Green OATS! (not feeling so creative)

17 06 2009

Hey girls! I am so sorry for not posting last night. The boyfriend’s mom called me to invite me to watch him play basketball, which was really fun. I didn’t get home until 9:30 and shortly after I went to bed because I had basketball this morning and needed my rest! So, anyways, yesterday just wasn’t a good day. I mean, it was, I went shopping, did some yoga, yada, yada. It just was a little stressful. Oh well. Today’s been great so far :D 

Here are my eats from yesterday!

Breakfast: Oatmeal topped with homemade, whole grain, zucchini bread (best batch I’ve ever made. I think it was the fresh lemon zest verse lemon juice, but I don’t know. Either way it’s FANTASTIC!) and DCD (duhhh)100_4646

100_4650 

Lunch: Whole grain noodles with chicken, green bell pepper, onions, and a little bit of cheddar/guac. An apple was on the side as well as a small piece of z. bread with dcd. 100_4656

100_4660

100_4661

Snacks: remainder of Skippy and I can’t seem to remember what else… Haha!100_4665

Dinner: homemade chicken “nuggets,” noodles, and corn

Nightly Snacks and Dinner went un-pictured, sorry!

Today!

Woke up, got dressed, ate 1/2 a chocolate peppermint (?) Luna that was just so-so and a small glass of milk, and was off to a GREAT basketball practice.

Arrived home, took the dog for a quick walk, and did some Gentle Hatha Yoga for 20 minutes to stretch everything out, which felt GLORIOUS.

After this and showering (of course!), I made myself a big ol’ bowl of green oats (1 cup water, 1/4 cup oat bran (sometimes use 1/2, up the water amount, a banana, cinnamon, and a good handful of spin—someone asked me about mine—so here ya go! 🙂 ). I topped mine with breakfast blend trail mix and DCD. Love in a bowl I tell ya!100_4666

100_4668

100_4670

100_4671 

Sorry this post was pretty concise. I’ve got to get ready to leave– We’re supposedly going to a baseball game although it’s been raining like all day. This should be…interesting

In giveaway news…

Lucky Taste Buds is having a huge giveaway! Check it out here

Verse of the Day—Proverbs 8:11

For wisdom is better than rubies; and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it.

Great verse, isn’t it??!

Question: I really, really want to try a green monster, but am un-sure of what to put in it. I have bananas, strawberries, spinach, etc etc. Any ideas?? Thanks for everything girlies!

Be back later loves!

❤ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

22 responses

17 06 2009
Tina

Loving those oats with zucchini bread on top. And DCD! Yummmay!

17 06 2009
ohsoravenous

Love love love how you eat pb out of the jar!

17 06 2009
ksgoodeats

I REALLY need to make zucchini bread! I’ve never had it – how sad! Hope the weather clears up for the game!

17 06 2009
Michelle

I just consistently started drinking green monsters within the last few weeks and here’s what goes in mine:

1/2 cup plain yogurt
4 or 5 ice cubes
1/2 or sometimes a whole sliced banana (I haven’t seen much difference honestly if it’s a half or a whole!)
Several big handfuls of spinach…probably about 3 cups worth
Blend together until smooth, then I add about a tbsp of Choco. PB 2 into it and blend. PERFECT start to my day (or afternoon…or evening…haha) and only about 160 cals!

Although, I am not out of my PB2 samples, so I’m not sure what I’ll be using as a sub for that lovely PB flavor…maybe some sweet fruit like blueberries or strawberries? Or I should just suck it up and buy more PB2! LOL hope this helped Jess!! Good luck! 🙂

17 06 2009
Jenny

way to be a supportive girl and go to the boyfs bball game =)! thats so cute that you too both play!!

17 06 2009
Meg

I am SO with you on wanting to try a GM! Let me know if you find a good recipe 😉

I love love love your green oats! So pretty and summery! Haha, somehow green reminds me of summer? Grass maybe? Don’t know 😛 but it sure looks nice. And topped with trail mix and DCD, couldn’t be any better 🙂

Have a great day and I’m glad you enjoyed the basketball game!

Love,
Meg 🙂

17 06 2009
Priyanka

The green oats with the topping make me mentally think that I am eating peppermint chocolaty flavored oats! Looks great! The zucchini bread as a topping looks good too!

