Pamper Yourself!

2 06 2009

Wow, what a day I’ve had. No worries, it’s been a fabulous day!

To start things off, An Apple A Day is having an awesome giveaway! Check it out here

But right now, I’m watching John and Kate Plus Eight and it’s just breaking my heart. I don’t know what to think of the two. I know John made a bad decision, but he wasn’t cheating. I don’t think the media has helped, I think they’ve made things a bazillion times worse. Uhh, just makes me so sad! What’s your thoughts of the whole dilemna?

I finally tried it! I am now officially on the green oats bandwagon😀 I blended a handful of spinach with my normal oat bran base and WOW-ZA this was fantastic! What a way to start out the day. Tomorrow I’m thinking of blending it with blueberries, but I don’t know since I’m trying to save them for another yummy breakfast like this. I topped my bowl of goodness with more mighty maple. Speaking of mighty maple, I’m getting low. I probably have another serving or two left. I have got to get more, or at least another jar by PB & Company. 100_4206

100_4208

100_4209

100_4210

After breakfast, I wasn’t sure what to do, so I decided to bake whole wheat cupcakes. I have Bob’s Red Mill Baking Book and it’s an amazing cookbook. I highly suggest it! That is where I got the cupcake recipe, as well as the buttercream frosting, from. These turned out really, really good! Everyone loved them, even my  grandma. Which is the ultimate approval😉 (Please excuse the horrible lighting in the pics!)100_4211

100_4212

100_4214

100_4222

100_4224

100_4226

100_4229

100_4230

When I finished frosting them, I made myself some lunch! I had a peanut butter sandwich and a blueberry Chobani yogurt topped with fresh blueberries. For “dessert,” I had one of my cupcakes. YUM! 100_4231

100_4233

100_4234

100_4235

100_4236

100_4237

It’s such a beautiful day outside that I decided to put on my suit and go lay out in the sun. It was so relaxing and I can’t wait to have a lovely tan. I was only out there for 15-20 minutes, just to be safe. Either way, it felt glorious!

I didn’t feel like going inside, so I played an hour of basketball. It felt really good and playing ball definitely makes me think. It almost calms me down, if that makes sense😛 After eating an apple, 100_4239

I went over to the gym for some strength training. Here’s what I did:

  • 10 minutes on the stationary bike for warm up
  • Leg Work:
  • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (30 pounds)
  • Hip Adduction: 4 sets of 25 (70 pounds)
  • Hip Abduction: 4 sets of 25 (90 pounds)
  • Calves: 25, 20, 10 (75 pounds)
  • Arm Work:
  • Seated Row: 3 sets of 10 (30/35 pounds)
  • Lateral Pulldown: 3 sets of 10 (45 pounds)
  • Row: 3 sets of 10 (30/50 pounds)
  • Bicep Curl: 3 sets of 10 (25 pounds)
  • Tricep Extension: 3 sets of 10 (25 pounds)
  • Ab Work:
  • Torso Rotation: 5 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
  • 100 crunches
  • Stretching and Foam Roller

Felt fabbbbb!

The rest of the nights eats have been borranngg, but still pretty yummy.The tummy is feeling a little bit empty right now, so I bet I will be hitting up the kitchen pretty soon.

My hair smells like tea. lol. I took a long and relaxing bath! Gotta love organix products.

I want to post the email I got from K regarding my tummy troubles! She’s such a helpful girl, isn’t she? Gotta love her too😀

Here’s my 2 cents for what their worth – as you can tell from my blog I eat A LOT of fiber! I used to get horrible, horrible stomach aches at least once a month that seriously lasted for two days. I’ve noticed a few things that I think attributed them:

1. I cut splenda and all artificial sweeteners (crystal light, gum, etc.) out of my diet a few months ago and I haven’t had a stomach ache/extra bloat since – I don’t know if you use any of those but it’s worth a try to cut them out if you do.

2. I’ve noticed different veggies affect me differently. I used to eat A LOT of carrots and salsa when I started my blog which was when I was getting these tummy troubles. Now I eat more of a variety of veggies (not nearly as many carrots as I used to eat) and my stomach hasn’t killed me like it used to. My advice – try experimenting with different fruits and veggies to see what works best even if it means cutting back on a beloved favorite (like apples as much as it would suck).

Verse of the Day: (One of my personal favorites!)

