Remember Me?

11 04 2009

Hiii!!! It’s me!!! I’m back🙂 I missed my girls!

Before I go on, I would like to add that I did not take lots of pics of my eats this vacation. I really didn’t want to make things even the tiniest bit awkward, and I just wanted to enjoy the time with my family and not be overtly stressed about getting all the perfect pictures. I hope y’all understand!

Also, I have over a hundred pictures, so these are not all of them, at all! I will be posting more over the next couple days, and I hope to find the best of the best, because I have some really beautiful ones, and I would love to share them with you little by little🙂

As you probably noticed, I did not post while on vacation. I could not figure out where the computer room was or even if they had one! You’d think that at a Hilton they would, but I guess not?! I hope you all can forgive my lack of posting! I did have a really good time while away.

100_2402

100_2399

100_2396

100_2392

100_23901

I actually only used the hotel gym once. I was so busy running around (literally), biking, at the pool/beach, etc, that any time

I was back at the room I was either 1. tired 2. getting ready to do something else. I really loved spending time with my brothers.

My beach gear😀100_2446

The island I went to has over 50 miles of biking trails and such that you can bike on. We rented (my bros and I) three bikes and I think all the biking was my favorite part of it all. We biked for hours upon hours in total while there. (Another reason why I didn’t need to use the gym!) We would bike on the beach, and the more “scenic” route on the trails all over the island. I took some pictures of the first time we went, I was overtaken by how incredibly beautiful it was. There’s so many cool trees, plants, and flowers. It was truly breathtaking. The pictures don’t do any justice!    100_23961

100_2377

100_2437

100_2432

100_2420

100_2414

100_2410

100_2407

100_2384

100_2376

100_2374

100_2372

How about I give y’all a recap of each day? Would that me cool?🙂

Day 1 (arrival day):

We got to the hotel around 4 o’clock and after getting everything situated, we noticed how hungry we were, so we went out to eat. We didn’t want anything too nice, so we chose Fudwruckers. It has burgers, fries, shakes, and hot dogs. I ordered a turkey burger that turned out to be huge (and yummy!), and a side salad with ranch dressing. The bun was not whole wheat, but oh was it very good! You could tell it was homemade, and I enjoyed it. It’ s vacation, right?😀 After eating, we stopped at a grocery store and got some foodies to have for breakfasts and lunches so we wouldn’t need to spend any more money than necessary. We had a little “kitchenette” so we had a fridge/freezer and pantry stuff. So it worked out very nicely🙂 I slept well that night in our quite lovely room! Oh, and after dinner, I worked out. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical, and then 20 minutes of stationary biking.

Day 2:

I awoke to my brothers and mom downstairs buying the bikes. I was intrigued so I quickly ate a breakfast of Kashi blueberry fields cereal and an apple. We then went biking along the beach for around 45 minutes, then went on the scenic ride afterwords. Here are some pictures of the ride. It was lots of fun! When we got back, I ate some lunch (ham and cheese, apple, granola trail mix bar) and went on the same scenic ride with my other brother in tail as well. It’s really fun to do with both of my little brothers. I love them lots! After  getting back, I relaxed for a little bit, then was off to take a shower and get ready to go out to eat at a nicer restaurant. We decided on Carrabbas. It’s a pasta, pizza, fish, Italian Grill sort of place. Lots of variety. I started off with a piece of bread dipped in some olive oil, a salad with Parmesan dressing, and then for my main meal, I had “chicken stuffed with roasted red peppers, zucchini, and some type of cheese. I think the dish was called Pollo..something. Goodness, I can’t remember much, other than that it was very tasty!

