It’s a Miracle! (DC Recap)

29 05 2009

Hiiii! I’m back from Washington, DC! I missed y’all, but I had TONS of fun. Lucky for me, my camera magically started working on the ride there. Seriously, wow! It’s been fine since. It was quite weird, but hey, I am not complaining.

To make it clear and less confusing, I’m going to do a day by day recap. Here you go! (Lots of places prohibit taking photos so I wasn’t able to take them everywhere)

Day ONE:

I woke up at 5:20 and got myself ready and made sure I had everything. I then stumbled down to the kitchen and made myself a simple bowl of oats. (Mighty Maple Heaven). This held me over very well–I broke for a Kashi Peanut Butter Bar around 9:15. We packed our lunches and I made myself a peanut butter sandwich along with an apple and a banana. After arriving at our hotel,100_3859

100_3863

100_3861

100_3858

we headed over to the American History Museum followed by the Holocaust Museum. This was so sad! I don’t know if my heart/stomach has ever hurt so badly. After this museum we went on a “Moonlit Monument Tour.” This might just have been my favorite part of the entire trip. I took tons of pictures of the first museum (weren’t allowed to photograph in second) and of the tour. 100_3888

100_3886

100_3896

100_3898

100_3903

100_3881

100_3926

100_3944

100_3973

100_3951

100_3980

100_3987

100_3988

100_3993

100_3993

100_4010

Day One’s Eats:

Breakfast: Oatmeal … Morning Snack: Kashi Bar … Lunch: Sandwich, apple, and a banana … Dinner: Veggie Wrap, kiddie size cup of mango mango sorbet from Ben and Jerry’s (very yummy!)

Day TWO:

We woke up around 7 in order to be down in the lobby by 9 (one bathroom, nuff’ said). After getting ready, we headed down to breakfast. I had a banana and a very tasty blueberry muffin. (also a handful of cheerios) This breakfast held me over okay, but not like oatmeal does! We had to make sure and have everything we needed for the day because we would not be getting back until ~10:30. Yesterday we went to the Capital and (also to the Spy Museum–which was spectacular!!). 100_4052

100_4053

100_4054

100_4055

100_4056

100_4060

100_4061

100_4062

100_4063

100_4067

100_4082

100_4085

The night ended with us going to see the newest Night at the Museum. This movie was definitely good to watch because we had been to like all the sights in the movie. Well, not all of them but we had at least seen them/knew (learned) about them. My little brothers are going to really enjoy it I think.

Day Two’s Eats:

Breakfast: Blueberry Muffin, Banana, along with some cheerios … Lunch: Massive Salad (can’t even begin to say what was on it! Haha) … Dinner: Chipotle Salad with chicken, avocado, salsa, and beans … Snacks: Granola Bar, Banana, and a few pieces of candy (Love tootsie Pops!)

Day THREE:

Due to how late we got home last night (~10:40), we got to bed around 12 o’clock. Because a few of us had to showers, we woke up at 4:30 in order to be ready by 6:15 to leave for another tour. Now that, HURTS. I honestly don’t know how I am not asleep right now. I cannot wait to sleep in tomorrow! The drive home went well, I basically dozed off and on

Day Three’s Eats:

Breakfast: Two bananas (one before, one after), half a banana nut muffin, and a Grande Skim Vanilla Chai Tea … Lunch: Went to Tropical Smoothie Cafe and I got the best smoothie I’ve ever had! I had a Berry Banana Blast and 1/2 a hummus sandwich (forgot the name and the website it kinda weird and I can’t find it πŸ˜› ) … rest of the days eats were eaten at home and were normal and terrific. Fruits, veggies, and whole grains, how I missed you!

I do not think it’s possible to comment tonight and leave a reasonable comment. I am half asleep and will comment tomorrow morning. Sorry everyone! Btw, 17 comments?! Thank you guys!!! You all are terrific!!!!

❀ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 05 2009
Ashley

Oh wow – I love your photos. I plan to go to DC in August so its great to have a peek into what to expect when I go there.

The Moonlit Monument Tour sound lovely – I’ll have to put that on my to-do list.

Sounds like a great trip. Am glad to hear you enjoyed it.

17 comments – you are popular my dear! Deservedly so. I love visitng your blog πŸ™‚

29 05 2009
ohsoravenous

Yay, sounds like you had a great time! So jealous!

29 05 2009
CurlyTop

Jess,

Jaime,

I hope you are having a great night sweetie! Hooray for Friday tomorrow, mais oui?

It looks like you had a fantabulous time! I’ve always wanted to see DC.

And I adore Tootsie Pops…

Have a glorious night, my darlin!

With Love,

Emily

29 05 2009
The Novice Berker

Wowww, that must have been so neat to watch Night at the Museum after seeing everything in it!! LOVE the photos; totally beautiful! πŸ™‚

29 05 2009
Em

Looks like you had soo much fun on your trip and got to see alot. That is so funny that you guys went to see a movie about museums, after a whole day of seeing actual museums!

Glad your back! Hope your weekend is off to a great start ❀

29 05 2009
Michelle

I love the pictures Jess!! Sounds like you had a great time!! Those museums look like a lot of fun!!! πŸ˜€

Great job on the eats too, they all sound superb!

29 05 2009
Run Sarah

Looks like an amazing trip – how fun!

29 05 2009
ksgoodeats

Sounds like you had a great trip! I’ve never been to DC so I loved seeing your pictures!

29 05 2009
Heather

Hooray for the camera working again! I’m loving all the sights… definitely sounds like you had a great time! Great job keeping all the eats pretty healthy while you’re out and about. Hope you get some good rest tonight! πŸ™‚

30 05 2009
Kiki

Just think Jess, you were 30 minutes away from my house! Lovelove DC, I’m glad you had such a good time! The Holocaust museum is one of my favorites, even though it’s really sad. Enjoy your night, love!

Leave a Reply