I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

-Philippians 4:13

Have a great night loves!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

20 responses

2 06 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

How adorable are your little cupcakes!!?🙂

I think Jon & Kate need to end their show. If they really want to help out their kids then the cameras should be pulled so that they can really work on improving their relationship and letting the kids grow up with a semi-normal lifestyle! Know what I mean?? I still love the show…..but it should definitely be cancelled if they really want to improve their marriage and family situation!

PS- what kind of bread is that?? it looks sooo fluffy!🙂

2 06 2009
Megan

Aww those heart cupcakes look sooo fantastic and soo cute🙂🙂🙂 And green oats!?! I think I’d be scared to try that but maybe if I have enough courage I’ll do it one day. Yay for nice weather!!

2 06 2009
burpexcuzme

raw carrots are hard to digest…that may explain the stomach upsets…if you cook them, it’s better…but cooked carrots taste like…crap! haha!
and you like green oats? try my green tea oats!

2 06 2009
jenngirl

Sounds like you had a really nice day!! I love boredom baking🙂

WHERE did you find those heart shaped cupcake wrappers?? I have a pan, but no cupcake “cups”!

Great tips from K!

2 06 2009
Emma

As far as the Jon and Kate thing goes – I’ve never seen it, but I don’t care to. I don’t understand how a couple can expose their lives to the world. I just don’t.

The eats look great – cupcakes too!

2 06 2009
Ella

Please send me a cupcake, thanks!

2 06 2009
jaime

hey girl!!
thanks SO much for the artificial sweetener advice!! i chew TOO much gum, drink TOO much splenda/ sugar free drinks. do you use truvia at all?
i really want to eliminate splenda from my diet but i think i’d still use truvia.

those cupcakes loko SOOO good!!!!!

2 06 2009
ohsoravenous

Oh my goshhhh, how adorable are those little cupcakes!?!?

2 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

look at those adorable little cupcakes! they look so delicious and way to get the stamp of approval from the grams! And omg those oats! How creative! If you say they were good, I’m thinking I might need to try them🙂

2 06 2009
Learning To Relove :)

p.s. thank you SO much for the sweet comment on my last post! It was soo sweet of you to compliment my name! Youre such a cutie!

2 06 2009
Mish

I just started reading your blog today. I have had stomach issues as well and sugar, especially artificial kind, do not go well with me. Glad that there’s someone else out there who understands it. Also, they’re in EVERYTHING. Cute cupcakes and glad that you’re eating spinach oats..they’re amazing. Sometimes, most of the time, I add a banana while it’s cooking..it gives it a bit of sweetness. YUMMY. Have you tried the green monsters? (you probably have…they’re my favs)

~M

2 06 2009
psychoj1

Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I love adding a banana as well–it totally does give it that hint of sweetness🙂 I have not actually, but I want to so badly! ❤ jess

P.S I would love to visit your blog–what's the URL?

2 06 2009
Ashley

Haha – I knew it was spinach oats. All over it😛

Hmmm… I haven’t heard of the show you mentioned. Is it a reality show?

Your cupcakes look adorable and great workout too! No wonder you feel so fab🙂

Good luck getting the tan!

2 06 2009
Em

awesome job on the cupcake baking. They look soo good!🙂

2 06 2009
Yasmin

Aren’t green oats the best? I’ve been experimenting myself with kale and really enjoying it. My stomach always has problems with too much fiber or salt. I’m also trying to slowly cut back on Splenda (SO HARD) and I think this will make a big difference too. I’ll let ya know!

2 06 2009
Sharon

You are so adorable making them into hearts. I heart it!

2 06 2009
ksgoodeats

Those cupcakes are SO cute!! I love the shapes of them🙂 Hope you get to the root of your tummy troubles!!

2 06 2009
Jenny

those cupcakes are too precious for words girl! I want one🙂

i wish i could try green oats but they intimidate me haha.. glad you enjoyed ’em though!

have a great Tuesday, Jess!

2 06 2009
The Novice Berker

I LOVE Bob’s Red Mill. The products are great and the website has the most awesome recipe database to utilize all of their products. Your cupcakes look so cute! I’m digging the heart-shaped cups.🙂

2 06 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

OMG, what an awesome creation with the spianch oats… LOVING IT!🙂

Those cupcakes look adorable! And what a perfect way to end a DELICIOUS lunch… Greek yogurt = The Love of My Life 😉

Leave a Reply

