A Summertime Breakfast!

30 05 2009

Hey girls! How’s Saturday going? Hope it’s an awesome one!

Mine has been splendid so far! I haven’t mentioned this before, but I’m having a huge End of the Year Bash at my house tonight. We have a pool and it’s always so much fun! We did a party last year as well. I am very excited! My parents are grilling hamburgers and hot dogs, there’s also pretzels, candy, and big bowl of fruit. Ice cream sandwiches for dessert 🙂 It totally feels like summer! I don’t know what the eats will look like tonight. But I’m sure they’ll be healthy, delightful, and tasty. This is actually going to be a very sad party at the end because lots of people in my class will be transferring to new schools next year. 😦 So sad, but thank goodness for other means of communication. (Texting anyone?) Hehe. Anyways, to wrap it all up, this is why I’m posting right now. Probs will be able to comment though. The party is supposed to be over around 9:30, but you know how it is.

Today’s Eats have been freaking INCREDIBLE!

I woke up early and couldn’t fall back asleep (HATE THAT!), so I just decided to go with it. I’d been planning this breakfast ever since the grocery store and woke up craving it! It did not dissapoint at all!I had two Kashi GoLean Waffles (blueberry kind), topped with a container of blueberry Oikos, some fresh blueberries, and a half, sliced, banana. WOWOWOWOWOWOW! I totally understand that whole Oikos obsession. Loved it! Possibly better than Chobs. (Did I really just say that?) This breakfast was out of this world delicious. Enjoyed every single bite. After finishing, I grabbed a hanful of almonds for some fat. Beside the amazing taste, this breakfast also held me over for 4 hours! (technically 6 –but I was very, very hungry by the time I had time to make lunch! Note: I took wayyyy too many pics of this yummy breakfast, or wait, is there such thing as too many? 😉100_4157

100_4158

100_4159

100_4162

100_4164

100_4165

100_4172

100_4169

I spent the morning cleaning like crazy and then hit up the gym. While there I did 45 minutes on the elliptical, followed by 100 crunches on the exercise ball, and 60 (one each leg) Bent Leg Raises (with no weight). I finished with lots of stretching and foam roller. Lovely 🙂 Cardio days are very enjoyable!

I got home around 1:15 and sat down to start the cd burning process. I got one burned, but then ruined by writing on the wrong side so the later tracks wouldn’t play. 😳 That’s so me. So I burned a new one, and while it was burning, took a shower. Here’s a new conditioner I got yesterday. Love it! It smells incredible. 100_4176

(Whoops–accidentally hit full I think…)

Lunch was promptly after. I decided on having a salad. I took 1 whole wheat pita and warmed it up in the microwave. I then made my salad of baby spinach leaves, grilled chicken, chickpeas, walnuts, blueberries, and blue cheese (could have gone without). I then topped off my salad with a huge scoop of hummus. Yummmyyy! I also had an organic fuji apple. Very filling and tasty lunch!100_4180

100_4182

100_4183

100_4184

100_4185

100_4188

I would like to speak briefly about something that Meg adressed in a post yesterday, and I thought I should share. Someone had asked her how many calories she aims to take in. While I have not been asked this yet, I would just like to set the record straight that this is not all I eat in a day. I don’t post every single bite I eat. There’s often times I’ll snag a few almonds, a spoonful of something, etc etc when I walk by. I also rarely post all my snacks. This brings me to another point–Everyone’s needs are different. There are no two people who have the same needs and requirements. I have found what my body likes and thrives on. I am finally at a place where calories don’t matter and my body knows when it’s hungry or when it’s not. I enjoy food! I eat healthy and delicious foods to keep my body in tip top shape.

Important Message: Everyone’s needs are different.

Okay, that was a really brief and lame paragraph compared to Meg’s. Check out the post here. It’s wonderful 🙂 Just like she is. And if you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you MUST!!

Well ladies! I’m OFF! Off to hopefully take a much needed nap and then PaRtAy.