17 06 2009
Emily

I think I’m the only one who hasn’t hopped on the green oat/monster train! lol Loving all of the DCD!

17 06 2009
fruitveggielife

Mmm. Zucchini bread. I don’t have the capability to bake much right now, but last summer I made a killer loaf. So good. And zucchini brownies. Yummers.

17 06 2009
Lauryn

omg that green oatmeal looks SO good — do you blend it in or just throw it right in there? i really need to give this a try! =)

17 06 2009
Jogging My Memory

So random question..but what is DCD? Oh ok stupid question I just figured it out…Dark Chocolate Dreams from PB&Co? Am I right am I right? I’ve gotta try that stuff it looks chocolately and delish!

17 06 2009
Kailey

love the idea of adding zucchini bread into your oats!
don’t you just love how oats work with everything!!
oh skippy creamy – love you ❤

17 06 2009
Run Sarah

Your green oats look awesome, yum!

17 06 2009
Kiki

Okay so Jess, green monsters have been my drink of choice lately. I think my obsession with them would be unhealthy if the smoothies weren’t so nutrient packed! To make mine I use:

1 frozen banana
6 strawberries
about 3 tbs applesauce
1 tbs ground flax
2 big handfuls (probably about 3 cups? I love my greens!) spinach
splash of milk

Then blend and enjoy! Your green oats look awesome! Much love

17 06 2009
pbbananas

I just started reading your blog 🙂 It’s great!

I’ve never had green oats, so I may have to give that a try sometime. Green monsters, though, I love! You can’t really go wrong, honestly.

Simple:
1 banana, as many strawbs as you want, 2 handfuld spinach, water to desired consistency. Mix the fruit first.

Complicated:
Handful almonds, handful pumpkin seeds, 1 tbsp wheat germ or flax, banana, handful of berries, kale (so good!), water to desired consistency. Make sure to blend the nuts first, then add the fruit and mix, then add greens last. You can also add milk, cacao powder or whatever you want really!

❤ Nell

17 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Green Smoothie…
1 cup soymilk (plain or vanilla)
2-3 cups spinach
1 banana
4 ice cubes
1 tbsp almond butter
Optional: strawberries, peach, mango, blueberries, blackberries, cantaloupe, 1/4-1/2 cup plain yogurt, 1 tbsp ground flaxseed, or 1/4 cup oats

Play around with it and have fun!

Your green oats sound so good! Thanks for posting how you make them. I’m so surprised that it works so well just to cook it right in!

Hope you were able to enjoy the baseball game!

xoxo
Heather

18 06 2009
burpexcuzme

wisdom is precious indeed! My name (sophia) actually means wisdom, so haha!
as for green monsters, what abt celery? And ginger (I heard it’s good)? Mango?

18 06 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

Ok, so I think something’s wrong with me……I like the DCD peanut butter, but I don’t LOVE IT!!! (?!?!?!) I feel like the taste is pretty subtle!! When I paired it with the chocolate vitamuffin I was loving it, but otherwise the flavor kind of gets lost…maybe?? What’s your fave way to eat it girl, give me suggestions! hahha!!

PS-so I made a green monster without protein powder, and it was pretty blan…so i’d definitely recommend adding something extra besides the soy/almond milk, fruit and spinach! 🙂

18 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

omg the oats with the zucchini bread! Ingenious! Everything else looked amazing as usual…I always want to take a bite of something you have been eating haha

So glad that you have been busy with the BF and basketball…its always nice to have things going on that you love. I feel ya on the stress though…It has been stress mania over here and I have just been sooo run down. Cannot wait for the weekend to come!

xoxo hope basketball is amazing tomorrow!

18 06 2009
justine

Man your spinach oats look great! I need to keep scrolling to find out what DCD is because it looks yummy!!!

~Justine

18 06 2009
Ashley

Your green oats look far greener than mine… but we use the same amount of spinach! Strange eh? I particularly love all the mix-ins on top. Your oats are a work of art!

Thanks for the tutorial on how to use google reader! I appreciate it!

18 06 2009
insideiamdancing

fabulous verse! Thank you for sharing it!

I’ve never made a green monster but banana would definitely go in mine, as well as some kind of berries…though it might turn out more red/purple than green! 😛

enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

