These are a few of my favorite things

24 05 2009

Okay, isn’t that a songΒ  from the sound of music? Or is it Mary Poppins? Props to whoever knows πŸ˜€

Well today was a really fun Saturday! Breakfast went un-pictured (sorry!) but was a delicious bowl of oat bran. After eating, I went to my school’s graduation. It was a LOT OF fun, but so sad to see the seniors go. I’ll miss them and thank goodness for web cams.

Upon arriving home, I made a tasty lunch! I had a peanut butter-banana sandwich. I mashed half a banana then put it on top of 1 tbsp. of both organic and skippy natural crunchy peanut butter. You know what comes next–the PANINI-ATOR. Yummm. I also had soy crisps and an apple. A delightful lunch πŸ™‚ 100_3725

100_3726

100_3728

After lunch, while my mom took a nap, I did 20 minutes of Core Yoga. This yoga is SO HARD. But I felt like feeling the burn so I totally loved it.

Before the gym, I grabbed a couple of dried prunes and a glass of milk for a little workout fuel. While there I did the following:

  • 3 minutes stationary bike warm up
  • 31 minutes biking (~10 miles)
  • Lots of Leg Work:
  • Hamstring: 5 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
  • Hip Adduction: 8 sets of 25 (70 pounds)
  • Hip Abduction: 8 sets of 25 (100/90 pounds)
  • Calves: 25, 20, 10 (70 pounds)
  • 100 crunches
  • stretching and foam roller

Fabulous workout.

Upon arriving home, I cleaned up the kitchen and had a little snack. I started with an apple and string cheese. A little while later, I ate a peanut butter kashi bar. Very crunchy and munchy, lol. 100_3733

100_3734

100_3739

100_3741

My grandma, mom, and I went out for dinner at Pei Wei’s. I ordered the ginger broccoli with chicken and brown rice. It was delicious! Totally HOLY YUM worthy. I brought leftovers home and cannot wait to have them tomorrow for lunch.

After dinner, we all went shopping. I got lots of clothes for my class trip to DC (more on that tomorrow). After clothes shopping, we went to Wal Mart just cause πŸ™‚ And I found a product I had been wanting for forEVER………………………..

MIGHTY MAPLE PB & Comp. PEANUT BUTTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I like seriously freaked out. My heart stopped for a second! I immediately picked it up and brought this baby to a home where it will be very well loved (trust me!). After Wal Mart we stopped in at StarBucks and I got a grande skim Chai Tea. ❀ ❀ ❀

These are a few of my favorite things πŸ˜€100_3744

100_3745

100_3746

By that time, I was flying high. But it was about to get better. We’re having a little party here tomorrow so my mom and I hit up Harris Teeter at 10:00 (hence the late post!). We usually don’t shop there (dedicated Lowes Foods shoppas) but I am in love with H.T. She made a mistake in taking me there πŸ˜‰ I was able to restrain myself–which was a huge accomplishment πŸ˜‰ There was almond butter and I also saw dates!!! H.T has lots of items that Lowes doesn’t have. I have GOTTA try those dates. Been seeing them everywhere! I left the store with a cherry pie larabar and some apples in tow.

Of course, I had to try some mighty maple. My verdict? PB & C. has done it again. and again. and again! Loved it–cannot wait to top oat-meal/bran with it.100_3752

100_3753

Well, wow it’s late! I am so tired. Had to wake up around 7 for the graduation this morning. Goodnight ladies!

Hey if you’re blog is set up like Shelby’s or Jenny’s (to name a couple) then know that I am unable to comment right now on it. Hopefully I can get it all fixed but I’m trying my hardest to figure out the problem. It says “google is unidentified.” What the heck?? Any help would be much appreciated!

❀ jess

xoxo


Actions

Information

14 responses

24 05 2009
:)

hi love, so glad you had a nice day of yoga! Yumm that sandwich looks absolutely divine and I am SOOOO jealous you found Mighty Maple! I’m dying to try it! Hope you have an awesome party tomorrow!

24 05 2009
Learning To Relove :)

hi love, so glad you had a nice day of yoga! Yumm that sandwich looks absolutely divine and I am SOOOO jealous you found Mighty Maple! I’m dying to try it! Hope you have an awesome party tomorrow!

24 05 2009
Learning To Relove :)

oh and the song is from sound of music. i just realized that i completely forgot to add that πŸ™‚

24 05 2009
Jessica (jesslikesithot)

Your title is TOTALLY from the sound of music!! πŸ™‚

That panini’d pb sandwich sounds amazing….ah I am so jealous of all you girls with your panini makers!! And yum, once I finish of my WCW pb I really want to try the mighty maple!

24 05 2009
rediscoveringlauren

hi hun,
lovin all the yummy eats πŸ™‚ im so glad your having such a great weekend!!
enjoy the party tomoro
much love
xxxxx

24 05 2009
Ashley

SOUND OF MUSIC!!

…Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
brown paper packages tied up with strings,
these are a few of my favorite things…

Ok, I’ll stop singing to you. I love that movie though!

Oh… I just realised Jess already said that it was from Sound of Music. LOL.

What excellent timing that you post about a delcious peanut butter-banana sandwich – as I purchased a sandwhich press today and will DEFINATELY be recreating this gem!

Great workout too!

24 05 2009
Em

Sound of Music…but I think a few others beat me to the punch 😦

Oh my gosh yesterday I totally went to the grocery store to pick up some mighty maple peanut butter (amongst other things), I go down the peanut butter aisle, look at the pb & co. area, and NO MIGHTY MAPLE to be found!! I had to settle with cinnamon raisin, while still very very yummy not as much so as mighty maple! haha.

24 05 2009
ksgoodeats

Is that a bowl of PB?! I LOVE IT!! String cheese is so much fun to eat – please tell me you play with it like I do πŸ˜‰ I can’t help but twirl it around!

24 05 2009
Sharon

MMmmmmm, I love it. That sandwich looks mighty scrumptious!

24 05 2009
Meg

Okay – I have to ask – how the heck did you LIVE without Mighty Maple?! After I tried it I asked myself the same thing πŸ˜› haha, it’s so damn tasty! Enjoy that stuff girl! Scrape that jar clean!

Aww I’m so sorry you had to say goodbye to all of the seniors – but hey, good things like Facebook and emails always letcha keep in touch πŸ˜‰ I bet they’ll miss you too. I’m glad you had a good time, though.

Your eats look wonderful (but of course my fave thing about em’ is the Mighty Maple in this post :P) I love those PB Kashi bars too!

Have a great evening.

Love,
Meg

24 05 2009
burpexcuzme

It’s from Sound of Music! I used to sing it ALL THE TIME and drive my friends crazy. your PB is smackin!

25 05 2009
Michelle

AHHH Mighty Maple!! My favorite PB in the WORLD! So happy you finally found some girlie!! And chai tea = yum!

Have a great time tomorrow! πŸ™‚

25 05 2009
glidingcalm

that panini looks aweeeeesome!

25 05 2009
Heather

Hey Jess! Thanks for commenting on my blog! Sounds like we definitely have a lot in common! Can’t wait to keep reading your blog… I added you to my blogroll and google reader! πŸ™‚

Grocery shopping trips are so much fun. You should definitely give dates a try… I just LOVE them plain, topped with almond butter, or chopped up in cereal or oatmeal. SO good! And I couldn’t agree with you more about Starbucks… YUM!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

