Oxfords and Pancakes

18 07 2009

Happy Friday girls (and guys??)! How’s it going? I’ve had a busy two days (especially today) so I’ll do my best to recap. I have a good amount of pictures, but didn’t take a photo of all my meals. But I’ll tell you about them anyways! :D

Thursday started out with, as most Thursdays this summer have (or is it has? whatev…), basketball practice. Breakfast followed and I had yet another mix it up bowl. Super yum! Here’s what mine had:

  • 1 container Chobani Honey Greek Yogurt
  • Kashi warm cinnamon cereal 
  • Blueberry Pomegranate Total cereal
  • 1/2 a banana
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • mango
  • cinnamon (added after mixing)

100_5679

100_5680

100_5681

100_5684

100_5685

Lunch was pretty boring actually! Just a typical peanut butter sandwich with a side of cherries and mango. 100_5686

100_5687

100_5688

100_5689

My mom got me two Cliff bars! :) I had half of the crunchy peanut butter one as part of my snack on Thursday. 100_5690 100_5691 100_5692 The boyfriend came over last night and as always we had a blast. :)

This morning I realized I hadn’t yet completed my entry for Katie’s Pancake Challenge. So, I decided to take my oatmeal pancake recipe I use all the time and make it my own! Dark Chocolate-Cherry Pancakes!  Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup + 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • ~1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • ~pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ~1 tbsp. dark chocolate chips
  • fresh cherries, chopped

First, you take the oats and the milk and leave them to soak for a minute. Then, combine the rest of the dry ingredient in a bowl. Add the oat mixture to the dry. Then combine with the oil and egg. Add cherries and chocolate but leave a few for garnish.  Top with REAL maple syrup and enjoy! :) 100_5695 100_5697

100_5698

Yum!

Today my grandma, mom, and I went shopping! I needed some serious clothes for school. See, ever since I’ve been in school (aside from kindergarten) I have had to wear a uniform. Yeah, it stunk! So, next year I have a dress code but no uniform. So anyways, back to shopping! I got TONS of new clothes and am finally establishing my own personal style– “Prep!” Love it! For all my fashionistas out there, I took pics :D 100_5714

100_5716

100_5717

100_5718

100_5719

100_5720 For lunch, we stopped at Ruby Tuesday. I loaded up my plate(s—gotta get those grapes for dessert ;) ) with lots of yummy, healthy and filling things. Here’s what I can remember haha:

  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Edemame (?)
  • black olives
  • zucchini
  • cucumber
  • chick-peas
  • beets
  • broccoli
  • sunflower seeds
  • egg
  • honey mustard+lite ranch
  • grapes and a teeny bit of fruit salad (apples and yogurt and who knows what else!)

That totally wasn’t it at all! Sorry my memory is lapsing ;)

I LOVE Ruby Tuesday for it’s fantastic salad bar. Oh, we also got spinach artichoke dip which I promptly dipped my veggies into!

There was literally no place to get a snack other than DQ. I wanted a smoothie or something but that was literally the only option. I was starving so I ultimately decided on getting a small blizzard with vanilla ice cream and raspberries. I only ate half and my stomach was bothering me like crazy afterwards. I just don’t enjoy or want junk anymore. My body’s not used to DQ! Haha…

I got home, ran upstairs and quickly changed into gym clothes. I went to the gym and did a strength training workout. Here’s what I did:

  • 6 minutes of stationary biking
  • Leg Work:
    • Hamstring: 5 sets of 8 (30 pounds)
    • Hip Adduction: 10 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Hip Abduction: 10 sets of 12 (115/120 pounds)
    • Calves: 3 sets of 15 (95 pounds)
    • Leg Press: 3 sets of 10 (75 pounds)
  • Arm Work:
    • Row: 3 sets of 8 (50 pounds)
    • Seated Row: 3 sets of 8 (40 pounds)
    • Chest Press: 3 sets of 10 (30 pounds)
    • Lateral Raise: 3 sets of 8 (10/15 pounds)
    • Assisted Pull-down (?): 3 sets of 8 (55 pounds)
    • Bicep Curl: 3 set of 8 (25 pounds)
    • Tricep Extension: 3 sets of 8 (25 pounds) 
  • Ab Work:
    • 1.5 minute plank hold (high plank)
    • 100 crunches on small exercise ball
    • Torso Rotation: 3 sets of 10 (15 pounds)
  • More Strength
    • Did the leg parts of the C&K Strength Training (knee strengthening moves+wall squats)
  • Stretching and Foam Roller

I got home and had a good sized glass of milk for protein. Dinner was exactly what I wanted. I had a huge sweet potato in fry form. I had not one or two, but four different kinds of dipping: almond butter, ketchup, hummus, and BBQ sauce. Delicious! 100_5721 100_5722 100_5723 100_5724

In giveaway news,

Clare is having a Futters Nut Butter (did I say that right?) Giveaway! Check it out here 

I’m absolutely exhausted and have got to get some sleep. I have yet another big day tomorrow. I’ll explain sometime later… PHEW!

