolate sauce around and under the cake! Man oh man this was amazing…100_4954

100_4955

100_4956

100_4959

100_4961

100_4962

100_4963

The healthiest thing on the block? Nope. One of the most delicious? Yes. Everything in moderation🙂 100_4964

100_4965

Basketball went REALLY, REALLY well today. We worked on Early Attacks like the whole time. It was awesome. After arriving home, taking the dog on a walk, showering, etc etc I set to making breakfast. It’s been far too long since I’ve had Dried Prune Blended Oat Bran. Bahaha what a mouthful. If you don’t like dried prunes, you probably won’t like this.😉 I just chop like five prunes and blend away. Makes it really sweet! Topped with my homemade almond butter and a little bit of peanut butter. Double nut butter action for ya!100_4906This might be the first and last time I show only one pic of my oats. Just doesn’t feel like me😉 Hehehe!

On the subject of Almond Butter, it’s slowly growing on me. I really like it, but I don’t think I’m ready to eat it with a spoon like I do Peanut Butter. I definitely want to experiment with it and try different brands/flavors. I mixed mine with some cinnamon and it was really yummy. I plan on making some ABU tomorrow!

Adventures in Grocery Shopping

My mom and I are dedicated Lowes Foods shoppers. We’ve gone there forever it seems! It has a great variety of organic and all natural foods so I can never complain. BUT Harris Teeter has a better variety and is all around, nicer in my opinion. We don’t have a Whole Foods or Trader Joes (I know, I’m seriously deprived!) any where close, although they’re planning on building a WF right next to Lowes down the street from me.😀 Anyways…we decided to go to Harris Teeter and see how much more $$$ it would be. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that most items were of equal price and some were even less (while of course, some were more). I LOVE Harris Teeter! It has TONS of VIC card discounts, double coupons, and it seems that there’s always lots of stuff on sale. Majaaaa score! Makes me quite happy.

You know you’re a blogger when you can write a whole paragraph about grocery stores/shopping😉

Anyways, here’s the highlights of our haul! I didn’t snap any pics though, sorry!

  • Cabinet:  Organic Maranatha Peanut Butter (creamy)
  • Fridge/Freezer: 3 Oikos greek yogurt
  • Produce: 6 organic apples, lots of bananas, dates, a locally grown sweet potato, tomatoes, strawberries, watermelon, and 2 containers of organic spinach (2 for $6!!!!!!!)
  • Bars: BerryGoMega Odwalla Bar, Maple Nut Cliff Bar

Wow, that seems like a really scant list. We got a TON of groceries, you’ll see the rest this week🙂

I enjoyed this shopping trip very much, can ya tell?

ANOTHER plus to H.T. is that they had a salad bar! Closest thing to a W.F. bar😉

Here’s my lunch! 100_4933

100_4934

100_4935

100_4943

In my salad:

  • Spinach and Romaine
  • Chick Peas
  • Broccoli
  • Raw Mushrooms and Marinated Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Feta
  • Sprouts
  • Boiled Egg
  • Honey Mustard Dressing

I could easily be forgetting some of the many components to this salad. It was SO. GOOD.

After my filling lunch settled, I was off to the gym for some strength training. I’m loving using higher weights and not doing as many reps. FEEL THE BURN.

Here’s my strength workout:

  • 5 minutes stat. bike warm up
  • Leg Work;
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (30 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 14(?) sets of 8 (110-120 pounds)
    • Hip Abduction: 14(?) sets of 8 (110-120 pounds)
    • Calve: 3 sets of 15 (90 pounds)
  • Arm Work:
    • Row: 4 sets of 10 (30 pounds)
    • Seated Row: 4 sets of 8 (40 pounds)
    • Assisted Pulldown: 4 sets of 8 (55 pounds)
    • Bicep Curl: 4 sets of 8 (30 pounds)
    • Tricep Extension: 4 sets of 8 (30 pounds)
    • Chest Press: 2 sets of 8 (?) (25 pounds)
  • Ab Work:
    • High Pushup (Plank): 1 minute and 30 seconds
    • Torso Rotation: 3 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
    • Abdominal Crunch Machine: 3 sets of 8 (10 pounds)—> this works you really hard!
  • Stretching and foam roller

Twas a glorious rescue workout. Sorry, watching Dog: The Bounty Hunter with my brothers. Bahaha! This show is ridiculous (in a good way) and addicting!

After my workout I refueled with an Odwalla Bar and an organic apple. This bar was delicious! It’s nutritionals weren’t horrible, but not nearly as much protein as Cliff. Great taste though and I enjoyed it a lot😀 Very berry-y. lol. 100_4944

100_4948

100_4946

100_4950

100_4953

   

Dinner tonight was some whole wheat tortellini tossed with some diced tomatoes, feta, basil, and chicken. Oh my word—SO YUMMYYY!

I just finished snacking on a little bowl of my new peanut butter, a date, and some prune-age (as the super lovely Jenny says!). Very much so MMM!