Day 3:

I woke up and did the same biking routes as the day before. Again, just as fun, maybe more fun than before. We found new paths and went further than the previous day. Before biking, I had two pieces of toast, topped with PB, and a banana on the side. YUM!100_2456 After biking I went for a run/walk for around 20 minutes. Goodness, I’ve forgotten how hard running is. I love it though. Read more about this topic on the exercise tab. For lunch, we ordered from the bar/grill poolside. I had 1/2 a chicken salad wrap, and a fruit salad. Delish! (picture taken post eating! I ate the rest as a snack) The highlight of this day was supper. My mom chose this Oyster Restaurant, that was the best meal she’s ever eaten, and maybe mine as well. I ordered the salmon, with a side of veggies and a potato. The salmon was to die f or. Everyone’s meal was amazing, and my grandma said she had the best swordfish she’s ever had. We’ll be talking about this meal for ages to come. Mmm! (Note: I also had a delicious strawberry “freeze” that was quite yummy–basically its fruit, ice, and I’ll bet there’s some orange juice as well…)

100_2462

100_2458

100_2460

All in all, I would say this vacation was a success. It was very nice to come home though. I am not a vacation type girl, and I love my routine and my own bed, etc. Anyone else like this??

Today:

The BF came over tonight, and we had a wonderful time, as always. I missed him like crazy this week, and I was elated to say the least, in seeing him.🙂

Today’s eats are quite unbalanced, and I am really looking forward to getting back into the swing of things. Here’s the biggest two things that my body missed: 1. stretching and yoga 2. balanced eating. I missed my beloved peanut butter. Luckily, I just got my peanut butter fix right now in a yummy snack! 100_2489

I cannot wait to have a big bowl of oatmeal tomorrow morning. Oh mmm…

Night night ladies! I have some major commenting to do. Have a lovely night! I really missed everyone!

❤ jess🙂

xxx


Actions

Information

8 responses

11 04 2009
Sharon

Hellooooo girlie!!! What a blast! I totally love those bikes that you guys rented, I love them!
Oh man, salmon? I totally want salmon now! LOL! Seafood makes my day!

Hahaha, I don’t know, I like vacations from time to time. But sleeping in my own bed feels best too. =D

11 04 2009
Kiki

Welcome back Jess!! It sounds like you had a fabulous trip! What a perfect way to spend break, bike riding on the beach! And lovely eats too. The fruit freeze looks so refreshing!

Hope you feel more balanced soon! Much love

11 04 2009
Jenn

ahhh girlie girl it sounds like you had an awesome time – and i think its a great idea that you didn’t take pictures of your eats and just worked on enjoying your time with the family.. that’s what vacations are all about, after all🙂.

So glad your back.. i missed my love!❤ xoxo
-Jenny

11 04 2009
burpexcuzme

I missed you Jess!
Looks like you had a TERRIFIC time, and I’m waiting for more great pics! post more of YOU! I’d like to see you with a great big smile on your face, enjoying the heck out of yourself!

11 04 2009
Jemima

I’m so glad you had an amazing time – bike riding and beaches sound absolutely heavenly! And while the food looks great, I’m so pleased that it was just ONE element of a fantastic holiday, and not the be-all, end-all. So proud of you – keep it up! (PS – I keep forgetting you’ve moved to wordpress – must change my blogroll!)

11 04 2009
ksgoodeats

What pretty pictures!! Nice hotel! Sounds like you had fun🙂 I know what you mean about missing balanced eating – vacationing is fun and all but nothing beats coming home to your favorite foods!

11 04 2009
Meg

Oh my goodness, I am GREEN with envy right now! I’m glad you had such an amazing time, it sounds like such a sweeet place! I can’t wait to see more!! I bet it was nice to live worry-free and forget about taking pictures of food/going to the gym/etc! Amazing. You deserve every last bit of it, too! Ahhh and the bike riding?! On the beach? How perfect. But we’re glad to have you back in blogworld!! We missed you🙂

Love, Meg

11 04 2009
dailydulcie

Hi girlie!! I’m glad you’re back.. it sounds like you had a FABULOUS time! Such beautiful photos🙂

much love,
dulcie❤

Leave a Reply