Have an EXTRAORDINARY rest of the day loves!

❤ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

14 responses

30 05 2009
Meg

Oh my goodness you are too kind woman! Thank you so much for such sweet words about my blog and my post – I really think it’s an issue that needs to be addressed too! 🙂

Organix hair stuff is my fave! I use the shea butter one (I think?! lol) But I’ve totally sniffed the teatree one and it just smells wonderful! Ahh! Goes with the lovely scent of John Frieda’s Root Awakening hair stuff 😉 eh?

Mmm your breakfast looks lovely, as do the rest of your eats!

I hope you have a wonderful time at your bash tonight! Scarf down an ice cream sammie for me! And some fruit 😛

Have a great night!
Love,
Meg

30 05 2009
Run Sarah

Your waffle & yogurt combo looks fantastic! Yum 🙂

30 05 2009
Heather

I just LOVE Oikos! Those waffles look wonderful! Definitely a great way to start the day out right. And your salad mixture is definitely drool-worthy! I love reading salad ingredients to get fun ideas for my own. 🙂

Have a wonderful time at the party tonight! Sounds like it will be a lot of fun! Thank goodness summer is finally here! 😀

30 05 2009
ohsoravenous

Have fun at the party tonight!

That breakkie does look really good!

30 05 2009
ksgoodeats

Here, here on not posting everything you eat! I definitely don’t either. I find that would be borderline obsessive to do that! I’m basically in love with your breakfast!

Have a BLAST tonight 🙂

30 05 2009
Jenn

greek yogurt and waffles is definitely one of my favorite breakfasts .. especially in the summertime, so refreshing!

i’m really glad you addressed the issue of everyone having different needs – i have received a ton of questions about how many calories i eat per day – and i think it’s super important for people to realize that what works for me will not work for everyone!

hope you have an incredible time tonight with your friends girlie :)! xoxo

31 05 2009
Michelle

YAY for parties!! That Kashi/Oikos breakfast looks tasty and amazing!! Never such a thing as too many food pics, especially breakfast! 😉

Enjoy your bash tonight love!!!

31 05 2009
burpexcuzme

truthfully, I really discourage counting calories, even if you are on a diet. I think using calculations and our human mind to control our body only harms us in the end. our bodies are miraculously created by God and there are ALOT more we don’t understand about our own body.plus, counting calories prevents us from being able to listen to our own body!
anyway, YAY for waffles! I’m feeling the waffle love today, because I had that for lunch too!
and awesome party! are we invited? lol 😉

31 05 2009
Ella

Thanks so much for your comment on my post! It was so encouraging and true!

Yummy looking breakfast! I need to try Oikos!

31 05 2009
The Novice Berker

It sounds like your day was really productive! Hope the party rocks too. 😉

31 05 2009
Ashley

The waffles and salad are incredible. You have outdone yourself!

Re your message on the end there – I’m the same, I don’t post everything I eat either…. who has time to snap a picture of EVERYTHING. I snack far too much for that to even be feasible 🙂

31 05 2009
Learning To Relove :)

It sounds like your night is going to be a blast! How fun to have everyone at your house for a good old fashioned pool party and BBQ. I bet everything will go perfectly!

That breakfast looks so delicious! I LOVE Oikos! I def had a blueberry Oikos for my after dinner snack…it has the greatest flavor and the perfect amount of sweetness and tartness. I’ve never had it on waffles but you make it looks absolutely perfect! And yumm that salad looks really yummy!

And yes, I completely agree with both you and Meg and all those who have brought up the issue. It is so important not to compare to others and keep in mind that every person’s body is different.

1 06 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, I am going to try that awesome breakfast of yours, super super super tasty! I love it Jess!!

2 06 2009
Pamper Yourself! « Have Faith

[…] blueberries, but I don’t know since I’m trying to save them for another yummy breakfast like this. I topped my bowl of goodness with more mighty maple. Speaking of mighty maple, I’m getting […]

Leave a Reply