Tomorrow’s plan: basketball in the morning and then I have no idea what the rest of the day’s going to bring!

Today’s Verse of the Day: Ephesians 2:10

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Have a great Thursday! Remember, it’s only one day away from Friday!🙂

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

18 responses

25 06 2009
april

Great workout!!

I’m loving all your eats today- peanut butter, prunes, oatbran, salads.. yum!!

25 06 2009
ohsoravenous

Oh my Godddd that fudgy cake thing looks absolutely INCREDIBLE.

25 06 2009
Jenny

what a sweet sister you are! your brother is a very lucky fellow🙂 everything in moderation – couldn’t have said it better myself, angel!

xo, Jenny

25 06 2009
Julia

That Odwalla bar looks tasty! I have a ChocoWalla waiting for me in the cabinet, and I’m very excited for it!

25 06 2009
Ella

Oh my. Ooozing chocolate, I could so drown in that and be happy!

Thanks for your support on my blog! Can’t wait till we try those crack wraps!

25 06 2009
insideiamdancing

the cake looks delicious- hope your brother liked it!

I love the maple nut Clif bar! The banana nut odwalla is good, but yeah…prefer higher protein bars.

Have a great Thursday!

25 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

how cute are you for making your brother a cake?! I bet he was so excited to have that upon his arrival home🙂

Wowww sounds like you have been a busy busy girl. Glad bball went so well this morning! Wohoo for early attacks. lol

And heck yess for major grocery shoppin! It’s my favorite thing to do..oh man what a foodie! lol

25 06 2009
Kailey

ohh that ooey gooey chocolate cake looks like it turned about perfectly.
whoever gets to consume it is very lucky!
great workout!

25 06 2009
Madison

Oh my gosh–I am loving this post, girl! Full of so many goodies! : )

I have made that chocolate cake before…it is so good warm and with ice cream. YUM. That was really nice of you to make it for your brother.

I love Harris Teeter too–and exciting about Whole Foods coming near you! YAY! I get so excited going grocery shopping–all of us food bloggers are alike.

AND great verse for the day–I needed that today and am so blessed to have read it in your blog.

25 06 2009
Priyanka

The ooey goeey chocolate cake looks incredible!!

25 06 2009
Ashley

The Gooey Fudge Cake looks amazing! The whisk dripping with chocolate is deinfately the $$ shot! Delish! And I agree, everything in moderation is key. You gotta live a little🙂

I still need to try prunes in my oatbran. I like dried prunes, and I bet they really sweeten up the bowl!

Great strength workout too. I prefer more sets/less reps also.

25 06 2009
ksgoodeats

Oh wow! Those are some ooey gooey brownies! Nice job – you’re such a nice sister!!

We don’t have an H.T. here but we have WFs and one thing that bothers me is that people always say WFs is too expensive. In the end if you do your research it’s not that much more. I don’t know! Maybe I just feel defensive over WFs like it’s my baby😉

25 06 2009
Egg Beaten Angel

That Fudge Cake is ADORABLE.

WFs are my baby too.

Have a beautiful post-humpday-pre-friday!
Egg Beaten Angel

25 06 2009
Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl

A girl has to have her chocolate, right?😉

And that salad looks AMAZING!!! Yum-O!!
🙂
Michele

Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, by the way–I’m adding you to mine, too!!🙂

25 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Sounds like a great grocery shop! I seriously love shopping around and trying out new things. You definitely got some major goods! Can’t wait to see all them being used.🙂

Have fun at basketball today!

xxoo
Heather

25 06 2009
glidingcalm

Wow! so much to say on this post!!

1) gorgeous brownies!!! and yes EVERYTHING IN MODERATION! loves it!!
2) Hurray for grocery shopping. I went to Harris Teeter in VA when i was training a few times and loved their store ! and that they have free cookies!!!
3) So neat that you play basketball! I am queen of traveling, but I miss my old backyard with the hoop! I had a filthy 3 pointer at one period of my life!!
4) Oikos!! so jealous! i am craving one of those right now- perfect for summer !!!

HAVE A WONDERFUL THURSDAY !!!

25 06 2009
luckytastebuds

Hi Jess!

WOW you seem like a baking pro!! Is this the first time you’ve baked this?!?!?

hahah yes, you are a food blogger cuz you can write a paragraph on grocery shopping!! I honestly feel like WF is overhyped though, so I don’t think you’re missing out on TOO Much there. It’s just lonely when loaded people and bloggers get tonnes of stuff there. *sigh* when i become rich, I will only shop at super ginormous whole foods. muahhaha but no, seriously, Trader Joe’s is more awesome!! WAY more awesome than WF.🙂

25 06 2009
Melissa @ For the Love of Health

Fudge cake looks fabulous!! I agree- everything in moderation!!

That’s awesome b-ball went well!
Salad you picked up at the salad bar looks really delicious!

Leave a Reply