June Goals Re-cap to come eventually…

Have a wonderful night everyone!!

<3 jess

xoxo

Actions

Information

21 responses

18 07 2009
Maria

Mmm love the cherries + chocolate combo on those oatmeal pancakes!

Hehe, I am a total girly girl and adore fashion and shopping! I spy lots of cute argyle :)

I wish we had a Ruby Tuesdays here. I love salad bars!

Oooh, fabulous dippers you got going on there.

Hope you have a great night too, Jess!!!

18 07 2009
insideiamdancing

MMmm….pancakes, sweet potato fries and Clif bars. Rock on :D

Cool clothes- I had to wear a uniform too and hated it until I switched schools and could wear whatever I wanted…I could never pick an outfit :P

have a great weekend Jess!

18 07 2009
Danica

I LOVE that bowl and how you tooks pictures of everything including the clothes :)

18 07 2009
Learning To Relove :)

Hi lovie! Oh how that breakfast bowl sounds sooo mighty fine! And woahhhh those pancakes are off the chart! You never cease to amaze me with some of your delicious little eats that you whip up!

Aww yay for finally being able to have some choice in your attire! Rockin’ the prepster look I’m sure will look great on you!

Get some sleep and have a great weekend! Hopefully some time with the boy will be included!

18 07 2009
Chocolate-Covered Katie

How cute is that bowl? How cute are you? How delicious do those pancakes sounnd??? :)

18 07 2009
rediscoveringlauren

Hi girlie
those pancakes look amaaing :) il try that reciepe for sure!!
Im glad you had such a nice day!
and that workout sounds awesome!
enjoy the rest of your friday hun
xxxx

18 07 2009
Christina

Those pancakes are to die for. I love the dark chocolate and cherry combo! And with oats too? Even better!

18 07 2009
april

Your pancakes look delish!

I love your 4 different dipping sauces.. sometimes I’m so indecisive too!

18 07 2009
JB

mmmm, dark chocolate and cherries is such a great combination. and i love your green bowl with the face! it’s so cute!

-JB

http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

18 07 2009
Jenny

ah girlie i have so many preppy clothes for work at the golf course! I LOVE my boat shoes — yous are adorable! especially the blue ones with argyle print. You are a serious fashionista, miss Jess!

18 07 2009
Kailey

oh my god dark chocolate cherry pancakes sound amazing!!!
that bowl is too cute :)

19 07 2009
Jessica

Your new clothes are adorable! I loves them :) And I love the dark-chocolate cherry combo for pancakes. Very nice :p

19 07 2009
Megan

OMG I loveeee those preppy clothes!! Love love love love them… that’s exactly my style ;) And those pancakes girl.. look fabulous!!!

19 07 2009
Julia

Shopping and Clif Bars all in one post! Fabulous! I must say my fave for preppy clothes (which I absolutely adore!) is the JCrew outlet! You can get so many cute basics for less than the regular prices!

19 07 2009
The Novice Berker

My personal style does lean on the preppy side sometimes (but, uh, I really don’t have a “style”… it’s more of a “what-fits-right-now-and-is-clean”). I LOVE YOUR SHOES. SO CUTE!!

And dark chocolate cherry is definitely one of the best flavor combos in the universe. ESPECIALLY since it’s cherry season now. HOLLAAA!!

19 07 2009
Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope

LOVING all the new clothes!!! Definitely some great outfits in there. Shopping is just so darn fun. ;)

Now that sounds like a salad! Definitely a great mixture of ingredients, especially for a restaurant.

xxoo
Heather

19 07 2009
Tina

I adore your bowl! So cute with it’s smiley face and head filled with yummy goodness!

xxx

P.S. This is the same from Peanutbutter Renaissance

20 07 2009
Tina

Mmm, yoghurt mess is THE best! I love having soy yoghurt with some crunchy whole grain flakes and fruit all mixed up. I love having it with dried fruits but I’m trying to avoid that now because there’s just SO much sugar in dried fruits (thumbs down!) And your pancakes look so pretty! I just had “Sneaky Pancakes” for breakfast, they’re called “sneaky” because you add veggies to them (grated carrot and zucchini!)

26 07 2009
Carolina Men’s Shoes | Shoe Deals

[...] Oxfords and Pancakes « Have Faith [...]

28 07 2009
IHOP, Eat your Heart Out « Chocolate-Covered Katie

[...] Jess’s Dark Chocolate-Cherry Pancakes [...]

28 07 2009
MsDerious

Oh my…. all the food looks scrummy, and I really want that bowl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

