A Filling Lunch

11 06 2009

100_4483

100_4485

No, this wasn’t my filling lunch, but this was a delicious dessert. Mmmm! Perfect snack after yoga (which was fabulous by the way), haha. Love Fresh Market!

Basketball camp is going really well! I love working hard and getting better and that’s what we’re doing. We played lots of one on one today and I did really well. The head coach calls sweat success. I am a very successful person by the time I leave the camp! (tmi??)

Breakfast this morning was a bowl of Kashi honey sunshine cereal, a scoop of pb, and fresh fruit. YUM!100_4502

100_4504

Halfway through the camp I had a granny smith and some dried fruit (apricots and pineapple) for some more energy.

Upon arriving home, I snacked on some more random pieces of fresh fruit then, after showering and taking my dog on a walk, I made myself a delicious lunch. It had many parts: grapes, an orange, an (organic fuji) apple, and some sweet potatoes (which I put on the top shelf and they almost burned! I saved them though and they were very good!). For “dipping” I had some ketchup and then some wcw pb for some fat, protein, and GREAT TASTE. Haha. I really didn’t dip my food into the pb, I saved it for last and ate it with a spoon🙂 100_4507

100_4509

100_4511

100_4513

100_4514

100_4515

That was just a few minutes ago and I’m very contently full.

Let’s talk goals, shall we?

Here’s how it’s been going today:

  1. Yoga at least 3 days a week–mix it up a bit with my yoga. I love going to classes, and I’d like to try more! There’s one on Thursdays I’m interested in. – 1 day done, 2 more to go
  2. Going for a walk (with my poocher) every day for at least 10 minutes. Not only is this good for my mind, it’s also good for my sanity–my dog is SO much more calm when she gets her regular walks. Haha. I need to post a picture of her–she’s such a cutie! – Check
  3. Try a new recipe/food at least twice a week. There’s so many new foods and recipes I would love to try. And I can’t wait! – Umm, working on it!
  4. Try and stick to organic produce (especially apples!) or at least the Dirty Dozen – Organic apples and organic spinach
  5. Have something green every day (whether it be green oats or a green monster) – A green apple, but hoping to have something else that actually goes with the rules, if not, green apple is it
  6. Read a chapter in Proverbs every day – Off to go catch up with it right now

Hope everyone’s week is going really well. Tomorrow’s Friday🙂

I’ll leave you with the verse of the day!

Verse of the Day: Psalm 23: 1-4

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me;
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Well girlies, I’m off to go read Proverbs and then comment. Then clean the kitchen and get ready for a bday party tonight.

You all are beyond great🙂

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

14 responses

11 06 2009
Jenny

quick question miss Jess.. i have been wanting to add a scoop of PB to my cold cereal and soy milk in the morning but im nervous that the pb will get soggy with the milk.. does this happen to you??

enjoy your day lovely!

11 06 2009
psychoj1

Oops!! I think I mislead some of y’all on my breakfast. I did not put the peanut butter on top of the cereal, I had it on the side, I’m sorry for the confusion!
But, I have tried what you are talking about. In my opinion, the peanut butter DOES get a little bit soggy with the milk. I prefer just having dry cereal topped with pb, but then you loose the whole cereal thing.
I know many people love that combo, so I would just try it for yourself🙂
Thanks for the question girlie!❤ jess

11 06 2009
ohsoravenous

Aww that’s such a cute lunch plate!

11 06 2009
Michelle

I love that you’re such a PB addict like myself! Especially the Peanut Butter & Co. flavors😉
Thanks for the sweet comment on my post love! I want to spend lots more time dedicated to just this…commenting!!

Your sweet potatoes look yum, and so does everything else!

Glad you’re enjoying basketball camp, and I’m loving the daily quotes from Proverbs! Very inspiring!!🙂

11 06 2009
Meg

I always have that ‘almost burnt’ experience with my sweet p fries also, and they always turn out perrrfect😉 love it! You should try peanut butter with them – it’s actually REALLY tasty! I swear🙂

I’m so happy you’re enjoying basketball camp – and what a great way to spend a summer morning/afternoon – exercise is so stress relieving, and fun.

I hope you have a great time at the birthday party! Enjoy yourself and have some ice cream for me! I’m not a fan of cake, but damn that peach pie (? right) looks sooo good. So if they have that there, take a slice and mail it to me😛 haha

Love,
Meg

11 06 2009
jaime

great goals you have! i LOVE yoga!!!

mmm kashi honeysunshine🙂 sooo good!!!! xoxoxox

11 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

Cereal and nut butters are so delicious. Honestly, why not just add nut butters to everything? haha

Congrats on all your goals. Sounds like you’re doing well. Keep it up!!!🙂 And I request some pictures of the puppy!

I love Psalm 23. I had to memorize a while back for my Religion class and I still remember the entire verse by heart. I actually had to memorize a few more lines than you have down, and I just kept going as I was reading it on your post.😉

11 06 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

I love your snack-platter lunch!!
But mmm…it’s been almost a week since i’ve made sweet potato fries! This needs to be changed!

Sounds like the weekly goals are going great girl, and i’m glad basketball camp is going so well!

11 06 2009
ksgoodeats

What a fabulous snack plate for lunch! I love that you just ate the PB with a spoon😉

Glad you’re enjoying camp! Gotta love being sweaty!!

12 06 2009
burpexcuzme

so what new recipes do you have in mind?

12 06 2009
Emily

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil”! AMEN!

Kashi Honey Sunshine….YUM!

12 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

I am so happy that you are having such an awesome time at bball camp! I can totally remember the days when I was in camp and loving every minute of it…you really learn so much and get so much better! Keep up the success too haha And I’m loving that colorful and delicious lunch plate!
Hope the rest of your day was just as wonderful as the beginning! Way to keep up with those goals girlie!
xoxo

12 06 2009
glidingcalm

that lunch plate is absolutely adorable!!! YUM YUM!

12 06 2009
luckytastebuds

heheh lunch plate looks like a fabulous tapas plate!! But fresh and colorful and healthy.🙂 Good luck with the goals!!

The honey sunshine cereal is good but not as awesome as i hoped for it to be!!! I’m a cereal addict! I should probably try what you do and add some PB or AB into it….how do you get it to de-clump in your milk though?!?!? That stuff is so sticky!🙂

Leave a Reply

