Beyond Excited

2 05 2009

Hello there, loves! Hope everyone’s Saturday has been going well. Mine certainly has! I love saturday, mornings esp πŸ™‚

It all started out with a yummy bowl of oats. Well, after my second batch of oats. I thought to add strawberries to my oatmeal mixture. It looked so good and had the regular amt of water, milk, and oats, plus half my banana, and then three strawberries. I was so excited and it looked so yummy and cool. But the taste? Ermmm, no. I couldn’t eat it and ended u throwing in in the trash. I don’t know where I went wrong. So, I washed out my pot and bowl, and set to work on my never fail oatmeal. Here’s what it had:100_2949

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup both water and milk
  • 1/2-2/3 of a banana
  • butterscotch chips
  • crushed pretzels
  • peanut butter

100_29511

100_2952

100_2953

100_2954

100_2955

After cleaning up the kitchen and doing what seemed like a zillion dishes by hand (I actually enjoy this kitchen cleaning though πŸ˜€ ) I set to work making some cookies. I saw them on Dreena’s Vegan Recipes. They’re Super Charge Me Cookies and looked and sounded really good. I’ve never made vegan cookies before, so I was a bit curious about how these would turn out. They turned out surprisingly well and have an intense aroma about them. I think it’s from the flax meal (same as ground flax seed). They are quite tasty and I ate one with a small glass of milk before going to the gym. 100_2958

100_2959

100_2962

100_2963

100_2964

100_2965

100_2968

The gym was outstanding! I was feeling cario-y so decided to hop on the elliptical and I ended up busting out 45 minutes on the machine. I did a hard 40 minutes followed by a lovely cooldown. I then went and did foam roller/stretching. This workout was totally awesome πŸ˜€

After the gym my mom and I immediately headed to the grocery store. Okay, I found so many greats foods that I about had a heart attack. We got tons of healthy, yummy food and I cannot wait to enjoy them this week and beyond. Here’s the important foods (haha!):

  • Produce: three mangoes, tons of bananas, seven organic apples, another bag of apples, blueberries, raspberries, pears
  • Greens: Romaine, mixed baby greens, and spinach
  • Fridge/Freezer : Chobani Vanilla Yogurt, Hagan Das orchard peach sorbet (!!), and more yogurts (Fiberone)
  • “Cabinet” : Carrot Cake Cliff bar, Tropical Trail Mix (delicious!), more oatmeal, Organic Honey toasted oats (full circle), and wait for it, wait for it………………. OAT BRAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I about jumped for joy when I saw this. I CANNOT wait to try it πŸ˜€
  • Nut Butter: PB & Company’s Cinnamon Raisin PB, and Skippy Super Chunk PB

All in all, a FABULOUS trip πŸ˜€

Upon arriving home I put all the groceries away and took a shower while the oven preheated. I have been wanting to try sweet potato fries forever, and decided today is the day. Oh my gosh. These were incredible! I used this recipe asΒ  a guide to give me an idea. I also ate an apple while the potatoes were a-cookin. Loverrrly. IΒ  cannot wait to make some more again. Sweet potatoes are going to become a staple food now. Alongside the sweet potatoes I had a small bowling containing some cut up banana and cinnamon raisin peanut butter. Perfect lunch–I am definitely flying high πŸ™‚ 100_2969

100_2971

100_2972

100_2973

100_2975

100_2976

❀ jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

9 responses

2 05 2009
Sharon

WHOA, those coookies look great! Yummm!

2 05 2009
jaime

those cookies look SO good! i love that you added pretzels to your oats– so creative! and sweet potatoes are seriously the best food.

have a great day love!

2 05 2009
Jenn

ah those oats and cookies, i’m dying!

2 05 2009
ksgoodeats

I love the purple color of that oat bowl!! SWEET POTATO FRIES! My ultimate fav!! Sounds like you got a lot of yummy things at the store πŸ™‚

2 05 2009
runsarah

Glad you liked the SP fries- they are some of my favs!

2 05 2009
Michelle

I just bought PB & Co. Cinn Raisin PB and Skippy Natural Super Chunk was my first “natrual” peanut butter and I still LOVE it!! Both of those are in my cabinet right now!!

I’m not a fan of strawberries in my oats either…hot strawberries kinda make me wanna gag a little. Those SuperCharge Me cookies look delish, and YAY for oat bran!! I tried it for the first time a few months ago and it’s kinda edging out oats as my fave!! Have a great rest of your Saturday Jess!!

3 05 2009
Emily

Jess,

You will fanfreakin love oatbran I promise you!

No one is immune to its powers! I haven’t touched regular oats since.

As for strawberries in oats…no thanks. But bananas=yes please!

With Love,

emily

3 05 2009
Ashley

Oh WOW! Your breakfast is unbelievably beautiful!!! I love that you put pretzels in.. great idea!

The biscuits look delicious too! I love anything with flaxmeal in it πŸ™‚

I’m glad you had such a satisfying cardio workout – there’s nothing like the endorphin rush after a good session πŸ™‚

I’m definately trying sweet potato fries. They look great, and I love sweet potatoes so so much!

I’m looking forward to seeing all your excellent oat bran combinations!

3 05 2009
Em

YUMMY eats. Dont you just LOVE going to the grocery store with the mom. I always get hooked up when I do! haha.

Leave a Reply

