Sweet Potato Mash/Best Bowl of Oatmeal EVAAA!

15 06 2009

Doesn’t that have a great ring to it? Sweet. Potato. Mash. Love it! Yesterday I knew I wanted sweet potatoes, but I couldn’t decide whether to have cooked S.P or S.P fries. I decided on cooking one, then took the skin off and mashed the tater (love that word too) with garlic powder, seasoning salt, and cinnamon. Yummm! THIS WAS AMAZING, and SO INCREDIBLY filling. Alongside this I had some garlic addiction hummus (hummus+SP=mmm!) and the skin. Yes, I ate the skin. Hahaha. I also had a couple dried prunes, pb, and random chocolate/butterscotch chips.

100_4590

100_4600

100_4597

100_4603

100_4605

Due to the fact that we had absolutely nothing in our fridge, a grocery trip was in order. I got a new product and some stoneyfields for 59 cents!!! SCORE!!! I also got some dark chocolate dreams, aka the love of my life. 100_4613 These are incredible!! ^^^

100_4609

100_4614

100_4619

I tried one of the stoneyfields that I had seen on Heather’s awesome blog. Raspberry Lemonade. This was really good! Totally summer-y!100_4620

100_4621

Dinner was whole wheat pasta topped with green bell pepper, tomato, red sauce, and baked chicken. Very good, especially when I topped it with PARM.100_4622

100_4624

100_4625

All mixed together!100_4627

I had some all natural cookies n’ cream ice cream last night that was so good. I love all natural ice cream. It just tastes better to me. 100_4628

100_4629

This morning I had the BEST OATMEAL BOWL EVER. EVER. EVER. Oh my gosh this was just SO AMAZING. I ate this like 6 hours ago and I’m still in love with what I had. Yummmmm!!! I had my regular oatmeal base, and topped it with Breakfast Blend (love!!) trail mix, and dark chocolate dreams. Umm, did I mention this was amazing?? 100_4630

100_4631

100_4632

100_4633

Lunch today was sweet potato fries, a chobs, an organic fuji apple, and a scoop of dcd. An oddly balanced lunch. Loved it!

100_4636

100_4637

100_4640

100_4641

100_4644

100_4645

I had basketball this morning at 7 in the morning. It was intense and I loved it. I ate half a cliff bar (apricot) to have something in my stomach. I think I’m gonna try a banana and something else tomorrow. I must love basketball if I’m willing to get up when the clock says 6-something.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

But before I’m done…

In giveaway news,

An Apple A Day is having not one, but TWO awesome giveaways. Check the first out here, and the second out here

Heather is having a FABULOUS yoga download membership giveaway. Check it out here

Erin is giving away maple peanut butter! Yum! Check it out here

Head over to Heather’s blog and get an awesome yogadownload.com discount!

Today’s Verse of the Day: Psalm 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

21 responses

15 06 2009
Run Sarah

DCD = love! I like the idea of SP mash too, yum🙂

15 06 2009
Emma

I think I’m going to have to make a SP mash soon… I have one just calling my name! (Not tonight though. Sigh.)

15 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Hey jess! Thanks for the TWO shoutouts!🙂 Glad to hear you liked the raspberry lemonade yogurt… the perfect mix of berry and lemon! So summery!

And loving the sweet potato mash. What a great idea! Sounds like you found the perfect seasonings for it too.

Have a wonderful Monday hun!

xxoo
Heather

15 06 2009
ohsoravenous

That’s some serious grocery shopping right there! DCD is heaven, and raspberry lemonade yogs? Oh my gahhhh!

15 06 2009
Jenny

that SP action looks wonderful Jess! I have to try the mashing method for sure =)

i love that you are such a little baller! i used to play in HS.. what position do you play?! I was a 4.. reppin’ for the tall girls!

15 06 2009
ksgoodeats

Get out of here with all these tasty meals!! The ice cream, the oats, the SP mash, the Chobs, everything!

I just found out there’s a store by me that sells sweet potato things – like SP pie, SP cheesecake, SP t shirts!

15 06 2009
Yasmin

You can never go wrong with sweet potato love!

15 06 2009
Meg

Woahh they have Raspberry Lemonade yogurt?! Holy cow that sounds JUST like summer! I must find it, and for 59 cents, can’t get any better.🙂

I love your bowl of oats – and topped with DCD = perfect😛 DCD makes everything so much better. I’m actually thinking about re-creating that bowl tomorrow, except I’ll have to use Mighty Maple. All out of DCD over here😦

Anyways, enjoy your evening!

Love,
Meg

16 06 2009
jaime

wow that oatmeal DOES look THE BEST!!!!!!

and that yogurt sounds soo delish!!!! hope you had a nice weekend xoxox

16 06 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

I’m telling you-trail mix is the BEST addition to oatmeal, ever!!!! I’ll go through days where I always use it and it just gives the oats a little extra kick! And when the trail mix has chocolate chips in it….ohhh my goodnes, they get so melty!🙂

16 06 2009
Ashley

I have a thought for you – sweet potato mash in your oats. Seriously, it’s really good! I’ve tried it once and keep meaning to make it again. Your breakfast made me think of it🙂 Your other breakfast also looks delicious. I’m guessing trail mix is the secret ingredient? Yummo!

16 06 2009
insideiamdancing

LOVE sweet potato mash! I always eat the skin too- best part! And yes, those oats do look pretty fabulous! What is in the breakfast blend trail mix?

Thank you for sharing the verse!

16 06 2009
Lauryn

omg you did my fav PB ever (DCD!) major justice in this post! love love love it — and want it NOW, even though i just had a bowl myself =)

also i love how you had amante pizza the other day — i loved it when i was at school! =)

16 06 2009
Ella

Thanks for your advice on my blog! It’s so much easier sometimes to hear that from someone else, rather than to try to convince myself on my own!

PS: Jealous of your food finds!

16 06 2009
Maris

There is nothing better than sweet potato mash.

And I love Chobani yogurt too! my favorite flavors are honey and vanilla.

16 06 2009
Priyanka

There is so much of good food here! The chobani, sweet potato, DCD!! Love it all!

16 06 2009
Kailey

natural cookies n cream ice cream is the BEST way to end the day😀
love the oats!

16 06 2009
burpexcuzme

That oatmeal does look freaking amazing! Yum! I wonder how DCD tastes like…I got the WCW when it was on sale, and yuck. Sickening sweet. Blegh.
And sweet potato mash is def awesome! You should try my tropical mash…I add a bit of coconut milk and pineapple into it! yum!

17 06 2009
Em

I am going to have to try dark chocolate dreams. I have tried cinnamon raisin and maple and LOVE them. I was afraid of the dark chocolate though, I thought that it might be TOO sweet. But everyone seems to like it a lot.

P.S. Love the quote girl.

17 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

oh my goodness look at that sweet potato mash! Soooo amazing and I love the little side bowls of deliciousness! And that pasta dish scrumptious! I could just keep going on and on and on about all the eats because they all looked to die for…esp that bowl of oats (oh woww!)!
Looks like you picked up some majorly good products at the grocery store! I have so much love for grocery shopping haha
So happy that you are having a fun time at basketball camp! I was so excited to shoot around the past couple of days…I had missed it SO much! Have an amazing day tomorrow! xoxo

17 06 2009
rediscoveringlauren

love the sweetpotatoe mash idea hun :)im defo gonna try that out!!
and that oatmeal certainly does look amazing! i guess well be seeing that again on your blog haha!
glad your loving basketball so much🙂
xxxx

Leave a Reply

